10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am sorry....I am going to be "odd man out" With all the great reviews, I was expecting something fantastic. It is exactly what it is, cream cheese melted into canned soup, with corn and shrimp! Instead of the canned corn, I used up some frozen corn I had put down from the summer....otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. It tasted OK and I was able to use up some cream cheese, shrimp and the corn....so that was a plus. Would I do it again? Probably not!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl February 01, 2010

This was fantastic. I used fat free cream cheese, low fat sweet cream butter and fat free half and half — and it still came out creamy and rich. Next time I visit my mom's house, this one's coming with me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pounce March 19, 2007

Good, i did saute onions and garlic in some of the butter and omitted the can of whole kernel corn. thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gabbysowner February 19, 2007

Decadent and delicious, with just a few tweaks. Reduced-fat cream cheese and low-fat milk (the full 2 cups) still leave it plenty creamy and thick and reduce the calorie count a bit! It also needed a touch of salt, and I found that a few shakes of hot sauce were a great contrast to the sweet creaminess of the soup. Good stuff! Thanks, Carol M.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifermagnone February 01, 2007

Great! I had some leftover shrimp (very unusual) and decided to make this recipe. It went over real well with the family. I was hesitant cooking with canned soup, because I normally don't like too, but really this was great and you could not tell that canned soup was used. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ridgely January 03, 2007

This was great! Creamy and flavorful. I substituted 1 can of cream of shrimp soup for 1 of the cans of potato soup.MMMMMM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaritalady February 02, 2006

I made this recipe for my family for Christmas, and it was a hit. I will definatly be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickiegon December 26, 2005

Delicious! I added real bacon bits, drippings and 1/2 yellow onions. There were no seconds for anyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hcm123 December 01, 2004

My DH's new favorite soup!! Great to throw together after work on a cold day. The leftovers are even better. I even experimented with different flavors of cream of potato soups. I am keeping the ingredients always on hand!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joelle2:13 August 22, 2004

Absolutely wonderful!!! This is very easy to prepare and we even added crabmeat to it. Creamy and dreamy! I would suggest starting adding a little seafood seasoning at a time and adding to taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kikimony April 08, 2003
Shrimp and Cream Cheese Soup