12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is recipe is sooo easy and so good! I also add jalapenos. The taco seasoning (if buying) that works best is Ortega Taco Jalepeno & Onion. It hits the spot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agodek13 August 20, 2009

I had asked my boyfriend to shread the meat before I got home, so that I could get ready for the party we were going to. He of course had to try it, LOVED IT, and then decided we hadn't made enough because everyone would want double helpings. He then made an entire second batch himself. So, not only was it fantastic, but my boyfriend could even make it on his own. Thanks for suggesting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
liane_blocker December 31, 2008

I really wanted to give this a lot more stars. We did like the tacos. The chicken was so very tender & you can't go wrong with any of the ingredients. I buy pepproncinis by the gallon jar at Costco & usually just eat them raw, but I think there might have been some other flavor missing. I halved the recipe due to the amount of chicken I had & how many I was feeding but other than that, prepared as directed. We'll try this one again but with some tweaking for our family's tastes. Thanks for sharing, Theresa!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** January 29, 2008

Super good! I'll be using this recipe for chicken tacos from now on. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 21, 2012

This is very good. It's a nice change from the salsa type shredded chicken that I love too. I used the hot and spicy taco packet and it was perfect. I made enchilada's with mine and used green enchilada sauce. Topped with cilantro, chopped tomatoes and sour cream. We loved the green sauce with this chicken. Thanks for a sharing a different and delicious shredded chicken recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrusk November 07, 2010

This recipe was fabulous. Fast/easy and excellent taste. I truly believe it is tastier than some restaurant's recipes. I used the filling for chimichangas. I used Fat Free chipotle & Chili pepper tortillas, filled them, and fried them in peanut oil in a black iron skillet. I then topped the chimichangs with the cheese, melted it in a microwave for one minute, and then added the lettuce, tomato and sour cream. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cschlichting_1035361 September 11, 2010

I give this five stars. It's so easy to prepare and I made it for a baby shower for 13 people. I doubled the recipe and it was more than enough. I think that I put less than two cups of the peppers so it was not spicy at all! Enjoyed by all!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mojo28629 April 30, 2008

i did this recipe on the stove with leftover chicken. i shredded the chix, sauteed the onions, and added the ingredients and simmered for about an hour. my fiance LOVED them, he is soo picky and usually eats like a bird, but he ate 3 tacos! we served it with homemade salsa as well which added a nice touch. i am going to try this with shredded pork or beef next time !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorynNLia April 05, 2007

The pepperoncini peppers and brine ruin the entire thing. Makes it uneatable!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nelson9937955 March 04, 2006

This recipe rocks, so easy and the flavor is amazing. Even better the next day. (and the next day!) My kids wouldn't eat it, was too spicy but I will definitely make it again and freeze for myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twizzlers November 21, 2005
Shredded Chicken Tacos