Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shoyu Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shoyu Chicken

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on June 26, 2011

      This is my first post @ food.com. I make this with equal parts soy sauce, water, sugar and fresh instead of powdered ginger. .So, 2 cups of each ingredient ginger, or 3 cups or whatever amount you need to cover chicken completely. I think what's missing here is some sliced FRESH ginger, and lots of it ;) I live in Hawaii and most people here make shoyu chicken with fresh ginger. It really changes the flavor. See if your grocery store carries 'hand's of fresh ginger in the produce section. It is a brown root with 'finger' sized branches. I just peel a 4 inch hunk, and slice into 1/4 inch or so pieces until you have about a 1/3 cup pieces (rough chop). This makes it easy to separate hunks out before eating, as you don't actually eat the cooked ginger. If you cook this with real ginger, and equal parts of liquid ingredients, I think you will see a big difference in the flavor. Maybe I should've just posted a recipe? ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2008

      My Hawaiian partner makes Shoyu Chicken, and the recipe is similar to this , but he adds Star Anise, usually about 3 "stars". I think it's what may be lacking in this recipe. I'm making the Shoyu Chicken for us tonight so I was glad to find a similar recipe to follow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2003

      Delicious chicken. I used skinless breasts and served with vegetables with the sauce drizzled over the top..

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2003

      This is very moist and tender and delicious. I used just 1 cup water and added 2 tsp. sesame oil. This will be a repeat recipe at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      One of my husband's (and one of my) favorite recipes. So simple and so delicious! Thanks for sharing~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      The smell of this cooking was amazing but the taste was somewhat subtle, I should read the previous reviews and used only half the water, I will try again with less water. I've never had shoyu chicken so don't really have anything to compare it too either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Super easy, and super tasty. I've made this recipe about 3 times now, and it's perfect every time. I have also added the star anise, as Wendy suggested, and it's quite delicious that way, too. (I've never had this dish before, so I don't have a comparison point... just know I quite like this one).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      This tastes a lot like Teriyaki Chicken. I had Shoyu Chicken in Hawai'i last month and was excited to try this recipe, but this doesn't taste like what we had. If you're looking for something similar to Teriyaki Chicken, this recipe is great and easy - and I will use this recipe again for Teriyaki.... but I will continue to look for a true Shoyu Chicken recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      Delicious. My baby of 19 months liked it. The house was smelling so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      This recipe was awesome! We had a hawaiian themed birthday party for my dad and everyone commented on how wonderful the chicken was. I was so easy to make too. Thanks for posting and this is difinitly going down as a favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      Tastes great and makes the house smell wonderful while cooking. I used boneless, skinless thighs. The chicken was moist and juicy, but I think that the sauce had way too much water in it. I will certainly make this again, but cut the amount of water at least in half to get more of a "glaze-type" sauce. Thanx for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      I made this with 1/2 cup soy sauce (ran out) and 1 1/4 cup water. It came out pretty dry but with good flavor. I'd love to know from someone more experienced why the skinless, bone-in chichen thighs were dry! Today, I mixed the leftover chicken and brown rice with a tiny bit of the sauce (my husband threw most of it out) and a little mayo and microwaved. It was actually pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      This was a really good chicken dish, and I loved that it worked so well in the crockpot! My family and I really enjoyed how juicy and tender the chicken became, and the sauce was yummy. I have to admit that I used boneless, skinless chicken breast instead of thighs simply because I prefer it. The only change I would make is to use a little less water next time, as Everblest suggested. Thanks for a great, tasty, Asian-inspired entree recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      This was just like the dish I remember having when I visted my friend and her sister in Hawaii. Both of my picky eaters really liked it too. I baked my thighs in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes turning them over once to make sure both sides were evenly coated in the sauce. The next day I used a couple of the cold thighs chopped them up with green onion, water chestnuts, cashews and cilantro with some mayo and a bit of the sauce for an incredible chicken salad served over field greens. I can't wait to make this in the crock pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2004

      This had wonderful flavor! It was fast and easy. I used 4 skinless boneless breasts, and served them over brown rice. Dh thinks the sauce would be great for dipping dumplings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2003

      I did like this recipe. It was simple to set up in the crock pot and the smell was wonderful. I only used 8 chicken thighs and should have used more I think. I think in the future I would use less water too. I will definitely do this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shoyu Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 361.2
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    13%
    Total Fat 5.4 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 114.5 mg
    38%
    Sodium 3150.1 mg
    131%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.0 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 40.9 g
    163%
    Protein 32.9 g
    65%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    skinless chicken thighs

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites