9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this dish using this recipe for New Years dinner for over 20 years. It is truly a winner. One recommendation that I have for those who don't want to make their own stock is to use clam juice, which is available in most any grocery store. It is a much better (seafood-based) substitute instead of using chicken stock.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard in Chicago December 28, 2009

Great and super easy. I used claim juice since I did not have shrimp stock. I also only used half of the cayanne because of my kids. I would have used full amount of cayanne otherwise. We had ours over egg noodles with garlic bread and steamed artichokes. The next day we had left overs. When I reheated I added a dab of olive oil and tablespoon of butter and 2 sprinkles of crushed red peppers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
STK FD WIFE, A.TITUS October 19, 2008

Absolutely fabulous! I used shrimp 'stock' made from a shrimp bouillon cube I had on hand from an Asian market, and I used my Pampered Chef Egg Slicer to make short work of slicing the mushrooms. We thought the amount of cayenne was perfect! And even though I reduced the butter to 4 tablespoons plus 4 tablespoons of a no-cholesterol butter spread, all the flavors were wonderful and well-balanced. I served this over fettucine noodles. Hey Jude - Thank you for an easy-to-make but outstanding dish!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divaconviva July 25, 2007

I've been making this dish for a couple of years now. I serve this as an appetizer served with fancy toothpicks and french bread to soak up leftover juices. The difference to mine is I add white wine (instead of the shrimp stock) to the green onion mix and let it reduce a bit before I add the shrimp and I don't add any mushrooms. I use about 2 Tbsp butter and 2 Tbsp olive oil. This was my own creation one night when we were having company and everyone just loved it. I'm requested to make it all th time now. I had no idea it was called "Shrimip Diane". My name is Diane.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee February 23, 2006

Wow, this was good. I used the full amount of cayenne. My sauce was a little loose but that was because I used margarine in place of the stick of butter. I finished with real butter so we had the flavor but not all the fat. Served on low carb pasta. Great meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff January 09, 2006

Very, VERY good! My husband loved it! I, too, only used 1/4 tsp of the cayenne - which I felt was the right amount without overwhelming the flavor of the other ingredients (and I like it hot). I used Shrimp Stock #61197 by Kozmic Blues for the stock. I will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Claudia Dawn May 29, 2004

Fabulous! My Sister in law mad this for a family dinner! We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryMary55 April 15, 2007

Positively fantastic! My husband is allergic to shrimp so I used scallops. Hey Jude suggested I use Knorr's fish bouillon in place on the shrimp broth. One of the ingredients was 'fish'. Being leary of this I decided to go with chicken broth as Luby did. My husband gave this 5 stars immediatly after the first mouthfull. I will definately be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dojemi May 28, 2004

OMG! This dish is incredulous. The only change I made was to cut the cayenne pepper back to 1/4 tsp as I felt 1/2 tsp would have been a bit much for me. I can't even begin to describe how good it is. Beware though it is very rich but oh so worth it. Edited to add: I forgot to state that I didn't have shrimp stock because DH peeled the shrimp and threw the shells away so I used chicken broth. Even using chicken broth I found this dish to be excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby May 25, 2004
Shrimp Diane