10 Reviews

Couldn't find my old recipe for Pernod shrimp, so trired this one, only added fresh Tarragon, and a little-less cream. They were all gone in seconds. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fwmosher_8053432 August 27, 2012

Adding some minced shallots and garlic, and a few sliced mushroom helps this wonderful dish, in my opinion. I first had a version of it called "Scampi in Love" at the restaurant of the Westbury Hotel in Toronto in the early 1970s. It was a culinary prize-winner by the late chef Tony Roldan back when he was the best chef in town and the foodie revolution was just beginning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timpatcooks May 25, 2012

I was introduced to this dish during a visit to Montreal. I have never seen it served stateside. This recipe is wonderful and very EASY for a beginning cook. I absolutely HATE licorice, but the mixture here is perfect. Thanks for posting a great recipe. I always tape my favorite recipes to the inside surface of the doors of my kitchen cabinets so I don't lose them and they are always handy -- and this one is going there, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
houstonian March 01, 2011

Romantic pampering food! Love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare September 03, 2009

I haven't tried this with shrimp but had something very similar with escargot at an upscale restaurant in Anchorage. It was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xotlaughing February 10, 2009

Tis is quick easy and very tasty! I enjoyed the green peppercorn and the lovely anise flavor from the absinthe which I used in place of the Pernod.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ June 15, 2007

I thought "licorice with cream???" but wanted to make something for ZWT III with flavours my DH liked. This was so easy. Couldn't find the jumbo shrimp here but found some lovely large ones and had enough to double the recipe. I didn't have to ask the family what to rate this - there was no conversation at the table. Just heads down eating and sopping up every last bit of sauce. (I'll be submitting a photo as soon as my computer stops acting silly.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC June 13, 2007

It is difficult to get enough superlatives into this review without sounding over the top...........but, this was AMAZING! All my favourite ingredients and SO EASY!!! This is a keeper for me; and although I have similar recipes that I make regularly - I loved the addition of the green peppercorns - sublime! Thanks Ev! FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart June 09, 2007

So easy, so elegant, so delicious! Thanks, Ev!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate June 27, 2006

this is exactly the recipe i posted here a few years ago, with the addition of the peppercorns, which was lovely. this is a quick easy dish served over rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia June 04, 2005
Shrimp in Pernod Cream Sauce