Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos... Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos...

    Average Rating:

    102 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 102

    Sort by:

    • on December 29, 2010

      This was great! I actually ended up using the crockpot and had to modify it a bit because of that. I threw in 4 completely frozen chicken breasts, a can of petite diced tomato, one small can of tomato sauce, and half a cup of chicken broth. I cooked it for 6 hours and it shredded easily but next time I will cook it on the 8 hour setting so it cooks a little slower and infuses the flavour more. The chicken was delicious and moist and the sauce was out of this world! I made tacos with soft corn tortillas, guac, shredded cheese and sour cream with some Mexican rice. Amazing! thanks for the recipe I will definitely be making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      A miracle happened with my adaptation of this recipe. <br/>I had four day old cooked chicken I did not want to throw out, but afraid to eat as was. I wanted to cook it again, long and slow to rescue it for another meal.<br/>So, I came across this recipe, doubting it would resuscitate the chicken to a much enjoyed state, but unwilling to throw out the chicken.<br/>Here's what happened: I had fresh tomatoes, Ancho peppers and Salsa peppers (hot) from the garden (last gasp of Summer). I chopped those along with the garlic and onion in recipe. I was too lazy to chop cilantro (which I love but had).<br/>I threw all this into a heavy cast iron skillet along with the cumin, marjoram, pepper and chicken. (Did not add any butter, water, broth, salt or tomato sauce.) Put burner on low, covered skillet, poured a glass of wine and watched TV news, let it cook down about an hour.<br/>Located some flour tortillas, rubbed a few with drop of olive oil both sides, toasted in another cast iron skillet set on low burner, toasting both sides. When crisp, put a sprinkle of Mexican blend cheese on top to melt, served up the chicken mixture, crisp tortilla on top (!), heated some canned green enchilada sauce to go over tortilla, garnished with sour cream and some raw, chopped onion.<br/>OMG This was the lazy person's chimichanga!<br/>Bonus was low fat, inexpensive, and absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      I love this recipe, it makes it easier when craving a local restaurants chimichanga, and we can't make it out. I never have the green pepper or tomato on hand so I use canned diced tomatoes and my family loves it. Thanks for the great addition to my mexican food cravings that I can now satisfy with more than ground beef tacos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      YOWZA! This is amazing stuff. So much flavor and so easy! I did the first part (until the shredding) in the crockpot. The whole house smelled amazing...the chicken was very tender and juicy and easy to shred; the next steps were quick and easy. The chicken tastes better than the shredded chicken at our favorite local Mexican restaurant so this was a real find. Thanks for sharing this fabulous recipe...love, love, love this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Great recipe, freezes perfectly. I made a whole chicken in the crock pot, then shredded it, and it made the recipe even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      This was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!! We LOVED it!! I totally should have doubled the recipe because this went so fast! Because I have picky eaters who won't touch something if they see a veggie, after I sauted the seasonings in butter, I placed it all in a small blender I have and blended everything before I added the chicken, tomato sauce and broth. We were all raving about how delicious this was! My picky eaters devoured it (never realizing there were veggies)!! It was very VERY easy to make! Definately adding to our recipe list! Simply outstanding!! Wish we could give more than 5 stars! I can't believe no one reviewed this yet!! Thank you JT'sMom so much for posting this delicious mixture!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      The best chicken for enchiladas! I do alter the recipe slightly, to meet our taste (jalepenos instead of bell pepper, chicken stock instead of water, more garlic and less salt). Thanks for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2011

      I made this exactly as written except I substituted oregano for marjoram and it was great! Very moist and flavorful. I loved the fact that this recipe gets its flavor from fresh vegetables and wasn't overly salty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2011

      I need 10 stars for this. SUPER duper easy and gosh the flavors are out of this world! First time ever making chicken tacos. Hubby had 6! Just amazing!! Made exactly as written, fresh tomatoes out of the garden (used 2 roma style to equal 1 regular). This is going to now be a frequent dish in my rotation. Thanks for one awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      Wonderful recipe. I too utilized the crock-pot for the initial steps as some of the other raters have said. I couldn't find boneless chicken with skin. Since the recipe doesn't say, I assumed skin on for the potential added flavor going into the broth. So I did use 3 rather large chicken breast halves with bone. I also left out the cilantro as I don't care for cilantro and had forgotten the fresh tomato at the store so substituted canned diced tomato. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as listed and, really, it was wonderful. I served it as filling for tacos with some homemade corn tortillas, taco sauce, lettuce and crumbled queso fresco and it was really nice. I had my parents over and it made for a lovely dinner. I had leftovers for lunch today and I think the chicken was even better today. I'll have to try it in some enchiladas and thank you for the comment about freezing well. I freeze a lot of my meals for easy access and it's always nice when a poster gives a heads up on whether the dish will take well to that process. So, wonderful recipe, thank you for sharing! :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      Made this and froze some. Used with Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas Simply Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas - fantastic! Wonderful flavor to be used in any Mexican recipe calling for chicken!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2014

      Turned out great in the slow cooker, just put everything in and cooked for 7 hours best, I used split breast on the bone I'm not sure if that added to the flavor but it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      We love this recipe, I have made it several times and I wouldn't change a thing! When I make this I also make Mexican Rice, Mexican Rice for a side and make enchiladas with the filling. Along with all the toppings cheese, salsa, guacamole, sour cream mmmmmmm! One excellent meal! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      There is no need for all of the salt listed for this recipe. I make this chicken on a regular basis with no salt, using real spices. There is over 11,000 mg of sodium for the 10 servings this recipe makes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Kind of blah. It would need more spices and after following directions as stated, the chicken needed much more tendering up before it was shreddable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2013

      I recently made this for my sons graduation party. It was fantastic. Everyone loved it.My grown and married kids were arguing over who was going to take it home. It freezes really well and I put it in a crock pot to reheat back up and it was still really moist. I used all chicken broth and no water when i cooked it the first time in the crock. Delicious!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      We multiplied this recipe by using 30lb. of shredded chicken breasts. We cooked for 200 people, it complemented other items on the menu. It got rave reviews from everyone who tried it. Absolutely one of my new , favorites. Will keep this one in the file for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Made this for a crowd and it was a huge hit with everyone including the kids!! Only change I made was to cook the chicken in the crock pot. Then I followed the recipe as written. I will be making this again. Thanks JT's Mom this is a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      Wunnerful, wunnerful, wunnerful!

      Though I used the recipe more as a guide. I used boneless, skinless thigh meat, (breast leaves me wanting chicken and moisture) also I left out the butter and used a quarter cup of the stock to sweat and soften the veggies. I also added a small can of diced mild green chiles and two teaspoons of crushed red pepper.

      Stuffed a couple of tortillas, used the juice from the final product and some corn starch to make a thickened "enchilada" type sauce, poured it over the tortillas, some shredded cheese and baked for half an hour. HEAVEN!

      Oh yeah, to stretch and fill, (I'm Weight Watcher points conscious) I added 2 cups, coarsely chopped mushrooms, with the tomatoes, peppers and seasonings... no one but me knew, and the entree was a smash success!

      This shredded chicken is, at least, as good as I've had at Senor Ric's. (Aurora, CO) It lost a star because I had some in Cozumel that edged it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos...

    Serving Size: 1 (91 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.4
     
    Calories from Fat 50
    44%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 39.0 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1149.8 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.6 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites