19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious! I upped the garlic to 3 cloves (we love it) and we really enjoyed it. A great 'classy' meal when there's not too much time to spend in the kitchen.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens June 18, 2003

Served small portions of this without the linguine and they were mopped up by bread. Delizioso

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba August 26, 2014

Excellent, easy and tasty. I did not have red onion, and I used a can of diced tomatoes (drained) in place of the roma tomatoes. I agree that the shrimp should probably be removed from the sauce to avoid over-cooking. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookGordon January 14, 2010

I prepared this for dinner tonight and it was very good. I think I will add a few things the next time, though. It needs something and I am not sure what....so, I think I will go with another review and add the cream....I am also thinking of adding some baby asparagus. My shrimp were large and needed the extra cooking time and I used 2 cloves of garlic. Also, don't forget the salt and pepper; it is included in the ingredients but not in the cooking instructions. Thanks for sharing this recipe. We enjoyed it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OhioBobbi February 25, 2009

This was excellent and extremely easy to make. It's a keeper! I used 3 cloves of garlic because we like the taste. I did follow the suggestion from Mama's Kitchen and took the shrimp out while the sauce reduced. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BigNanc October 14, 2008

Excellent! Very spicy and delicious. Even my husband, who generally dislikes all things pasta, thought this was great--he asked me to keep this in the "make again" file! We used jarred jalapenos, med. frozen shrimp, and lots of garlic. YUM.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhoKnew? August 22, 2007

I have had versions of the recipe in the past. Some were so hot that all one could taste were peppers. This recipe is nicley flavored with the jalapeno and allows all the fresh flavors to come through. I made this using medium sized shrimp, increasing the count, and served it over Cheesy Spaghetti Squash in place of the linguine. Both DH and I thoroughly enjoyed it and this recipe goes into my Then There Were 2 Cookbook. Definately a quick and elegant meal for 2 people.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG March 29, 2007

This is sooo good. I made the olive oil/whole wheat pasta version and it was marvelous. We had fresh roma tomatoes, onions and jalapenos from the garden. This is going to be a regular on the it's late/I'm tired menu.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea August 28, 2006

Wonderful! I was looking for a 'not to tomatoie' recipe to use with some special pasta (Sonaran Spice) that I bought and this was just perfect! I used butter and EVO for sauting, other than that followed the recipe to the "T". Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench July 15, 2006

This was delicious, surpirsingly filling and very satisfying. I did use olive oil (and less of it)instead of the butter and without a problem. Based on other reviews I increased the jalapenos & garlic. I was afraid if I followed the isntructions that the shrimp would be rubbery, so I removed them while letting the sauce simmer and returned them just befor serving. Thank you PanNan for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ June 19, 2006
Shrimp Diablo for Two