8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good Dip. Ultra easy and fast to make. I used shrimp and added a sprinkle of Old Bay, after tasting. Also, we used Frito's Scoops.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dib's November 12, 2002

Love this! Been making it for years. I usually half the recipe for a small group. Taking to a New Years Eve party, it was requested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu January 01, 2015

I make this recipe the same as Alice Robertson Clark. I also top the shrimp with chopped green onion for garnish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alliebaba December 30, 2005

This is great and I have made for several years. I use the same ingredients, but assembly a little differently. I use an old clear pyrex pie plate. Soften the cream cheese a little and spread out evenly on the pie plate. Then, layer the cocktail sauce. I select the Heinz with the touch of Horseraddish sauce in it. Then layer the shrimp on top. Then place the pie plate on a larger glass platter and place the crackers around the pie plate. This helps solve the issue of it not looking so appetizing. The shrimp on top helps draw the crowd. Very easy and very good. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alice Robertson Clark December 30, 2005

I made this as part of my Christmas appetizers, and it was enjoyed by all. I used the recommended crab instead of shrimp. It might not look pretty, but the taste is outstanding. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bekah~ December 27, 2005

This is a recipe my daughter passed on to me. It is delicious and so easy. I use small frozen shrimp instead of canned. I've never come home with any when I've taken in somewhere. It disappears. The flavors of shrimp, coctail sauce and the cream cheese are great. I've never tried crab. I will. That sounds at least as good. Thank you for sharing this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jeanne November 19, 2004

This recipie is wonderfull. My only complaint is that it is not terribly appitizing to look at, so getting the first person to dig in can be a challenge. But once they've started they'll keep going untill its gone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica Whittier December 12, 2003

This is the staple appetizer at any party at my parent's house because it is so very simple and tasty. We usually use crabmeat instead of shrimp and always use Hoffman House cocktail sauce. It's a great appetizer to have out for snacking before the main course and is also PERFECT for card games!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephoness November 13, 2003
Shrimp or Crab Dip / Spread