107 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was great! I actually ended up using the crockpot and had to modify it a bit because of that. I threw in 4 completely frozen chicken breasts, a can of petite diced tomato, one small can of tomato sauce, and half a cup of chicken broth. I cooked it for 6 hours and it shredded easily but next time I will cook it on the 8 hour setting so it cooks a little slower and infuses the flavour more. The chicken was delicious and moist and the sauce was out of this world! I made tacos with soft corn tortillas, guac, shredded cheese and sour cream with some Mexican rice. Amazing! thanks for the recipe I will definitely be making this again

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebellemichelle December 29, 2010

A miracle happened with my adaptation of this recipe. <br/>I had four day old cooked chicken I did not want to throw out, but afraid to eat as was. I wanted to cook it again, long and slow to rescue it for another meal.<br/>So, I came across this recipe, doubting it would resuscitate the chicken to a much enjoyed state, but unwilling to throw out the chicken.<br/>Here's what happened: I had fresh tomatoes, Ancho peppers and Salsa peppers (hot) from the garden (last gasp of Summer). I chopped those along with the garlic and onion in recipe. I was too lazy to chop cilantro (which I love but had).<br/>I threw all this into a heavy cast iron skillet along with the cumin, marjoram, pepper and chicken. (Did not add any butter, water, broth, salt or tomato sauce.) Put burner on low, covered skillet, poured a glass of wine and watched TV news, let it cook down about an hour.<br/>Located some flour tortillas, rubbed a few with drop of olive oil both sides, toasted in another cast iron skillet set on low burner, toasting both sides. When crisp, put a sprinkle of Mexican blend cheese on top to melt, served up the chicken mixture, crisp tortilla on top (!), heated some canned green enchilada sauce to go over tortilla, garnished with sour cream and some raw, chopped onion.<br/>OMG This was the lazy person's chimichanga!<br/>Bonus was low fat, inexpensive, and absolutely delicious.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jdthdavies October 21, 2013

I love this recipe, it makes it easier when craving a local restaurants chimichanga, and we can't make it out. I never have the green pepper or tomato on hand so I use canned diced tomatoes and my family loves it. Thanks for the great addition to my mexican food cravings that I can now satisfy with more than ground beef tacos.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pro home chef August 25, 2010

YOWZA! This is amazing stuff. So much flavor and so easy! I did the first part (until the shredding) in the crockpot. The whole house smelled amazing...the chicken was very tender and juicy and easy to shred; the next steps were quick and easy. The chicken tastes better than the shredded chicken at our favorite local Mexican restaurant so this was a real find. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe...love, love, love this one!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious May 15, 2011

The best chicken for enchiladas! I do alter the recipe slightly, to meet our taste (jalepenos instead of bell pepper, chicken stock instead of water, more garlic and less salt). Thanks for this great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss ErinAnn November 09, 2012

Great recipe, freezes perfectly. I made a whole chicken in the crock pot, then shredded it, and it made the recipe even better.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ddonahue99 November 17, 2009

This was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! We LOVED it!! I totally should have doubled the recipe because this went so fast! Because I have picky eaters who won't touch something if they see a veggie, after I sauted the seasonings in butter, I placed it all in a small blender I have and blended everything before I added the chicken, tomato sauce and broth. We were all raving about how delicious this was! My picky eaters devoured it (never realizing there were veggies)!! It was very VERY easy to make! Definately adding to our recipe list! Simply outstanding!! Wish we could give more than 5 stars! I can't believe no one reviewed this yet!! Thank you JT'sMom so much for posting this delicious mixture!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StarMom3 January 29, 2007

There is no need for all of the salt listed for this recipe. I make this chicken on a regular basis with no salt, using real spices. There is over 11,000 mg of sodium for the 10 servings this recipe makes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christie R. October 20, 2013

I made this exactly as written except I substituted oregano for marjoram and it was great! Very moist and flavorful. I loved the fact that this recipe gets its flavor from fresh vegetables and wasn't overly salty.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awestevez December 13, 2011

I need 10 stars for this. SUPER duper easy and gosh the flavors are out of this world! First time ever making chicken tacos. Hubby had 6! Just amazing!! Made exactly as written, fresh tomatoes out of the garden (used 2 roma style to equal 1 regular). This is going to now be a frequent dish in my rotation. Thanks for one awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ August 15, 2011
Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos...