8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good taste and very easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silvano October 20, 2008

Loved the taste of this. Made for freezer tag. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't add the red pepper flakes. I also tripled the recipe. We ate some when I first cooked it and froze the rest. When I was ready to eat again, I pulled the mixture and let it thaw in the fridge. I then heated in the microwave and served. It was even better warmed up and the flavors really went through the chicken. Very good chicken bbq.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 20, 2008

This turned out sweet and delicious! I loved it and will definitely make this recipe again! I modified the recipe slightly by shredding pre-cooked leftovers from a chicken I roasted. I also substituted regular brown sugar for Splenda and chili powder for the red pepper flakes. Instead of using all ketchup I used half ketchup (Heinz) and half barbeque sauce (Cattlemen's Master's Reserve Memphis Sweet BBQ Sauce).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stab-happy March 23, 2012

Made this for dinner tonight. I partially cooked my chicken breasts in my crock pot then spooned off the liquid. I then added the sauce which I quadrupled since there are 6 of us in the family. I cooked the chicken and sauce on high for one hour and then 6 hours on low. I did not realize that I was out of cider vinegar, so I subbed red wine vinegar and I doubled the amount of red pepper flakes. Everyone in the family enjoyed this...including my daughter who normally does not care for BBQ. This is a recipe I will definitely make again. Thanks for sharing your recipe. Made and reviewed for the Spring 2011 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 01, 2011

not good. lousy taste for the sauce, and breast meat really doesnt make great bbq

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef2six September 18, 2010

Great recipe, instead of fork shredding I used a food processor. I also used 3 large chicken breasts, my advice is make extra sauce - I made 4 batches & it still wasn't enough;) I'll definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie1980 June 12, 2010

This was one of the best bbq chicken recipes i have had. It had a sweet bbq taste and soaked in all the flavor since the chicken was shredded. I kept this in the fridge and ate it the next few days. It tastes good in a sandwich as well as with potatoes, stuffing, beans, or corn. The classic bbq sides. Thanks so much. I will be making this in bulk today and freezing as a OAMC. Thanks again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CAZ OF NY! September 28, 2009

these were pretty good. really easy, and great for a lazy day at home. they were just really salty, maybe because I didn't use organic or splenda. I just used regular brown sugar. will definitely make again though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Of Everything July 21, 2009
Shredded BBQ Chicken Sandwiches