23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sugarpea said it...Yowza is THE word for this shrimp dish. Can I give this 10 or more stars? This is amazingly delish...I had large shrimp in the freezer that I just had to use up, and I had this in my cookbook just waiting to try, well this was it!....I had the same propblem as Hey Jude, we too kept nibbling on the shrimp as they came off of the pan. I didn't have angel hair pasta so I used spaghetti instaead, it still was out of this world. This is a recipe that I will be making again and again, my DH went bonkers over this shrimp dish, it was so good. I highly recommend this wonderful dish to any seafood lover (like myself and DH) thank you Rita for such a wonderful recipe, just keep em' comin... we all just loved it! :-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 22, 2004

WOW! This is one fantastic dish! I made this as is, using fettucine for the pasta and it was incredibly delicious. We were in danger of having no shrimp to add to the casserole as we kept nibbling on them as they came out of the frying pan. Not only am I going to make this again and again but I'm using Rita's method of pan-frying shrimp the next time we want shrimp on their own. Thanks Rita, your recipe is wonderful!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude October 18, 2003

We enjoyed this shrimp parmesan for dinner last night. The coated shrimp are so delicious! We used spaghetti versus angel hair pasta as that is what we had on hand and it worked out great. I didn't change a thing to the recipe. I took the wording "tomato sauce" literally and that is what I used. However, I think next time, I would use my favorite pasta sauce/spaghetti sauce, which I suppose is a tomato sauce. Thanks for a nice dinner, Rita!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny January 27, 2013

YUM! (5 yums, one for each star!). I halved the recipe for 2 people, and could have served more than 3 with hefty portions. I was concerned that the shrimp could over-cook between the browning and baking steps, so I did steps 1-7 early and then chilled the shrimp (which made rest of the recipe fairly simple to complete). I followed the recipe fairly closely, only adding about 1/2 tsp of granulated garlic to the bread crumb mixture, and substituting grated romano for the parmesan. I wasn't sure if the parmesan measurement was to be divided for the dredging and topping, so I put the full amount with the crumbs and used more for the topping. For the sauce I used 2 4 ounce cans of tomato sauce and enough water to rinse the cans, about 1/3 C red wine, and added to that about 2 T refrigerated minced garlic, 2 T dried Italian seasoning, and 1 large button mushroom, minced. The total volume of the finished sauce was 3C, and all of it was needed. I cooked at 350 for 18 minutes in my convection oven, probably 20-23 minutes would have heated throughout a little better. I used 2 1/4C bowtie pasta, cooked barely al dente. It could have used even a little more pasta, but that would have required more sauce. I served this with garlic bread and steamed aparagus with a roasted garlic butter. This recipe goes in My Favorites!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jaybee chef January 29, 2012

This was a very tasty recipe, but I feel it was actually a little saucy, or not cheesy enough, or something for my tastes. I'm not quite sure if it has something to do with the ingredient amounts or the layering of the dish. (I also forgot to butterfly the shrimp, BTW). I used 3/4 cups each of the breading ingredients, but had quite a bit left, so next time I'll probably reduce it to 1/2 cup each. I think that next time I will also layer it a bit differently, add a bit more cheese and cook it for just a tiny bit longer so the flavors can meld together a bit better. But this was a great recipe and I'm happy to have a red sauce recipe (satisfies hubby) that contains shrimp (makes me happy)!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hodgemo2 December 10, 2009

OUTSTANDING! I have tried over 500 recipes here at Zaar to date, and this recipe is hands down the BEST I have tried here so far. The shrimp is juicy and tender and tastes rich & delicious. A fabulous, showstopper of a company dish, but so tasty that even children will enjoy it (my daughter loved it). Accurate instructions too. I'd give it 10 stars if I could. Note: I did not have any panko, so I used extra Italian bread crumbs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 25, 2004

Dish was wonderful, family enjoyed it even my nephews said they would like it again. Only thing I found is I did not let shrimp sit on paper towel long enough to absorb all the grease. Family said they would like to eat just the shrimp as an appetizer. A must try recipe for shrimp lovrs.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa 21 December 08, 2003

YOWZA! This was WONDERFFUL!! Never had a shrimp sandwich before but it sounded like a great idea and likely to appeal to Dh so I got a couple of nice bakery rolls for the purpose. Split them, spooned tomato sauce on half and mozzarella on other half; placed the prepared shrimp on sauced half and sprinkled the shrimp with parmesan; broiled both halves til cheese melted; put halves together and, OH MY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea October 18, 2003

I made this recipe for the first time today and we all really enjoyed it. I will certainly be making it again. I used Large shrimp, pasta shells and a sweet tomato and basil sauce, which I found really complemented the saltiness of the parmesan. I also only used half of the amount of panko, breadcrumbs and parmesan (1/2 cup each) and it was just the right amount. Next time I will use more panko than crumbs, as I prefer the lighter texture. A lovely recipe. Thank you for posting. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kath_ko January 06, 2009

loved it I served with french bread and dipping herb oil for my bday..... was soooo good. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jellyko August 12, 2008
Shrimp Parmesan