Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp Scampi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp Scampi

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on October 26, 2004

      Hey, I joined this site just to review this wonderful recipe! Over the years, I've tried dozens of recipes in the vain attempt to find one which was even close to that "professional" recipe everyone tries to copy. [you know the one] I've found several which were good, and a few which were AS good as that "professional" recipe. But this is the first time I've ever seen one which surpasses it. I've now adapted it to fit My own tastes, but this was the best base recipe I've ever found. Adaptations: 1 lb raw shrimp, peeled and deveined, 1/2 cup dry white wine, 1/4 cup light olive oil, 1/2 cup butter; 2 tablespoons margarine; 3 tablespoons minced garlic ;1/4 teaspoon paprika; 1/2 tablespoon parsley flakes; 1/8 teaspoon white pepper; 1/8 teaspoon ground cayenne/red pepper; 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice; pinch of celery seed; grated parmesan cheese, to top Heat wine, olive oil, butter, margarine, and garlic in a large skillet on medium heat until it just starts to boil. Then add all the other spices, lemon juice, and parsley flakes; stir in and immediately add shrimp. Cook for about 4 or 5 minutes or until shrimp turns pink. Don't overcook!!!! Spoon shrimp into toasting/baking dish with some of the cooking sauce and top liberally with parmesan cheese. Preheat at "toast" or broil temperature for 5 minutes and Broil/toast for 2 minutes ONLY!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      I selected this because it looked easy and had many good reviews. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. Although easy, it was way too buttery and oily. The sauce was too thin; it really needed to be reduced. We ended up picking out the shrimp and eating only the shrimp, leaving a huge bowl of oily sauce. The only thing that saved it was that we drank the rest of the bottle of wine with dinner, so by the end of the meal we really didn't care.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe. I was making double the shrimp so I doubled the rest of the recipe, which I did not need to. I added a little lemon peel to it I used a sauvignon blanc for the wine and it blended perfectly. With the left overs (mostly sauce) we are going to try some diced tomato and avocado with maybe some thinly sliced shallots like NVirginian suggested. Absolutely a do again recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Excellent and extremely easy. I did use the variations that Pagan suggested, (and also used dry vermouth for the wine wine). This was superb, served with a simple salad and bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      We really loved this! I changed it up a little by adding shallots, using vermouth instead of wine and used a lot less butter and olive oil. It turned out awesome and I served it over spaghetti squash saute'd with garlic and onions and I'll make it this way again. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Taking the suggestion from another reviewer, I took out the shrimp towards the end and let the sauce cook down more so it wasn't so thin. The flavors were good, although I had to add more salt at the end. I also added some lemon juice to complement the wine. The recipe as a whole was good though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      really good recipe. Next time try to add just a smidge..tbl spoon of Dry Vermouth!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I followed the suggestions in Pagan's review, and my family all claimed it was like eating at Red Lobster! Huge hit at our house, and we'll definitely be doing it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Awesome recipe. I made this for my husbands bday & he loved it I used apple juice instead of white wine because I didnt have any & it came out perfectly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      This recipe is spot on! I used only 1/4c butter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Oh my these are good. I made this for dinner the other night and served it with rice pilaf and cauliflower. These are rich and buttery and garlicky, so good. I will most definitely serve these again. My whole family couldn't get enough of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Great meal with pasta. Served with warm garlic bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      delicious and easy. i used half of the olive oil listed and added garlic. we will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      Excellent recipe! I enjoyed it but not as much as my mother who took the leftover sauce home. I followed the recipe but omitted the margarine. I slowly melted the butter and added the garlic as it was melting. Once melted, I increased the heat and added the olive oil, wine and fresh squeezed lemon juice. When the sauce is boiling I added the shrimp followed by the paprika. When the shrimp is cooked I poured it all in a serving dish and sprinkled with fresh parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2012

      The ease of this recipe is exactly what I was looking for...unfortunately the taste went out with the difficulty. I think if I had followed the advice of others and reduced the sauce a bit it might have improved the flavor. As is, it is a bit oily and is definitely lacking something, I just can't put my finger on exactly what it is...lemon juice or zest? white pepper? dash of pepper sauce? I just don't know. I will probably keep searching for that perfect scampi cause this one is far from perfection.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2011

      Fantastic! We made this today to have alongside king crab legs for our Thanksgiving dinner. I'm so happy I chose this recipe to make. The sauce did make a lot for the amount of shrimp but that's totally okay with us as we used it to dip the crab legs in also. Excellent recipe that I followed to a T, and I would make this again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      This is great! First time making a scampi and it was a wonderful taste, just what I expected. I didn't have butter, so just used the 1/2 c. margarine. Served over egg noodle pasta (all I had on hand) and it was an excellent meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2011

      Hubby said 3, I said 4. We don't cook with a lot of wine so it might just be that. It was super easy and quick. The thin sauce was good on the rice we served it with. Took Pagan's suggestions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

    • on December 07, 2009

      I thought this was just plain terrible. The proportion of wine to butter is way too high...it just tasted like warm wine to me. It is unusual for me not to like a recipe that is this highly rated, so I suppose it is possible that I did something wrong, but I am pretty sure I followed the recipe to the letter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp Scampi

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1001.3
     
    Calories from Fat 781
    78%
    Total Fat 86.8 g
    133%
    Saturated Fat 35.5 g
    177%
    Cholesterol 408.5 mg
    136%
    Sodium 1435.2 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 32.5 g
    65%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites