59 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this for a party and with 6 adults we had it gone in 15 minutes. We all sat at the table and snarfed it down! It was so easy to make and tastes so good. I highly recommend this to everyone. I will be making this again.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. January 26, 2003

I made this for a party and it was a big hit. It is much better the next day so definitely make it one day in advance. My cream cheese was lumpy and looked like cottage cheese in the dip which a few people commented on and it was a real turn-off, so next time I'll beat the cream cheese first with an electric mixer until it's creamy before I add the other ingredients. The recipe didn't specifically state to drain the cans of shrimp, but they must be drained. The dip was a bit salty the first day but seemed less salty the next day. This is a keeper!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimar March 31, 2003

I've made this several times before and it's always a big hit! My variation: I omit the ketchup and horseradish from the dip and serve cocktail sauce on the side. That way people can layer the dip and sauce on a cracker and enjoy! Also, I add a pinch of garlic powder to my dip. Thanks for sharing this simple, tasty recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesskim June 01, 2006

This dip is wonderful!!!I made it for a Marti Gras party and everyone wanted the recipe.Used 1 can of canned shrimp(well drained) and a 8oz. frozen bag of small shrimp thawed and cut up. Also used a red onion, and some cajun seasoning. Will be making this often for pot lucks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen sofiesilver February 26, 2006

Not much I can add to the other reviews. I added extra dill because I love it, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Just wonderful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bogey'sMom January 26, 2004

Excellent. Had uncooked shrimp, so I cooked them in a pan with a little butter and garlic and, once pink throughout, threw them in ice water to stop the cooking. Chopped up the shrimp in to smaller pieces and threw them in to the previously blended ingredients (used beater to mix and smooth out). Tastes great right out of the bowl - can't wait until it's rested for a while in the fridge. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC September 20, 2009

Really good dip. It makes a ton... I put everything in a bowl but the shrimp and beat it smooth...then folded in the shrimp...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc September 14, 2009

Wow! great taste and an easy appy. I love the worcestershire sauce and the dill combination.I drained the shrimp and rinsed them then put everything in the food processor and gave it a whirl. I didnt have any onions so I subbed onion powder with great results. I served the shrimp dip with assortment of crackers and veggies. A very nice dish to serve guests. Thanks PanNan for posting this recipe and one we will be making and ejoying often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee October 09, 2006

Took this Christmas eve and it was a HUGE HIT. I had a feeling it would be, so I made sure to bring along copies of the recipie. I did increase the horseradish and worchestershire sauce (I love horseradish!). I also used my mixer to blend in the canned shrimp to create a creamy consistency. After this was done I stirred in half a bag of fresh thawed tiny shrimp and sprinkled th remaining half bag on top for presentation. It's especially great on watercrackers or cocktail size pumpernickel bread. Thanks PanNan!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krittersmom December 30, 2005

This was fantastic...definitely a keeper and will make again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shells75 February 02, 2004
Shrimp Dip