69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last Friday and we really enjoyed it. It smelled wonderful as it was cooking. I thought it might be too salty but it wasn't. Since there's only the 2 of us, I froze the remaining for another meal. My husband often orders French dip if it's on the menu and he said he liked this better since the meat was so tender and easy to eat. I have no idea what kimmelwick rolls are so just used soft French rolls. I served it with cole slaw and a fruit salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chattes March 03, 2008

Yum, Yum, Yum. There is nothing wrong with this one!!! It is outstanding. The Aujus is perfect. You will be in leftover heaven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~.~.Glitter&Tequila.~.~ February 10, 2008

My family loved these sandwiches. I melted provolone cheese on top of the sandwiches under the broiler for just a couple of minutes. Everyone liked it, which is a rare thing at my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny Frenny January 25, 2008

Delicious!!!!!!!! I used two small venison roasts and cooked it overnight. This is absolutely wonderful! DH ate it for lunch today and took some to work tonight. Kids loved it and ate it twice today! We will definitely fix this again soon!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom January 21, 2008

I made this a couple of times (but keep forgetting to leave a review) and I was going crazy because I couldn't find the recipe again, but I found it! This is so simple and easy to put together, and sooooooo good, better than any sub/sandwich you'd get from a restaurant!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um ahmad al gimzawie January 04, 2008

My goodness...this is so good!! I used my roaster and did up 3 chuck roasts and shredded for freezer meals. The broth on these is heavenly. Will definately make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KLC October 22, 2007

I had some leftover roast beef in the refrigerator and my BF has been begging for French Dips... so I didn't start off with the chuck roast but instead just shredded up my leftover beef and slowly simmered it in the Au Jus... The Au Jus was just delicious...salty beefy goodness!!! I then sliced some bolillio rolls in half, layered on the beef, topped it off with some baby swiss ( personal taste for BF) then placed it under the broiler for just a couple of minutes to melt the cheese. It crisps up the rolls just a little for just a hint of crunch... This was a delicious recipe for a quick weeknight meal. Thanks for a delicious Au Jus!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl August 02, 2007

Good Flavor. Great Au Jus. But meat was tough. I dont know what went wrong. I followed the recipe to the T. Perhaps next time will be more moist. I will use again and again though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~~**Amanda**~~ July 25, 2007

Wow....this recipe is delicious. I love french dip, but was always leary of trying to make it myself. This recipe is simple and very good. I sauteed up some peppers,onion and mushrooms to add to this if each person wanted. We loved this thank you so much for sharing this with us.....Stephanie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 05, 2007

Delicious and very easy to make, what could be better? I followed the recipe as stated. This is going into my "Favorites" cookbook and I will definitely make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Berteig March 07, 2007
Shredded French-Dip Sandwiches