22 Reviews

I tried to make a house lo mein for my husband and I used the shrimp marinade from this recipe. He said the shrimp was the best part of the dish! I will try again with the same marinade on all of the meat and possibly even the rest of the recipe.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimemeki July 11, 2010

We really liked this! We couldn't find snow peas so we used snap peas. We also added mushrooms. Other than that we followed directions as is. Very tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaA April 28, 2011

It was definitely a Thai recipe, I'm not the biggest fan of Thai but it was nice and simple enough to make. Suggestion: I did add some brown sugar at the end and it really added to the dish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moe13a April 18, 2010

This recipe turned out to be a little more time consuming than I expected - mostly peeling the shrimp. When I first tried it, I thought it was ok but that I'd leave the lo mein to my local chinese restaurant. It just didn't taste like the take out that I've grown to adore and the time it took didn't seem worth the 'not quite right' taste. But as I kept eating, the simple flavors grew on me. It is now 1 hour after dinner and I can't stop thinking about the left overs!! Although a bit time consuming, I will certainly make this recipe again. Perhaps with some broccoli next time. And I would love to be able to find some fresh lo mein but the fettuccine did just fine. My sauce also didn't thicken as much as I would've expected but I suspect I may have just gotten a little impatient and not given it enough time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith June 04, 2009

This is a definite keeper!! I used collard greens torn up instead of Bok Choy which was very expensive. I also added a few sliced fresh mushrooms. Otherwise made to recipe. I did have to add a bit more oil. This tastes great, is quick to make and is a beautiful presentation. I sprinkled with regular sesame seeds and black ones. I halved the recipe and got 4 generous servings.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Snicklefritzie January 07, 2008

We loved this recipe! I also added a bit of sugar, (just a teaspoon) and about two tablespoons of sherry, since my old recipe had those included. I also added some mushrooms and water chestnuts and didn't have any bean sprouts on hand. The sauce makes it! I also had to use beef broth because my son is allergic to chicken. It was delicious and I don't think that made a lot of difference. My old recipe came from a very old Chinese cookbook and is pretty much the same. I don't know why a previous reviewer thought this was a Thai recipe. Oh, I also stir fried everything in vegetable oil and added the sesame oil at the end. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
manushag June 09, 2016

Made this for dinner tonight. The flavor was just so so and needed salt. My kids all complained that it just tasted like unflavored cooked shrimp. Sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lindsay June 05, 2016

My husband gives this a 10 - in keeping with f.com rating I will happily give it a 5 star. I scaled it back as a side dish for 2 (would easily have served 3) and other than the addition of mushrooms and bean sprouts made as directed. We will definitely be enjoying this for years to come. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned December 07, 2013

We used shredded carrots, broccoli florets, celery, and snow peas for the veggies. I added ingredients to the pan based on cooking times (celery and broccoli first) until all the veggies were cooked, then added my shrimp in with the veggies and cooked until done. Then added the sauce and noodles to everything in the pan. I'm not one for a bunch of little batches and getting extra dishes dirty. This definitely needed reduced sodium soy sauce, which I didn't have on hand. All in all very good, and pretty good for us. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrincessPage August 12, 2011

This was wonderful, and very easy to make. I made it exactly as described. I will be adding this recipe to my rotation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reinecke53 May 19, 2010
Shrimp Lo Mein