14 Reviews

This was bland. I followed others advice and reduced the orange juice, but other than that I followed the recipe as written. The sauce just didn't have enough flavor for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
randenise April 09, 2011

Excellent recipe! I doubled the recipe - but left the OJ at the original amount - used snow peas, diagonally sliced carrots, garlic, broccoli, sliced green onions,pepper flakes, didn't have a green pepper so I used red and orange which I had on hand - all ideas from reading the other reviews. I will definitely make again only I think I will only use 1/4 of orange juice or omit it all together. The entire family loved it, every plate was cleaned! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb_in_Indy December 29, 2010

This is a wonderful dish and would be equally good with pork. I used the broccoli as specified and threw in some julienne baby carrots. I used 1 cup of oj with 1/2 a fresh orange, placed remaining ingredients for the sauce in the Vita-Mix and blended well. Next time I will do the same except reduce the amount of juice to 1/2 cup and keep the fresh orange at 1/2. The vegetables, including carrots, were crisp tender in the time it took the shrimp to cook and sauce to thicken. Served this over a brown rice blend for a delicious and filling meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 28, 2006

Yummy!!! I made this last nite with no changes to the recipe ....Great recipe !!! Thank's Nimz for a real winner!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poppa Dude April 06, 2010

Nimz , This was extremely good! I added a handful of water chestnuts and snow pea pods.plus about one tblspn of freshly minced garlic. I also cooked the broccoli and peppers a bit longer. Next time (and there will be a next time) I will add some fresh ginger instead of dried. The orange juice gave it the right amount of tang without being too orangey. My husband was very pleased! Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodFromSicily November 22, 2009

Excellent! I used fresh grated ginger, and added some red pepper flakes into the sauce (which I doubled). It had a great zing to it and will be made again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sara12972 April 10, 2009

This is a great, great shrimp dish in my book. We loved the sauce, and had everything right on hand for it. I used temple oranges that we were given in place of the orange juice (2) and was knocked out by the taste. Citrus added to soy, ginger, and brown sugar made a delightful sauce and all the fresh vegetables just drank this right up. I marinated the shrimp in half the sauce first, and this gave them a big start on robust, but smooth flavor. Topped the shrimp, vegetables, and sauce on top of basmati rice, and threw a couple of cherry tomatoes and sliced green onion on top of that. Terrific, and will use again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm April 08, 2009

made it tonight!! it was great!! will make again. thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxan.smith June 07, 2008

Nimz, a very different recipe with the orange juice in the sauce. We liked it, but it could easily be overpowering, so next time I will be doubling the vegetables and keeping the sauce the same. I added onions to my stir fry because we like them, and used fresh grated ginger because I couldn’t find my ground ginger anywhere. DH and I both felt that if I hadn’t used fresh ginger, then the orange *might* well have been overwhelming. Its an excellent recipe though and with a few tweeks to suit us, the sauce will be a regular addition to our wok dishes. Please see my rating system, a wonderful 4 stars. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch March 13, 2007

family loved it.next time i'm going to try it with one change 1 teas. corn starch. otherwise excellent

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
theincampos February 25, 2007
Shrimp Stir Fry