Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shredded French-Dip Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shredded French-Dip Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    68 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 68

    Sort by:

    • on May 10, 2010

      Reviewed 21Oct09: This was so easy and SO GOOD. I used a rump roast instead of a chuck roast, but otherwise made as directed. Without dipping the sandwich in the Au jus it was just ok, but dipped in it was just awesome. Great supper! Excited to have the leftovers tomorrow! Thanks for posting :) Updated 10Mar10: I made these delicious sandwiches again tonight, and sauteed some mushrooms and onions to top theses off with -- EXCELLENT. It took the sandwiches to the next level. (I did lose some of my toppings when I was dipping the sandwich, but I just fished them out with my fork). :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      WONDERFUL! My picky 11 yr old daughter who hates meat loved it! Finally, a meal everyone in the family loves! I made this with 4 lbs sirloin tip roast (on sale). I doubled the soup amounts because my son loves aujus.. I forgot the beef bouillon at the store but found aujus seasoning packet at home so I added that instead. Like other reviewers, I was concerned about the salt level but found it was not salty at all! I cooked it for 9 hours on high because of the doubled aujus and it turned out perfect! Next time I'll follow another reviewers suggestion and have some sauteed onions, mushroom and maybe green peppers to top the sandwiches.
      FANTASTIC!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      LOVED this beef! Some of the family are watching their carbs so they just ate the meat piled with lettuce and cheese. For the rest of us I toasted the rolls with a slice of provalone cheese and then made the sandwich. The au jus was SO good and luckily I doubled the au jus part of the recipe. I started the roast from a frozen state the night before and then cooked it all the next day. It was fall apart tender. After we ate I strained the rest of the au jus and froze it as it is also delicious beef broth. I am actually going to try this with a pork roast too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      Loved the flavor! I used a sirloin tip roast, 1 can golden mushroom soup, 1 envelope of Lipton onion soup mix and 1 can of beef broth. Cooked about 7 hrs on low then sliced for sandwiches. Superb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Absolutely delicious beef. I used a beef chuck roast that I trimmed well of fat. After trimming fat, I probably had 3 pounds of beef left which was perfectly done after cooking in my slow cooker for 5 hours on low. The house smells awsome while this is cooking too. I will have more than enough juices left over following the meal to freeze and use again with another beef roast. I won't have to twist anybody's arms in this family to have these wonderful sandwiches on the table sometime soon. Thanks Micki49 for sharing your wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      The meat was way to dry for me. Taste was good and will consider using the sauce recipe for sliced roast beef from deli to make dips but won't try with a roast again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Turned out really good! Somehow my can of beef consomme didn't make it home from the store, so I didn't include that. Served with potatoes & a salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      Perfect, and so easy. Just throw it all in the crockpot, and you have a heavenly meal. The flavor was rich and it made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. A new favorite with my husband and I.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Excellent flavor! I used a jar of beef gravy in place of the beef consomme since that is all I had. Overall, it was a bit salty, but still very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Excellent! I browned my chuck roast first in olive oil. I seasoned it with pepper and Emeril's Essence. I used all the soups called for and the granules. I added minced garlic, sliced onions, Worcestershire sauce,lots of black pepper, pinch of sugar and a couple bay leaves. So tasty! I served it on toasted hoagies and melted provolone on them. We had these for 2 nights, once with french fries and once with onion rings. There isn't a crumb left! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Very, very good! So much flavor! I have to admit, I read the recipe and though it was going to be WAY too salty because of the undiluted condensed soups, but it wasn't at all. Will make again, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Our family consumes this! I've also made it for our freezer meal group and they have requested it again. Thanks sooo much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Restaurant quality French-dip sandwiches! I did not have beef bouillon, so I used chicken--no worries, it turned out perfect!! This recipe is the SUPREME RULER OF THE UNIVERSE OF FRENCH DIP SANDWICH RECIPES. AWEEEEEESSSSSOOOMMMMMMMMME!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      These are fantastic! I was worried about saltiness but the spice level was perfect. Sooo easy too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Excellent, excellent, excellent! This was a big hit with my husband. He loved it. It is so simple and has so much flavor. I do recommend you splurge and get some good crusty rolls. Enjoy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      I made these for a get together we had yesterday. Everyone raved and raved! The recipe is very similar to one I used to make, but lost. If you want to change it up a bit, use a rump roast in place of the chuck and add worcestershire sauce and thyme. Thank you for posting and giving me back a family favorite.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      We loved this! Served with macaroni salad. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2011

      Amazing, yummy, Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      I'm a big French dip fan. I get them at restaurants frequently. The aujus was excellent. We used chuck roast and it came out a little dry. We're not cooks so I don't know whether it was our fault or the cut of meat. But, all in all it was tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shredded French-Dip Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (345 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 580.1
     
    Calories from Fat 160
    27%
    Total Fat 17.8 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 149.7 mg
    49%
    Sodium 1765.6 mg
    73%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.4 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 59.7 g
    119%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites