Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp Scampi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp Scampi

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2002

      This is to die for. Shrimp, garlic, butter, and white wine over linguine noodles. Doesn't get any better or easier. I made this when my parents came for a visit. We all throughly enjoyed it. Thanks Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      Five stars isn't good enough for this wonderful recipe. Ingredients and directions were easy and perfect. They didn't need any alterations at all. The only problem I had the first time I made it was that the shrimp never made it to top the linguine - they were all gone. They are so good we just sat and ate them, then I had to go make another batch to go over the linguine. I sure didn't mind doing that. Great Nurse Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2003

      NurseDi, this dish is wonderful. Really restaurant quality. Ok, here is what I did cooking for 2 who are trying to lower the carbs. I used 3/4 lb. white shrimp (med. lg.). I only had 4 large garlic cloves, so I used them all. I used dry white wine. I served the well flavored, beautifully pink shrimp on a bed of saut├ęd fresh spinach. You can guess that the visual appeal of the pink and green combination was fabulous. The shrimp was fabulous. You are fabulous for sharing this wonderful recipe. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This is delish! I started the sauce in a combination of olive oil and butter, added in a few shakes of hot pepper oil, and finished it with lots of Parmesan. Adding the slightly underdone pasta to the scampi sauce to finish cooking really helped the flavors to marry. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2013

      I made this for dinner tonight. I used an opened bottle of wine I had on hand, and served over Barilla Plus angel hair pasta. I doubled the garlic, which is typical. We are a garlic loving family. Wish there was a was to make the sauce a little thicker. Next time I will add the cooked pasta to the pan with the sauce and let it soak in the flavor a little. We did end up adding a little garlic salt w/parsley and fresh grated parm to the top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      I really liked this recipe! I give it four stars because I think it calls for too much butter. I only used half the butter and it was plenty. I will definitely make this again. I did not have any parmesan this time but will add it at the end next time. I used about a half a teaspoon of salt, and although the sauce by itself was a bit salty, it was perfect with the shrimp added in. I served over saffron rice this time, but will use pasta next time. I think I will cut the butter even further next time to a quarter cup (a half-stick) and increase the wine by half. I also sauted the garlic in the butter for a while before adding the wine. After adding the wine, I let it simmer for about 5 minutes to mature the flavor. It was really wonderful. Thanks for an amazing recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      This was really tasty... I squeezed some lemon juice onto the shrimp before cooking, and next time I'll add a bit more juice to the sauce for that bit of freshness. I used parmesan to finish.. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      EXCELLENT RECIPE. This is better than any shrimp scampi I have had at a restaurant. I added the juice of one fresh lemon. I also added a bit of cornstarch with water like other reviewers, but it would have been fine without it too. I used freshly ground pepper and extra garlic. Delicious. Thank you for this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2008

      OMG, this is WONDERFUL, just had the leftovers from last night and it tasted even more fabulous than it did last night. I have always made my shrimp scampi to rave reviews, but my recipe called for Olive oil instead of the butter, imagine my surprise last night when i realized i didn't have enough olive oil for my scampi...i quickly came on recipezaar, knowing full well i would find a recipe that didn't use olive oil and found yours. Boy am I glad I did that, it's amazing! Thank you so so much for an amazing recipe! (don't tell grandma, but i'm using your recipe instead of hers from now on!!!)...thanks again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      This was a great recipe. It was a big hit the only thing I did diffrently was as it was cooking I noticed that the sauce was a little thinner than I wanted it so I took some of the sauce in a seperate bowl and added some corn starch to thicken it and mixed it well with the remaining sauce. When it was done I topped it with parmasean cheese. Wonderful Thanks for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2006

      Nothing like making your own Scampi! So Good! The only change I did was use angle Hair pasta. No left overs. I wish their was more than just 5 stars because my family rated this 10 Stars! A must have again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      This meal was very good, and my husband enjoyed it very much. I would actually add just a touch more garlic, and/or cut back the wine just a bit next time. But I will definitely be making it again!! Very good!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      Excellent! I didn't have but a half pound of shrimp, but I had a pond & a half of haddock filets. I combined the two to get to the full 2 lbs. I didn't add the salt or pepper & served over rice, topped with Italian cheese blend. Fabulous, restaurant quality. This one will be made again & again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      There is good and there is fast and easy- this is actually both........ right on target-exactly what I was hoping for.. but better! ------------- Thank you so much for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Made this minus the pasta to serve over a rib eye as we're on a high-protein/low-carb diet. They were tasty but would have preferred the butter/wine mixture to be a tad thicker. Maybe less wine and a touch of creme next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      Good recipe, and I always love your recipes, but unfortunately not worth the calories and saturated fat for us. Made it for company. Easy, but not enough flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      mmmmm. add a little red pepper and its too good. i also used a little less butter than stated

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      Perfect! I used a little "Wondra flour" to thicken the sauce a little but that was the only change. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

    • on August 27, 2009

      This was so yummy. Quick and easy to fix. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp Scampi

    Serving Size: 1 (410 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 838.4
     
    Calories from Fat 443
    52%
    Total Fat 49.2 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 29.5 g
    147%
    Cholesterol 408.5 mg
    136%
    Sodium 1846.9 mg
    76%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.4 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 39.4 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes