Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp or Crab Louis Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp or Crab Louis

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 28, 2011

      I agree with the other reviewers that this is indeed a tasty salad. But nutritionally, it's atrocious! Way too many calories, too much fat, sodium and cholesterol. To lower the cholesterol and fat, I would suggest skipping the hard boiled egg altogether, and substituting the mayo with yogurt. The dressing doesn't need any additional salt, only some pepper, and omit the olives. Chopped celery (as another reviewer suggested) can be added for crunch and color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This is a really nice Louis recipe. I used large shrimp and made as directed but left out the olives as I'm not a big fan. Very simple to make and it made a great lunch. Thanks Kitten for another winner. Made for Think Pink.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      What a great recipe for a hot summer day. I made this using large jumbo shrimp and served on a bed of romaine lettuce. I added just a small bit of celery it was fabulous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Wonderful Drerssing. I did add alittle more lemon juice and some capers. (I love them). It was great right when I made it, but was even better the next day! I used it on fresh sliced gatden tomatoes and it is also a wonderful dip for veggies. Thanks again for another great recipe. :-0

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      What a fantastic Louis salad! I had some Jumbo shrimp so used those, and added some cubed cheddar cheese to the mix and it was delicious! Thanks Kitten- Made for the Salads event in Photos Forum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      Yummm! We have had a bit of a heat wave here, so I made this last nite. Even tho I had to sub ketchup for the chili sauce, the dressing was to die for! I used shrimp for the salad and also added some avocados as we have so many right now. Served with some Texas Toast and strawberry shortcake for dessert. Thanks for sharing, Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Suuper yummy take-to-work lunch item. I brought along some bread to toast, and wha-la: I had a great seafood lunch that didn't run all my coworkers out with the smell. I also used FF mayo and added some romaine lettuce slices for substance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2007

      Wonderful. Simple to make. For two people we used 1/2 pound of fresh Maryland jumbo lump crabmeat which was plenty. Served with local corn on the cob and a nice CA white wine. Jersey blueberries for desert. Hard to beat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      This is by FAR the best Shrimp Louis I have ever had. The flavors are mouthwatringly good and it is SO easy to prepare. This from now on the only Louis recipe I will make. This time I made it with shrimp, but I cannot wait to try it again with crab. The flavors were singing in my mouth while I ate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      I made this for a buffet luncheon meeting and it was good... people weren't raving about it, but it was disappearing steadily :) I would certainly be making this again and will be adding it to my handwritten family cookbook... Please see my rating system, a wonderful 4 stars :) Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Great salad!! I didn't have any chili sauce on hand so I used coctail sauce I added a little grated parmesan cheese to the dressing. My hubby loved it as well as my daughters. It's great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      I really enjoyed this as a lite lunch. I did not have any lemons, so I added a little rice vinegar instead. I also used Thai sweet chili sauce as that was all I had. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      OUT... OF... THIS.... WORLD! Well, thankfully it's IN this world or I'd have too far to travel. I served this for lunch today in avocado "boats" and we ate like it was our last meal, savoring each bite, yet packing our mouths fuller than is socially acceptable. *slurp!* Thanks once again, KITTENCAL, for a delicious oft-repeater!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp or Crab Louis

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 452.4
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    55%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 4.9 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 493.9 mg
    164%
    Sodium 2283.7 mg
    95%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 37.8 g
    75%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes