11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The whole family, myself included LOVED this!!! The filling was rich and creamy. Had a very mild flavor which makes if kid-friendly. The onions and green chiles are the perfect touch. My 4-year old who is going through a very picky stage gobbled this up. Thanks Nurse Di.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunflower October 05, 2002

rich, creamy, gooey and delicious. we loved this recipe. thanks for finding it Forgot the stars, edited 6/19/13.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears June 19, 2013

This recipe was amazing! I made this recipe for a cinco de mayo pool party and they were a complete hit. I doubled the recipe to make enough for 2 trays. These went so fast that I only got to eat 1!!! They were a real hit. I would say that since I doubled the recipe I tried to make sure that the soup sauce with the picante sauce was not too hot. I just put in 1 cup of the hot sauce instead of 2. I would advise other people to make sure to taste the soup sauce as you are putting the picante sauce in so that you dont make it too hot. Loved this recipe. Will make this one again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anadabest May 12, 2010

Delicious! A bit rich.... I might cut down on the cream soups and add a can of choped tomatoes next time for the sauce. Also, I added cilantro to the filling and topping. yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmkga March 07, 2009

Wow, I'm a little embarrassed to say that I printed out this recipe way back in 2002 and I'm just now getting around to making it. The other reviews are correct, this is a very rich recipe. I made the recipe as directed, and the cream cheese was a bit much for me, and I might leave it out or cut it in half the next time. I think Andi of Longmeadow Farm's suggestion of leaving the shrimp whole is very interesting. I would also like to try this recipe with a mix of shrimp and bay scallops and possibly double the amount of green chilies (personal preference). Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy :-( February 27, 2009

This was very easy to make and better than any enchilada I have had in a restaurant. This says a lot, since I live in Texas with an abundance of Mexican food. Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gibscarr February 25, 2009

This recipe is just as everyone has commented...great! I tried it on my husband (who is pretty picky by the way)and he ate most of it - even had it for left overs several times. I also could not find cream of onion or shrimp, and I experimented with cream of mushroom, mixing it with shimp flavoring (like the kind you find in a package of Ramen soup) and Lipton Onion dip flavoring. It worked!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar-N-Spice September 10, 2007

Great, great! Loved the heat, loved the taste, and only made a few changes based on what was in my cupboard and personal choice. Instead of green chilies, I added fresh jalanpeno peppers. Oh yes, I left the shrimp whole, and the sour cream/cream cheese/jack cheese just wrapped itself around the shrimp.The only other slight change/addition was heating the tortilla in the hot skillet with a little cooking spray, and wrapping the shrimp/cheese mixture as stated. I added hot habenaro sauce to mine, but most people ate theirs just as the recipe stated. Thanks, NurseDi for posting this, we will include this as a regular.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm May 06, 2007

This was excellent, and I couldn't find all the necessary ingredients either. I was able to get the cream of onion but not the cream of shrimp, in a bind I chose the Fiesta Nacho cheese soup, which probably made them a litte richer but I cut the mont jack down and used low fat cream cheese and sour cream, we topped ours with lettuce, tomato, salsa and sour cream just before eating like our favorite Mexican restaurant.Again..Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. January 05, 2006

This was wonderful, Di! I had to make a few adjustments - couldn't find Cream of Onion soup so substituted Pepper Jack soup then thinned mixture with a little milk and did not use picante at all. Also left out the green onions since my son doesn't like them. Since there are only three of us I baked 1/2 one night, saved the filling and sauce, then made another batch the second night! Easy and ever so delicious. Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy C May 07, 2005
Shrimp Enchiladas