13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I must admit, when reading the ingredients in this recipe I was quite skeptical, but I was pleasantly surprised with the finished results! The meat didn't have that traditional "fast food taco" taste, but it was deliciously different and both my husband and I liked it much better than regular tacos! Make sure you drain the meat real well before putting it on the tortillas though, or you'll have a very drippy taco! The leftovers were just as good (or better) the next day too! This recipe is a definite keeper... and I'll NEVER make tacos again with ground beef and powdered taco mix! :)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CINDI_EEYORE March 12, 2003

Made the recipe exactly as directed. The flavors were wonderful and we loved it! However, next time I think I will skip the tortillas and just serve with rice or even noodles. Thank you for sharing! Not my idea of Mexican but amazing all the same. We will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Harried Mom October 29, 2013

The house smelled fantastic while this was cooking. For the most part we really enjoyed this, but I did't like the sweet taste from the brown sugar (would make this again and leave the brown sugar out). Didn't have sirloin steak in my freezer, but did have a lean chuck roast. Very easy recipe - don't be put off by the long list of ingredients. Thanks for posting this Millie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft March 05, 2013

I hate to be the skunk at the garden party but this recipe had a very sharp sweet/sour component to it that we didn't like at all. Is it supposed to taste sweet/sour? I don't know that much about Mexican food, so it could just be me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sue parenio February 03, 2009

I loved these! I would classify them as a bit closer to 'cuban style' fajitas in that that have a mildly sweet undertone but I gobbled them up! I used my cast iron pot on simmer rather than my slow cooker as I was making only enough for 2. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AKillian24 January 28, 2009

We love this recipe! I have substituted chicken and it is just as good!! Only change I make is to use the chicken bouillon. Brought it to the office last week and it was a big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl P October 05, 2008

LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I found this right before I bought my first American Heart Association cookbook and by the taste you would never be able to tell it is good for your heart. A must have if you love tacos!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
red_chef400 January 31, 2008

Very good tasting beef. I too was skeptical at first but in the end it turned out to be a huge hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spicy_chef June 08, 2007

Wonderful. I started it the night before because I was working with 6+ lbs. of round steak. I had a large group over for "make it yourself" taco salad and everyone raved about it. Next day I removed some of the liquid, then shredded the beef and put it back in the pot with the sugar mixture to blend the flavors.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvTaCook in Carmichael, CA May 31, 2007

This was very good! I combined it with Beef Chimichangas Beef Chimichanga's and my husband was telling me the rating within the first bite, a definite keeper! Although, I had a fairly small roast, and it only needed about 4 hours. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merrilife May 04, 2007
Shredded Beef Soft Tacos (Crock Pot)