Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp Parmesan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp Parmesan

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2004

      Sugarpea said it...Yowza is THE word for this shrimp dish. Can I give this 10 or more stars? This is amazingly delish...I had large shrimp in the freezer that I just had to use up, and I had this in my cookbook just waiting to try, well this was it!....I had the same propblem as Hey Jude, we too kept nibbling on the shrimp as they came off of the pan. I didn't have angel hair pasta so I used spaghetti instaead, it still was out of this world. This is a recipe that I will be making again and again, my DH went bonkers over this shrimp dish, it was so good. I highly recommend this wonderful dish to any seafood lover (like myself and DH) thank you Rita for such a wonderful recipe, just keep em' comin... we all just loved it! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      WOW! This is one fantastic dish! I made this as is, using fettucine for the pasta and it was incredibly delicious. We were in danger of having no shrimp to add to the casserole as we kept nibbling on them as they came out of the frying pan. Not only am I going to make this again and again but I'm using Rita's method of pan-frying shrimp the next time we want shrimp on their own. Thanks Rita, your recipe is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      We enjoyed this shrimp parmesan for dinner last night. The coated shrimp are so delicious! We used spaghetti versus angel hair pasta as that is what we had on hand and it worked out great. I didn't change a thing to the recipe. I took the wording "tomato sauce" literally and that is what I used. However, I think next time, I would use my favorite pasta sauce/spaghetti sauce, which I suppose is a tomato sauce. Thanks for a nice dinner, Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      YUM! (5 yums, one for each star!). I halved the recipe for 2 people, and could have served more than 3 with hefty portions. I was concerned that the shrimp could over-cook between the browning and baking steps, so I did steps 1-7 early and then chilled the shrimp (which made rest of the recipe fairly simple to complete). I followed the recipe fairly closely, only adding about 1/2 tsp of granulated garlic to the bread crumb mixture, and substituting grated romano for the parmesan. I wasn't sure if the parmesan measurement was to be divided for the dredging and topping, so I put the full amount with the crumbs and used more for the topping. For the sauce I used 2 4 ounce cans of tomato sauce and enough water to rinse the cans, about 1/3 C red wine, and added to that about 2 T refrigerated minced garlic, 2 T dried Italian seasoning, and 1 large button mushroom, minced. The total volume of the finished sauce was 3C, and all of it was needed. I cooked at 350 for 18 minutes in my convection oven, probably 20-23 minutes would have heated throughout a little better. I used 2 1/4C bowtie pasta, cooked barely al dente. It could have used even a little more pasta, but that would have required more sauce. I served this with garlic bread and steamed aparagus with a roasted garlic butter. This recipe goes in My Favorites!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2009

      This was a very tasty recipe, but I feel it was actually a little saucy, or not cheesy enough, or something for my tastes. I'm not quite sure if it has something to do with the ingredient amounts or the layering of the dish. (I also forgot to butterfly the shrimp, BTW). I used 3/4 cups each of the breading ingredients, but had quite a bit left, so next time I'll probably reduce it to 1/2 cup each. I think that next time I will also layer it a bit differently, add a bit more cheese and cook it for just a tiny bit longer so the flavors can meld together a bit better. But this was a great recipe and I'm happy to have a red sauce recipe (satisfies hubby) that contains shrimp (makes me happy)!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2004

      OUTSTANDING! I have tried over 500 recipes here at Zaar to date, and this recipe is hands down the BEST I have tried here so far. The shrimp is juicy and tender and tastes rich & delicious. A fabulous, showstopper of a company dish, but so tasty that even children will enjoy it (my daughter loved it). Accurate instructions too. I'd give it 10 stars if I could. Note: I did not have any panko, so I used extra Italian bread crumbs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Dish was wonderful, family enjoyed it even my nephews said they would like it again. Only thing I found is I did not let shrimp sit on paper towel long enough to absorb all the grease. Family said they would like to eat just the shrimp as an appetizer. A must try recipe for shrimp lovrs.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2003

      YOWZA! This was WONDERFFUL!! Never had a shrimp sandwich before but it sounded like a great idea and likely to appeal to Dh so I got a couple of nice bakery rolls for the purpose. Split them, spooned tomato sauce on half and mozzarella on other half; placed the prepared shrimp on sauced half and sprinkled the shrimp with parmesan; broiled both halves til cheese melted; put halves together and, OH MY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I made this recipe for the first time today and we all really enjoyed it. I will certainly be making it again. I used Large shrimp, pasta shells and a sweet tomato and basil sauce, which I found really complemented the saltiness of the parmesan. I also only used half of the amount of panko, breadcrumbs and parmesan (1/2 cup each) and it was just the right amount. Next time I will use more panko than crumbs, as I prefer the lighter texture. A lovely recipe. Thank you for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      loved it I served with french bread and dipping herb oil for my bday..... was soooo good. thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      This is the best recipe EVER!! It was so easy to follow especially because of the link to the step by step instructions! I HIGHLY recommend making extra shrimp just to munch on because they are sooo good! I really wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2007

      Excellent! I have made this 3 or 4 times now and can't believe I forgot to review it. This went together very easily, the clear instructions were really helpful and using a bag to coat the shrimp saves massively on cleanup. I did a LOT of extra shrimp for this the second time, because once they get to the browning stage, it's hard to keep "poachers" from thieving and eating them clean out of the fry pan and even 6 year old DD liked these at the crunchy fry stage (with her adversion to trying new things that is some feat) THAT would earn this recipe 5 stars on it's own LOL. I didn't have panko becuase it's not sold here as far as I know, so used plain breadcrumbs and no one complained. In fact they were too busy eating.. DH and I with the sauce and DD without it (another kid hangup). I do recommend using the biggest prawns or scampi that you can find... and be as extravagent as you can afford to be with them, since this recipe is well worth it. Please see my rating system: 5 excellent stars for a wonderful recipe where the step-by-step photos made learning what to do as you went along, an absolute breeze. Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I love the shrimp! It was sooo good even if you eat it by itself. I substituted Italian seasoning for the Old Bay since I didn't have any but it still tasted great. I think it was a little too much for the amount of pasta though. I used spinach fettuccini and it was perfect with the shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      really great! next time, I think I will mix the sauce with the spaghetti. I was crazy over the shrimp. I could have eaten all the shrimp before I layered it. It's definitely a keeper. a great dinner to make for guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2007

      This was DELICIOUS!!!! The flavor is great. I did add much more Old Bay Seasoning. I also added more salt. I kept adding both and tasting the breadcrumb mixture until it was to my liking. Other than that I didn't change anything. I used the Large prawns from Costco. This is a keeper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      We just had this delicious dish for dinner. I made it as written except for not having panko so I just used the italian bread crumbs. The whole family loved it and asked that it be made again soon. It tastes like it came from a fine restaurant. The pictures are a mini cooking lesson and made the dish look as delicious as it tastes. Thanks Rita for sharing this recipe with everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Rita- My DH gave you a standing two thumbs up for this recipe! It was just wonderful. I have one small suggestion and that is to read the directions thoroughly before you begin. I umm didn't read the "cooked" part on the pasta and was frantically willing my water to boil for my pasta as my shrimp patiently waited :) Seriously this is great, right down to the thick and creamy egg wash- how clever! I had to use smaller shrimp as that is all I had on hand, and I used our favorite jarred pasta sauce. Right into the Favorites Cookbook with this one. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT 3. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Uhuh...do NOT pass this up...just print and do! The only difference is that I made the pasta seperately. I wanted the leftovers the next day, but my husband swiped them! Oh well...just going to have to make another batch..darn! :-) THANK YOU for sharing!!! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

      Not that this recipe needs another five star rating, but my husband and I have both agreed it deserves more than five! This is great for last minute dinner guests or dinner parties as it makes a lot and is very filling. We enjoyed with a greek salad (recipe by kittencal). Don't pass this up!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      Boy this was really good...We gobbled it up...great recipe for company...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp Parmesan

    Serving Size: 1 (460 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 860.6
     
    Calories from Fat 249
    29%
    Total Fat 27.7 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 13.6 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 277.3 mg
    92%
    Sodium 2212.2 mg
    92%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.2 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 10.2 g
    40%
    Protein 55.4 g
    110%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites