10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was fantastic! Really delicious, but still very easy to make. I will definitely make it again and again. I did make a few changes, however, based on personal preference... I added a couple big cloves of garlic along with the onions, and mixed in a couple tablespoons of lemon juice at the end. I also reduced the amount of butter and Parmesan cheese by about half (it was still very creamy and flavorful though). But all in all, if I could give more than 5 stars, I would!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbt215 September 03, 2009

OMG! Following another Chet's recommendation, I added 1T lemon juice and 2 cloves of garlic. I also added quite a bit of fresh ground pepper. This was soooo good and filling in small portions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MiaSumitra January 25, 2013

This is to die for! Adding garlic was my only addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinach January 20, 2012

This was awesome! I halved the recipe for just 2 of us. I also made a few changes, I used fresh zucchini because I had it, added a garlic clove. I used sun-dried tomatoes instead of fresh and I added the juice of a whole lemon to the broth. I topped with smoked salmon instead of shrimp. It took a little longer than I anticipated, but I wanted the rice to be done. I also added a bit more water, about a 1/2 a cup. We LOVED it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeidiSue July 14, 2009

Yummy!! I had this at Olive Garden and was excited to find the recipe to try at home. It tasted almost exactly like it did at the restaurant. I think the difference was that I did not use fresh parmesan(did not have any). Next time I will make sure I have it. This was also my first time making risotto. I used all 8 cups of broth and it was perfectly done and creamy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping April 18, 2009

Oh - this is gooooood! I sauteed some garlic along with the onion as we love garlic but other than that followed the recipe to a "T". Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunsh1ne March 26, 2009

This is a winner. It was my very first time making risotto, which I absolutely love, and it came out perfect. I am challenged to find a way to lower the fat and calories.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen nurse March 06, 2009

ive made this recipe off the olive gardens website and it is excellent. good post

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SUPERchef :) March 02, 2009

This was very good, and I do believe this i it tastes the same as the Olive Garden's recipie. There was a bit to much broth... I made this to serve four and only used four cups. My one big problem was that the rice was too aldente. Next time I will increse the cooking time by a bunch. Other than that everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassandraLynne11 September 01, 2008

This was pretty good risotto. 8 cups of vegetable broth was way too much for me though I tossed a bunch of it and still wound up with really super creamy risotto. I also think this recipe could use garlic, and if I make it again I would add garlic and salt at the same time that you add the yellow onion. Also I think it should be noted that the tomatoes are a really good idea for garnish, but I would HIGHLY recomend using roma tomatoes. We used beefsteak tomatoes and the flavor didn't seem right with the risotto. We did really enjoy this though, it was a nice meal on a cool fall day. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I Cook Therefore I Am October 21, 2007
Shrimp & Asparagus Risotto - (The Olive Garden) - Official