Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp Newburg Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp Newburg

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2013

      A very good traditional Newburg. I adjusted the setting for 4 people. I suggest you cut the salt to 1/4 tea and I like my food a little salty. I used a 1/4 cup of regular sherry and a 1/4 cup of cream sherry and it was spot on. I used about 30 Jumbo Shrimp that came out of the gulf that morning. We are lucky to live so close to the water here in N. Fla. Very rich, but I can see we will make this every couple of mons for sure. Just be careful of the amount of salt, you can always add it later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      I was looking for a substitute for Lobster Newburg over Popovers and since I had shrimp instead of lobster I thought this would work out fine. It was good and soaked into the popovers well. I think it could have used a bit more kick like maybe some Old Bay or a small tad of cayenne. Will do it again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      My mother made this when I was a little girl. I would like to suggest that you use smaller shrimp. They are more flavorful and you get more shrimp in all of that yummy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      I used lg. shrimp and it was way more than 12. I also added peas to the sauce and had over phyllo cups. It was so delicious! My DH raved and raved for days after having this. We will have again for a special occasion dinner along with pasta!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I loved this hubby didn't care for it but that's okay I will make it again for myself!! awesome recipe Tonkcats thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      I just used the recipe part for the newburg sause and it was the best and easiest I ever tried flavor was great. I used cream sherry and it added a touch of sweetness to the seafood I used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2006

      Thank you so much for sharing Tonkcats. Your instructions were easy to follow, resulting in a sauce that was beautiful, flavourful, thick and velvety. A perfect setting for my jumbo shrimp and fresh linguini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      I worked on my Xtra-large bag of salad shrimp with this recipe. Great mild flavor. The sherry makes it. Hubby raved and was crestfallen when he found the leftovers served as my lunch. Thanks for a quick, simple keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      As usual, I wasn't paying attention and I added the sherry to the dry ingredients in the skillet and generated a famous-looking rouge goo-ball! But you know what? I didn't panic and it didn't matter. As soon as I began adding the cream and whisking, it did just fine, nice and smooth. This is a fine Shrimp Newburg -- much better than I've had in restaurants. Thanks for posting the recipe, Tonkcats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2005

      Made this in under 10 minutes......OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      A great dish. I added slightly more sherry wine than 1/4 cup. I think it enhanced the taste to 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      This recipe was very good and very quick and easy to make. I did not have cream so used canned milk and also used about 20 shrimp. It could serve 3-4, but my hubby and I were hungry and ate it all! I served it over rice with sauted spinach on the side! Yum Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      This shrimp newburg turned out very good, very tasty and quite easy to make. I served them in puff pastry vol-au-vent as a starter for Easter dinner. Very much enjoyed by all. The only thing I thought strange was that the recipe made an over abundance of sauce for just 12 shrimp and I used jumbo prawns. There was at least half of the sauce left over, what a waste!! as it was delicious. Next time I will make only half the sauce. Thanks for sharing a very tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp Newburg

    Serving Size: 1 (211 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.8
     
    Calories from Fat 295
    74%
    Total Fat 32.8 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 20.3 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 150.7 mg
    50%
    Sodium 939.1 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 9.3 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites