Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp Creole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp Creole

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2002

      Excellent simple recipe that doesn't take constant watching--perfect for middle-of-the-week. We all enjoyed this simple not-too-spicy dish that was also easy to heat up for my family members that were late for dinner. Unfortunately I was out of both garlic and onions when I made this recipe, so I used garlic salt and dried onions instead--so next time when I make this keeper recipe I will make sure that we have real onions and garlic on hand. Thanks PanNan for posting this keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      this was my first shrimp creole,it turned out very good,my whole family loved it.The only thing i did different was that i added chopped okra,and instead of 2 cans of sauce i did one can of sauce,and one of tomatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      Family just loved it! Great basic creole! I added a can of whole tomatoes and the liquid, a bag of frozen sliced okra, some white wine, fresh thyme and oregano as well as dried. I also added some of my sister's no salt Cajun seasoning to it to spice it up instead of cayenne. I seasoned the raw shrimp with the creole seasoning and sautéed the shrimp in olive oil until just a bit under done. I added the 2lbs of shrimp at the end along with a pound of backfin crab and a pound of jumbo lump crab and about two to three Tbs of butter - stir very carefully so as not to break up the lumps. Heated it up and served it over rice. I put three levels of hot sauce on the table for the heat lovers in my family! A huge hit! Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      We enjoyed this shrimp creole recipe for dinner tonight. It was easy to make and had great flavor. We tried it both with Tabasco and with Crystal Louisiana Hot Pepper Sauce. We preferred it with the Crystal. Thanks for a great recipe! Made for ZWT9 Holy Trinity Challenge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2011

      Have never tried Shrimp Creole before so I did not know what It was supposed to taste. The taste was good though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      I give this recipe a 4 star rating because it is missing something-a roux!! After sauted the veggies ( I used "seasoning blend" from the freezer section, instead of chopping the onions and celery, and I added a few fresh green onions), I made a roux by heating 1/4 c of oil in a large sauce pan. AFTER the oil got hot (at about medium temp), I added 1/4 c flour. Wisking constantly for about 3 minutes (until golden brown but not burnt), I immediately remove from heat and add veggies. I followed the directions after that. AMAZING!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      Wow fantastic taste the sauce is excellent and I served the little bit I had left over with some chicken the next night. Made for ZWT5 For Cooks with Dirty Faces

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Awesome recipe! Easy to make, although I wish I'd stop being lazy and broke out the processor for the chopping. So easy once all the prep is done and very, very tasty. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This was the easiest, most flavorful shrimp creole I have ever created! I had some extra time an hour before dinner so I made the sauce except for the shrimp and let it simmer for the hour then added the shrimp during the final few minutes. It was great! My husband and mother both had seconds and raved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Superb recipe for shrimp creole. Tastes very authentic is not that hard to make. A bit of chopping is required. I substituted one can of stewed tomatoes for one of the cans of tomato sauce. The butter is essential. Thanks for a delicious family meal that reminds me of home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      My family has used a recipe almost identical to this one for years too, and it's fantastic. I've tried making it healthier with olive oil in the past, but I miss that butter flavor. It just makes the dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This is almost exactly how we make ours! Perfect and delicious. The only difference is that I add a couple whole cloves. Glad this gem is on here :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I rate this a #5. It was so easy and took little time to prepare. I did substitute crawfish in place of the shrimp. (left over from a boil) It was enjoyed by all. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Marcia

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2007

      Definitely a keeper - good and easy too. I substituted olive oil for the butter and added a little bit of creole seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      Oh my this is good! And it's quite easy, as promised. I don't know if I messed up the "creoleness" of it, but I didn't have enough celery and peppers so I added a bit of shredded carrot to the mix. I also used diced tomatoes with mild chiles instead of tomato sauce. Otherwise I made it as written and enjoyed it very much! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      Added 1 diced tomatoes and 1 Rotel instead of of cayenne and 2 tomato sauce. Also added cajun seasoning. Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      Very good and easy to make. I cut the recipe in half, made the sauce ahead of time and added the shrimp when I reheated the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      This was wonderful Nan. A reminder of New Orleans; I cut the recipe in half;we really enjoyed it.Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2006

      This was very good! It went together quickly and easily. The only thing I did differently was to add twice as much garlic as the recipe called for. My family loved this. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Stew Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp Creole

    Serving Size: 1 (383 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 272.7
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    29%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 115.5 mg
    38%
    Sodium 1302.0 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 14.5 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites