69 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Reviewed 21Oct09: This was so easy and SO GOOD. I used a rump roast instead of a chuck roast, but otherwise made as directed. Without dipping the sandwich in the Au jus it was just ok, but dipped in it was just awesome. Great supper! Excited to have the leftovers tomorrow! Thanks for posting :) Updated 10Mar10: I made these delicious sandwiches again tonight, and sauteed some mushrooms and onions to top theses off with -- EXCELLENT. It took the sandwiches to the next level. (I did lose some of my toppings when I was dipping the sandwich, but I just fished them out with my fork). :)

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelby Jo May 10, 2010

WONDERFUL! My picky 11 yr old daughter who hates meat loved it! Finally, a meal everyone in the family loves! I made this with 4 lbs sirloin tip roast (on sale). I doubled the soup amounts because my son loves aujus.. I forgot the beef bouillon at the store but found aujus seasoning packet at home so I added that instead. Like other reviewers, I was concerned about the salt level but found it was not salty at all! I cooked it for 9 hours on high because of the doubled aujus and it turned out perfect! Next time I'll follow another reviewers suggestion and have some sauteed onions, mushroom and maybe green peppers to top the sandwiches.
FANTASTIC!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elvis's mom September 08, 2010

LOVED this beef! Some of the family are watching their carbs so they just ate the meat piled with lettuce and cheese. For the rest of us I toasted the rolls with a slice of provalone cheese and then made the sandwich. The au jus was SO good and luckily I doubled the au jus part of the recipe. I started the roast from a frozen state the night before and then cooked it all the next day. It was fall apart tender. After we ate I strained the rest of the au jus and froze it as it is also delicious beef broth. I am actually going to try this with a pork roast too.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks November 21, 2010

Loved the flavor! I used a sirloin tip roast, 1 can golden mushroom soup, 1 envelope of Lipton onion soup mix and 1 can of beef broth. Cooked about 7 hrs on low then sliced for sandwiches. Superb!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BMBOO Pearl May 22, 2010

Absolutely delicious beef. I used a beef chuck roast that I trimmed well of fat. After trimming fat, I probably had 3 pounds of beef left which was perfectly done after cooking in my slow cooker for 5 hours on low. The house smells awsome while this is cooking too. I will have more than enough juices left over following the meal to freeze and use again with another beef roast. I won't have to twist anybody's arms in this family to have these wonderful sandwiches on the table sometime soon. Thanks Micki49 for sharing your wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie March 01, 2011

The meat was way to dry for me. Taste was good and will consider using the sauce recipe for sliced roast beef from deli to make dips but won't try with a roast again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Lunchlady August 24, 2010

Turned out really good! Somehow my can of beef consomme didn't make it home from the store, so I didn't include that. Served with potatoes & a salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Bug July 12, 2010

Perfect, and so easy. Just throw it all in the crockpot, and you have a heavenly meal. The flavor was rich and it made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. A new favorite with my husband and I.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Atherine June 29, 2010

Excellent flavor! I used a jar of beef gravy in place of the beef consomme since that is all I had. Overall, it was a bit salty, but still very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas December 24, 2009

Excellent! I browned my chuck roast first in olive oil. I seasoned it with pepper and Emeril's Essence. I used all the soups called for and the granules. I added minced garlic, sliced onions, Worcestershire sauce,lots of black pepper, pinch of sugar and a couple bay leaves. So tasty! I served it on toasted hoagies and melted provolone on them. We had these for 2 nights, once with french fries and once with onion rings. There isn't a crumb left! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bad kitty 1116 November 11, 2009
Shredded French-Dip Sandwiches