Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos... Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos...

    Average Rating:

    103 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 103

    Sort by:

    • on June 30, 2009

      WOW, Can't get any closer to the real thing then this receipe... We made it and my husband said to me, "That is way to much chicken, it will nver get eaten" HA!!!!! Gone in two days..... Thank you so much, but I have to ask what is that in the picture? A burrito... pass this one on and you will be thankful... Lynn, Simi Valley, CA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      Love this. My mom had a similar recipe with a little chopped celery and carrots and a dash of vinegar with no tomato sauce. This was sooo much like it..LOVE IT!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I used this filling for enchiladas and they were great. I topped it with cheese sauce and baked. Very quick and easy as I had roasted chicken to use up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I made this and DH reviewed as I hate veggies and the flavor of cumin. :) Everything was exactly as the recipe stated except I omitted the tablespoon of tomato sauce because I am lazy. DH said this was as good if not better than the local Mexican restaurant. His reaction to the sample taste was "OH WOW!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      With the exception of adding about 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock at the second stage, I followed this recipe to th letter. This recipe turned out great and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great basic recipe for a chicken filling for a Mexican dish, or just looking for the base for a recipe of their own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      Wonderfully flavorful, but not overpowering. Because I chose to boil 2 whole chickens, it was a rather time consuming project, but the end results were worth it. My meat was extremely tender and juicy, I have plenty for my upcoming party and will freeze smaller zipper bags of the rest for easy future dinners. Plus, I have a gallon of great (actually healthy) chicken stock ready to go in the freezer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Thank you for posting this EXCELLENT recipe! It is so authentic and flavorful! I have used this as filling for enchiladas, quesadillas, and tacos. It was terrific!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I had only mad it through step #3 when my DS discovered the cooled, shredded chicken sitting in a bowl. I never got to finish the recipe as he ate all of the chicken! On just the base chicken alone, this gets 4 stars! I'm making the recipe again today and will re-rate if I'm successful in completing it without interruption.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

      This was exactly the kind of chicken recipe that I was looking for! It does taste like the chicken they serve in the chimichangas at my favorite mexican restaurant! I put this chicken in the Oven-fried chimichangas (Oven-Fried Chicken Chimichangas) and it was wonderful! I also added a chopped jalapeno to give it a little kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      I made this last weekend and really liked it. I doubled the recipe and I think I will use the second half when I make Chicken Tortilla Soup sometime soon. I love it when I have something nice like this in the freezer that cuts my time in the kitchen during the week. Thanks for posting this delicious recipe! Debby

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I put this together yesterday and reserved 2 cups to make chicken enchiladas tonight, with my home made tomatillo sauce. Froze the rest of it in 2 cup batches. Perhaps I'm reviewing early since I haven't made the enchiladas yet--but OMG, the chicken is fantastic! I also added a 4 oz can of green chilis, because we love them. Looking forward to using the chicken in burritos, etc. Thanks for the great recipe JT's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I made this a couple times now. Everyone asks me for the recipe and I'm very happy that it was shared! Thanks so much:) !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      Wow, this was absolutely incredible. I made this for chicken burritos and served with guacamole. We stuffed ourselves silly. My boyfriend ate three very large burritos which I think counts as a good review. This will become a regular dinner. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      Loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Delicious! I just made this recipe for my boyfriend and myself for dinner tonight and we had to force ourselves to stop eating. This recipe is definitely a stand-out and very authentic-tasting. It's incredibly easy to make and virtually impossible to mess up. It's easy to adjust the amounts of ingredients to your own tastes. I didn't have a jar of tomato sauce on hand, so instead I chopped up a medium/large tomato and heated it in a small sauce pan along with some olive oil, salt, and a dash of ground chili pepper. I used somewhere between 1/2 and 1 cup of tomato sauce, which is more than what the recipe calls for. I also used a bit more cilantro, a bit more garlic, as well as some green chili pepper in addition to the bell pepper. I will definitely be making this recipe again. My boyfriend is still raving about it 2 hours after dinner, and has already requested that I make it again. We both love Mexican food, and because we live in Japan, authentic Mexican is hard to come by. I can't wait to make this dish for my friends! Thank you, JT's Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Excellent and Easy!! Increased the amounts of veggies, garlic and tomato sauce and added some regular chili powder and chipotle chili powder! It was wonderful! Next time I will make a double batch and freeze half for quick dinners. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      Very simple recipe, yet yummy. I followed exactly, except I added 1 more clove of garlic, and added 2 tbs. of pico de gallo to the tomato sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      I made my taco filling last night and I really have to admit that I didn't follow the recipe to the letter ingredient wise but I LOVE the method of this recipe. I boiled the chicken with the onion, garlic (OK a few more) salt and water. To that I added about 8 whole peppercorns and 1/2 a can of Herdez Salsa Verde. I again followed through the shredding. I melted the butter added the diced tomato, marjoram, pepper, a bit of salt and the reserved broth along with a few more tablespoonsful of the Salsa Verde. I loved how moist and tender the meat was without being soggy. The area of NM that I was raised in had two schools of Mexican cooking, the cumin people and the no cumin people. I'm of the no cumin persuasion but this was still ridiculously good and very versatile. I'll double and freeze next time I make this. I'll also try it with the veggies minus the cumin:) Thanks for such a great recipe and method of preparation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Made this about 2 weeks ago for chicken quesadillas. We LOVED it! Super tasty and tender. I would say it's very close to restaurant quality, if not better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      This is a fantastic recipe! Even my husband (who normally doesn't like Mexican food) couldn't stop raving! I tried the chicken in enchiladas and tacos, but I felt that the red sauce in the enchiladas covered up how good the chicken tasted. So I would recommend doing hard/soft tacos and using shredded gouda on top (yes I said gouda, just try it, it's delicious!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos...

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.4
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    44%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 39.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1149.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites