12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. Used grated frozen ginger root instead of ground, and used an organic tomato sauce instead of tomatoes. I didn't have to put the sauce in a blender. It was great, DH loved it. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meringue October 06, 2009

I hate to give a 3 star review, but the flavors just didn't really work for me. I followed the recipe exactly other than leaving out the tomatoes (just not a fan of them). I found the sauce a bit grainy and too spicy even though I only used about 1/4 tsp of the red pepper. I also felt like I could taste the yogurt under all the spices, and prefer a curry based with coconut milk or cream. Not bad, just not something that really tempted my taste buds.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 May 03, 2007

Like another reviewer, I found this recipe to be quite grainy. I think it's the two teaspoons of tumeric. That's a lot of tumeric. I'm not really sure WHAT made it grainy but that's my thoughts on it. It wasn't *bad* but it wasn't particularly good. It's the first thing in over year that my boyfriend said "you don't have to make this again."

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie August 27, 2010

Great curry! I added a jalapeno, and just added the raw shrimp into the sauce at the end, rather than cooking them separate. I also added some garam masala to the onions while cooking them. This is a great, quick curry - thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jaudon July 10, 2010

I make a lot of curries and I really thought this was great for a QUICK and low cal/low fat dish! I pretty much made it as is, maybe a little extra garlic and a few spices, and I added frozen peas. I read the other reviews and think it was a little unfair to rate this recipe having left out the tomatoes because they're an essential ingredient...I can see why it must have tasted very yogurty and grainy without them. Follow the recipe and you'll find it blends up into a nice light sauce, as spicey as you wish. (fits perfectly in the magic bullet I might add!) Next time I wouldn't bother pre-cooking the prawns, I would just add the raw prawns into the hot bubbly sauce. Thanks for a quick tasty meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner March 28, 2009

I used this curry recipe, since I had everything on hand. It was very good, but I added a bit more of the non-hot spices. I also added a minced jalepeno (de-ribbed and seeded), just for the green. My roommate who doesn't like spicy foods even liked it. Will definitely make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zelizabeth September 25, 2007

Well, I gave this a 5-star, although my DH only gave it 3-1/2 (he's almost strictly meat & taters kind-a-guy so what does he know?@!?!). I kept the same proportions for the sauce but used only 1 lb. shrimp (I like it saucy). Also, didn't have yogurt so used sour cream (but didn't let it come to a boil later in the recipe). Also added about 1/2 tsp. curry powder per other raters. Used Walla-Walla sweet onions (yum). It turned out delicious. Thanks for submitting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biasi4 August 27, 2006

This was very good! I am not a big fan of seafood but I really enjoyed the recipe. Serve over basmatti rice. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia March 13, 2006

Great recipe! I added about 1/2 tsp curry, and next time I'll reduce the other spices just a bit for my own personal taste. If you like this type of dish, you won't be disappointed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koriander September 20, 2005

This was very good. I did add curry powder and a little more turmeric for my personal tastes, but this was great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheBostonBean June 16, 2005
Shrimp Curry