13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I agree with the other reviewers that this is indeed a tasty salad. But nutritionally, it's atrocious! Way too many calories, too much fat, sodium and cholesterol. To lower the cholesterol and fat, I would suggest skipping the hard boiled egg altogether, and substituting the mayo with yogurt. The dressing doesn't need any additional salt, only some pepper, and omit the olives. Chopped celery (as another reviewer suggested) can be added for crunch and color.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JDoc2 October 28, 2011

This is a really nice Louis recipe. I used large shrimp and made as directed but left out the olives as I'm not a big fan. Very simple to make and it made a great lunch. Thanks Kitten for another winner. Made for Think Pink.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme October 14, 2010

What a great recipe for a hot summer day. I made this using large jumbo shrimp and served on a bed of romaine lettuce. I added just a small bit of celery it was fabulous.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle June 17, 2009

Wonderful Drerssing. I did add alittle more lemon juice and some capers. (I love them). It was great right when I made it, but was even better the next day! I used it on fresh sliced gatden tomatoes and it is also a wonderful dip for veggies. Thanks again for another great recipe. :-0

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) June 16, 2009

What a fantastic Louis salad! I had some Jumbo shrimp so used those, and added some cubed cheddar cheese to the mix and it was delicious! Thanks Kitten- Made for the Salads event in Photos Forum.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BecR June 01, 2009

Yummm! We have had a bit of a heat wave here, so I made this last nite. Even tho I had to sub ketchup for the chili sauce, the dressing was to die for! I used shrimp for the salad and also added some avocados as we have so many right now. Served with some Texas Toast and strawberry shortcake for dessert. Thanks for sharing, Kitten.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 18, 2009

Suuper yummy take-to-work lunch item. I brought along some bread to toast, and wha-la: I had a great seafood lunch that didn't run all my coworkers out with the smell. I also used FF mayo and added some romaine lettuce slices for substance.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 August 22, 2007

Wonderful. Simple to make. For two people we used 1/2 pound of fresh Maryland jumbo lump crabmeat which was plenty. Served with local corn on the cob and a nice CA white wine. Jersey blueberries for desert. Hard to beat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Couple in Chester County July 18, 2007

This is by FAR the best Shrimp Louis I have ever had. The flavors are mouthwatringly good and it is SO easy to prepare. This from now on the only Louis recipe I will make. This time I made it with shrimp, but I cannot wait to try it again with crab. The flavors were singing in my mouth while I ate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. June 09, 2007

I made this for a buffet luncheon meeting and it was good... people weren't raving about it, but it was disappearing steadily :) I would certainly be making this again and will be adding it to my handwritten family cookbook... Please see my rating system, a wonderful 4 stars :) Thanks !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch July 02, 2006
Shrimp or Crab Louis