106 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Bland, not much flavor and too much butter/ margarine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jared.hall March 19, 2009

This recipe proved to be much better than I ever anticipated and I can't wait to make it for my next dinner party and also for my friends at work. I did modify it to only use 2Tbsp of oil and 4oz of butter and no margarine and it still was sumptious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nbjamspice March 17, 2009

This is one of 2 shrimp dishes I served for guests today. They loved it. I just used 1/4 cup of butter and 2 Tablespoons of olive oil. I skipped the margarine. The flavor was awesome and the sauce was to die for. Thanks for posting it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB March 14, 2009

This is a great recipe. Made it for dinner with extra shrimp and it was gone pronto. I did add 1 shallot to the pan when heating the oil and garlic and added some crushed red pepper flakes recommended by a previous reader and also because we like having a little kick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf March 09, 2009

I made this for dinner last night and boy was it a hit. My husband loved it. I added a couple thinly sliced green onions, and a little less white wine. The flavor was unbeatable. I will make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrenRick February 21, 2009

Great recipe, very easy and delicious. However, I made some changes. First, I omitted the entire stick of butter and stuck with only 2 TBSP of margerine. I also used 1/2 cup of white wine instead of 3/4 cup based on the reviews. I added 1/2 TSP of crushed red pepper flakes and 1 small shallot (a mild onion) to the pan when I first heated it with oil and garlic. After 1 minute, I added the wine and margerine. Just before it was ready to come off the heat, I added a little parmesan to thicken the sauce. We served it over linguine, and were happy with the result! The shrimp were frozen, but the parsley and garlic were fresh. The more fresh you can use the better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blizotte February 15, 2009

It was good. The sauce was thinner than I like for scampi. I also do not think I would use as much wine next time...personal taste preference though. Overall, I would use this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renee.jankowski February 14, 2009

I've been trying several shrimp scampi recipes on Zaar and this is one of the best! I was scared off by the 88 grams of fat, so only used 1/4 cup butter and no margarine. It was still great -the sauce was most likely thinner than if I had followed the recipe, but we didn't mind because I served it over linguini. It tasted great and my family wolfed it down.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee January 13, 2009

I found this recipe while looking for something new to do with shrimp. I have made Scampi a ton of times, but your recipe stood out, the paprika intrigued me! The taste was amazing and very delicious. I did add a few slices of lemon while the wine was cooking and squeezed a little over the top when it was done, (personal preference). The only thing I think i would do differently is eliminate the margarine, again personal preference. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianMomof2 December 10, 2008

This recipe was a hit! My 8-year-old son loved it! I will definitely be making this again! It was also extremely easy! I used a 1-pound bag of frozen shrimp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brookeherren December 04, 2008
Shrimp Scampi