Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shredded Beef or Pork Chimichangas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shredded Beef or Pork Chimichangas

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2010

      Ridiculously good! Seriously incredible! I've tried to make chimichangas before and they just didn't turn out but I decided to give it another try and picked this recipe because it seemed fairly easy and straightforward. I've been trying to cut some fat out of my diet so I used a very lean pork tip roast and threw it in my crockpot with all of the spices and stuff for 8 hours. When it was done I didn't even have to shred the meat it was so tender, it fell apart as soon as I took it out of the pot! A couple pulls of my fork and it was ready to go. I didn't reduce the liquid down, I just strained the onions out of the liquid (personal preference) and added some of the liquid into the meat. The first two I put into the pan ended up falling apart so I stuck some toothpicks into the ends of the others and fried them folded side down first and then pulled the toothpicks out and flipped them over. Absolutely amazing! I can't wait to heat the rest up for lunch tomorrow!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2012

      I happened upon this recipe when looking for the spices to make shredded pork. Used only the first portion but it was wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      This recipe is brilliant! It is so easy to do and turns out delicious. I also stopped by a Mexican place and got the queso dip to pour on top. I even used the recipe for BBQ pulled pork and that turned out great too. Family favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      My husband got a new smoker last weekend & smoked enough pork to feed an army. I used a couple of hands full of the pulled pork, mixed in a skillet with Chef Booshman's suggested seasonings with a splash or two of water for about fifteen mns in a skillet heated to simmer. My family loved these chimichangas! It is my new favorite way to use left over pulled pork! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      I threw all the stuff in the recipe in the crock pot with a pork shoulder and cooked it on low for 8 hours. Yummy! These really are good as leftovers. I made a home made pico de gallo salsa that worked perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Great way to use up left-over pulled pork! I just put it in a saucepan, added the seasoning and a little water with corn starch to thicken it. My 2 and 4 yr old loved these too! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      I made this yesterday to use in making dinner tonight. I tasted the meat alone and it is wonderful. Can't wait until tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      This recipe rocks! Super easy...follow the recipe exactly, the flavor of the meat is amazing!!! I made homemade pico de gallo, guac and adobe sauce (chipolte pepper in adobe sauce in a can added to sour cream in food processor...household favorite) and made this recipe with a pork roast in the crock pot on low all day. I did add a spoon full of black beans to each chimichanga before frying. Simply amazing! Football Sunday's just made a new friend!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2010

      I had been searching for a Chimi recipe for the last super bowl party that we had and these were a HUGE hit!! They have almost become a staple in our family now! Justa little side note... if you are pressed for time you can preasure cook the meat and seasonings. You can cut the time in half but maintain the wonderful flavor! FANTASTIC RECIPE!! THANK YOU!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      We enjoyed this very much. I used chicken broth instead of water. Thanks very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      I loved this recipe. I followed the directions and they turned out perfect. I used a chuck roast for the meat and it was so tastey and smelled awesome while it was cooking. Thank you for posting. This will be a recipe I make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Delish! I made these chimis with beef. I used queso fresco for the cheese, and followed spaghetti_soprano's suggestion for using the tongs in the Fry Daddy. They turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      Perfect for using up some leftover crockpot pulled pork! I put a bunch of them in the freezer for lunches. I deep fried them in the fry daddy and just held them together with tongs as they fried until they could hold together on their own. Not so healthy, but a delicious treat! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      I used this recipe for the shredded pork in my pressure cooker. Excellent!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      Very tasty and this was perfect for soft tacos as well as enchiladas. Will definitely use this recipe again. One mistake I made...I halved the salt and added 2 tomato/chicken bouillon cubes which made it too salty, but that was my bad and certainly no reflection on the original recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      I made this with beef and the meat was very flavorful and easy to make. I'll be making this again but doubling it so there will be some left over to freeze.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2005

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shredded Beef or Pork Chimichangas

    Serving Size: 1 (129 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1289.4
     
    Calories from Fat 1038
    80%
    Total Fat 115.3 g
    177%
    Saturated Fat 49.9 g
    249%
    Cholesterol 175.4 mg
    58%
    Sodium 1153.9 mg
    48%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.0 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 27.8 g
    55%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites