Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shrimp and Pasta in a Basil Cream Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shrimp and Pasta in a Basil Cream Sauce

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2011

      I added chicken to this recipe. I used diced tomatoes and onions. I left out the pine nuts too. This recipe has an AWESOME flavor. I had trouble getting it to thicken up, so I made a little bit of a rue with flour and water and it turned out just right. The family loved it and I will definitely make it again. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      This is a delicious and forgiving recipe. I'm allergic to pine nuts so omitted. Only had about 1/3 cup of cream but I substituted with whole milk. Added a pinch of red peppers to the sauce. Delicious. I will definitely make this again. The flavor of the fresh basil really came through especially since they were not overcooked. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2011

      Wow! This is a wonderful dish. I did use half-n-half (to make it not sooo rich) and added some spinach I had leftover but otherwise followed the instructions and will definately make this again. Putting this in my Favorites for 2011. Made for Think Pink Cancer Awareness 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2011

      This is addictive! Has a restaurant flavor, just what I was looking for. I used fat free half and half for mine and a cut up tomato. Made enough for about four people.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      Wonderful flavor to the dish. I also added Spinach and additional Shrimp. I felt the sauce is a bit too heavy for me due to the heavy cream so I wouldn't mind trying this with a lighter cream next time but overall a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2010

      Excellent recipe. Easy to prepare and my entire family loved it. The only change I made was the addition of fresh spinach because the garden is proving to be bountiful this year. Thank you for a nice and easy addition to the regular rotation. I also like how versatile it can be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      I didn't have shallots, so I used onions. No grape tomatoes, so I used canned diced tomatoes. I also added 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. This is a rich and delicious dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I made a few changes and lightened it up a bit. I used whole wheat spaghetti, white wine instead of vermouth, amond milk instead of cream, added a handfull of arugula and about a tablespoon of low fat cream cheese to make the sauce creamy. I left out the pine nuts since my husband doesn't really care for them. Tasted like something you'd get in a restaurant....great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      So good my ex-boyfriend asked me if I'd ever marry him and insisted on paying me for dinner (no, 'dessert' did not come with!). Made a few changes: whole wheat pasta, toasted the pine nuts, added spinach (whenever i can sneak it in I do), etc. Very delicious. I impressed even myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      Very tasty pasta dish! The flavour of the vermouth really comes through nicely in the sauce. I replaced the heavy cream with extra light thickened cream to cut the fat and served over gluten-free spaghetti. Yum! Thanks raisdbywolvz! Made for PAC Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2007

      This was a great dish. I felt like a great Italian restaurant chef! My family was nuts about it. But, the recipe calls for way too little shrimp. I used 1.2lb of large (#20) shrimp and it was just right. I may have added too much dry wine (vermouth) so the recipe was a little bitter. To offset, I sprinkled about two tablespoons of sugar over the final mixture. Lastly, make sure you let the final mixture cooks on low for quite a while. It takes a lot of time to get the sauce to thicken the way it needs to be. Lastly, I might have added a few scallops if I had them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shrimp and Pasta in a Basil Cream Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 979.7
     
    Calories from Fat 570
    58%
    Total Fat 63.4 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 32.6 g
    163%
    Cholesterol 273.4 mg
    91%
    Sodium 535.7 mg
    22%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.1 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 24.8 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes