107 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I recently made this for my sons graduation party. It was fantastic. Everyone loved it.My grown and married kids were arguing over who was going to take it home. It freezes really well and I put it in a crock pot to reheat back up and it was still really moist. I used all chicken broth and no water when i cooked it the first time in the crock. Delicious!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gospelannie June 25, 2013

We multiplied this recipe by using 30lb. of shredded chicken breasts. We cooked for 200 people, it complemented other items on the menu. It got rave reviews from everyone who tried it. Absolutely one of my new , favorites. Will keep this one in the file for a long time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
careynf_7360872 May 09, 2013

Made this for a crowd and it was a huge hit with everyone including the kids!! Only change I made was to cook the chicken in the crock pot. Then I followed the recipe as written. I will be making this again. Thanks JT's Mom this is a keeper

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Lucky February 11, 2013

Very yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flychick423 January 29, 2013

Wunnerful, wunnerful, wunnerful!

Though I used the recipe more as a guide. I used boneless, skinless thigh meat, (breast leaves me wanting chicken and moisture) also I left out the butter and used a quarter cup of the stock to sweat and soften the veggies. I also added a small can of diced mild green chiles and two teaspoons of crushed red pepper.

Stuffed a couple of tortillas, used the juice from the final product and some corn starch to make a thickened "enchilada" type sauce, poured it over the tortillas, some shredded cheese and baked for half an hour. HEAVEN!

Oh yeah, to stretch and fill, (I'm Weight Watcher points conscious) I added 2 cups, coarsely chopped mushrooms, with the tomatoes, peppers and seasonings... no one but me knew, and the entree was a smash success!

This shredded chicken is, at least, as good as I've had at Senor Ric's. (Aurora, CO) It lost a star because I had some in Cozumel that edged it out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CabbyZ January 15, 2013

This is our new taco recipe!! Made this tonight instead of our usual by kittencal. The family has voted and this one gets 5 stars!! Made it exactly as written except left out the cilantro because I didn't have any on hand. Even my two year old enjoyed this thoroughly, at every single bite and that has never happened! Thank you JT"sMom :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saucey Chef January 02, 2013

It was hit with my husband, made it tostadas style add the chicken then beans with Spanish sour cream and Spanish (seco) cheese with salsa he ate 5 tostadas :0) even my four year old son loved it! Thank you!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chesonis December 20, 2012

One of the best chicken recipes for tacos!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
apcalnan November 03, 2012

I used a whole chicken and it was G.R.E.A.T. Used it in enchiladas, on salad and in chicken tacos and it was a tasty hit. Thanks for the great "different" way of cooking a whole chicken :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julikoz October 19, 2012

This recipe is amazing!! I made it and everyone love it.. seriously even the kids wanted more. Im making it again for my cousing bday party and i printed the recipe to pass it along because i know people will ask for the recipe. thank you for posting this recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
priscilla2012 May 25, 2012
Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos...