41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVED the shrimp! I used 1/2 of the salt it called for and it didn't seem to need any more.I have my own recipe for Alfredo, but I did try this one the first time and it was easy and tasted good. The shrimp is the star though. I now use this as my go to marinade for lots of shrimp dishes. I also love the idea another reviewer had..double the marinade, finish with about 3T of butter, and toss the whole thing with some angel hair pasta. It's AMAZING, and I've made it countless times since I first tried it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MatahnasMom January 16, 2011

It is so easy to make and tastes great. I think it actually tastes even better the next day. I added crab along with the shrimp which made it even better. I also sauteed some veggies to go in it. I added mushroom, brocolli, red pepper and zucchini and it made it absolutely wonderful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kdoverby April 16, 2008

I made this for my Valentine's Day dinner, and it was pretty good. The pasta didn't melt the cheese enough for me, so my plan was to put it back on the heat BRIEFLY, but I was distracted, and it lost its creaminess. But this was incredibly easy, and marinating the shrimp beforehand was something I've never tried before (the lemon juice's acidity and all), but I think this is how I'll prepare shrimp scampi from now on. Thanks for the posting!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeffsmom February 15, 2005

The best shrimp ever! The alfredo is sauce is great too. I use the wider pasta, such a fettuccine or linguine rather than angel hair. It will make the dish go farther, i.e. be more filling. I have put the shrimp on salad as well, which is also excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James C. June 21, 2014

Let me just say that this was AMAZING! Simple to make. I made it because I am a huge fan of anything pasta and anything with shrimp... My husband who is not a big pasta fan loved it too... This is the kind of dish that you would find at a good Italian restaurant. Will definitely be making this several more times! YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
975468 March 30, 2014

This is sooo good. I have only one criticism that I found it a bit salty but I generally have less of a taste for salt than most. As suggested I added some zucchini and mushrooms. Others found it not as flavourful as expected but maybe they didn't let it marinate long enough. I let it sit overnight and it was far from bland. Will definitely make this again but with 1/2 the salt as suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scott G. February 17, 2014

We really liked this recipe! YUM YUM YUM! I doubled the shrimp and the sauce. I was glad I did. .We like sauce though. The shrimp was so good I may add even more next time. Due our gluttony we cant have this often but oh what a special treat it is! Thanks Mercy for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dixie from Kansas August 17, 2013

Yummy! This was great. I loved dipping crusty bread into the sauce. Will make a lot, thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookfor5kids hubs April 06, 2013

A winner! Wouldn't change a thing! Just wanted less fat and calories, so used 2% milk instead of cream. Mercy! Mercy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not Martha January 27, 2013

This is so good. I used half and half cream. The seasonings were perfect. Thanks Mercy :) Made for All you can cook buffet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette March 08, 2012
Shrimp Scampi With Pasta Alfredo