Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp Etouffee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp Etouffee

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-34 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2007

    • on April 25, 2007

      Incredible! I had to make this for my DD's French class project and it was the biggest hit at the dinner, thank you! My DD called it an "easy A". I had to triple the recipe and there wasn't a single scoop left. Some people came back for thirds even though was plenty of other foods to choose from. We changed this just a little bit. We didn't have any beer so we substituted with additional chicken broth, reduced the salt to 1/2 tsp and added 1 tsp cajun seasoning. Also, after adding the shrimp and broth we only simmered it for 10 minutes to prevent the shrimp from becoming overcooked. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      We loved this recipe! I expected it to be a little thicker too, but once I tasted it, I didn't care! If thick is your thing, you can always use cornstarch or something to get it how you want it. I think thinner was actually better for "soppin'" the juices up with your bread. The amount of seasoning and heat was just right. And the veggies didn't get overcooked either which is a big deal to me! Two modifications I'll mention in case anyone else out there has the same problems: first, I only have a medium size cast iron skillet so I heated up a larger nonstick pan, and transferred the roux/veggie/spice mixture to the big one before adding the broth and beer. Worked fine. The second was that I marinated the shrimp in beer for a few hours and didn't add it to the pan (drained it first) until a few minutes before the parsley. The reason for this is that I use the bags of frozen shrimp because they are cheaper but have had problems with the shrimp coming out tough and rubbery if cooked for more than a few minutes. I don't know if it made a difference but the shrimp was tender and the whole thing was delicious. Your directions were very clear and easy to follow. I appreciated the encouragement to be patient around the 15min. mark of making the roux! Can't wait to make again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      i loved it, and you were right about the cold beer, do not get me wrong i love spicy food !!!! recommend it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Very very tasty, but not as thick at it should be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      This is one great dish!! The roux was exactly like peanut butter, and worth the time it took to make it. I did add a little extra red pepper for a little more zing. This one is a keeper for sure. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      Wow! This was absolutely divine, Denise. Thanks so much for posting!! I didn't have any beer, so used a bit of wine and it was great. I also used a little more cayenne (we like it spicy!). It looks really pretty if you reserve a bit of the chopped red pepper for garnish, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      Yummy! We like good spicy food, and this fit the bill. The time making the roux is absolutely well worth it. We didn't have a dark beer on hand so we used an amber lager and it seemed to work fine, but we'll use a dark beer next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2005

      5 stars because anything my DH likes gets 5 stars! And he loved it (me too). Very easy, very quick (other than the roux part of course), very good flavor even though I had to use regular beer. Might add just a little Tony's next time, but this one's a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2005

      Absolutely wonderful! I tripled it for a birthday party and had a "butter bowl" left over. I added a few tsp. of Emeril's creole seasoning for extra spice but otherwise stayed true to your recipe. Even my picky BF loved it. Thanks for the great recipe. Will be making this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      This was a great recipie. It was easy and fun. At first I thought it wasn't going to be good when I first put the vegetables in because all the butter/flour mix was sucked up by the vegetables. So that it wouldn't burn I added my chicken stock early. It came out great. I also used wine instead of beer (because I didn't have any) and it came out really good. Next time I'll use the dark beer as recommended. Thanks for the recipie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2004

      Very tasty! I used an Emeril Lagasse recipe for essence in addition to your seasonings, plus a home grown dried chile; also made a broth of the shrimp shells for use instead of chicken broth. But I stayed true to your cooking process, technique and use of beer and two colors of bell peppers. The roux is wonderful! The "dark peanut butter consistency" took awhile, but it was absolutely worth it! Thanks for an excellant, easy to follow recipe! We enjoyed it very much & I can't wait to make it for friends. Even better, a local restaurant serves etouffe and I will never order it from them again. It doesn't even come close to this. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2004

      This turned out very well! It was the first time I had ever made a roux and I thought the descriptions were very helpful. Made enough for 6, but there were no leftovers between us 3. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2003

      This was an excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp Etouffee

    Serving Size: 1 (339 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 308.6
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    26%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 115.8 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1089.9 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.5 g
    10%
    Protein 15.4 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes