10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was ready to love this salad. It was easy to make but I found it bitter. Don't know why.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenT July 05, 2009

This was a nice quick salad. I as out of ALL nuts, so I ended up using a little seedless cucumber and sliced scallions for the missing "crunch". I loved the all prep in one bowl of dressing and salad. A definite PLUS!! It is garlicy, so if anyone is a little squeamish you may want to avoid this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. June 11, 2009

This was WONDERFUL! Probably my favorite vinaigrette now. I'm a HUGE garlic lover so I upped the garlic to 8 cloves and increased the salt a tad to offset the amount of garlic. I never got around to toasting my pine nuts and I used a kalamata olive oil from Trader Joe's for my olive oil. SUPER RICH and delicious! Very flavor packed. This will be my new "go to" every day dressing. We LOVED this one. Thank you so much for sharing this gem!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl November 08, 2008

Wonderful vinaigrette...so simple to put together. Next time, I will try using roasted garlic. If you like garlic, you will enjoy this one

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl September 09, 2008

Delicious & simple. I halved the recipe, and used all the ingredients except pine nuts (which I just don't have on hand). The flavor is light & fresh, and DH & I really enjoyed it with a simple meal of pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal August 06, 2007

Easy and yummy. Love the shredded texture of the romaine. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjcush July 18, 2007

I love this recipe....healthy...easy and so quick!! served it when we had company and they had seconds! It was GONE! I will be making it again......it is good! Thanks for posting~Kristi

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billysarmylife October 12, 2005

Quick, easy, and, best of all ~ excellent! I served it with grilled steaks. I made exactly as posted and even my DH ate several servings. I'm sure I'll be using your recipe often. Thanks for posting a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook April 04, 2005

Very tasty, simple and a little different. I love the mild garlic flavor in the dressing that won't overpower the rest of your meal. The shredded romaine works really well and is a nice change from a boring old tossed salad. I'd use a large head of romaine, there's a lot of dressing to toss around. Thanks, crispychick, we all enjoyed this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama January 07, 2005

Simple and good is an understatement....this salad is terrific. I was looking for something quick and easy to go with our steaks tonight and stumbled across this one. I'd give it 20 stars if I could. It gets 5 right off the bat for ease and 15 for the wonderful flavor; the pine nuts and Parmesan are a must in this and the dressing is wonderful. I gave the rest of my steak to my husband and just ate the salad. Thanks crispychick for posting this outstanding recipe, it's one of the best I've found here on Zaar :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude December 10, 2004
Shredded Romaine With Garlic Vinaigrette