16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my first post @ food.com. I make this with equal parts soy sauce, water, sugar and fresh instead of powdered ginger. .So, 2 cups of each ingredient ginger, or 3 cups or whatever amount you need to cover chicken completely. I think what's missing here is some sliced FRESH ginger, and lots of it ;) I live in Hawaii and most people here make shoyu chicken with fresh ginger. It really changes the flavor. See if your grocery store carries 'hand's of fresh ginger in the produce section. It is a brown root with 'finger' sized branches. I just peel a 4 inch hunk, and slice into 1/4 inch or so pieces until you have about a 1/3 cup pieces (rough chop). This makes it easy to separate hunks out before eating, as you don't actually eat the cooked ginger. If you cook this with real ginger, and equal parts of liquid ingredients, I think you will see a big difference in the flavor. Maybe I should've just posted a recipe? ;)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1konagirl June 26, 2011

My Hawaiian partner makes Shoyu Chicken, and the recipe is similar to this , but he adds Star Anise, usually about 3 "stars". I think it's what may be lacking in this recipe. I'm making the Shoyu Chicken for us tonight so I was glad to find a similar recipe to follow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy in a whirl March 04, 2008

Delicious chicken. I used skinless breasts and served with vegetables with the sauce drizzled over the top..

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! May 22, 2003

This is very moist and tender and delicious. I used just 1 cup water and added 2 tsp. sesame oil. This will be a repeat recipe at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary in OR April 19, 2003

One of my husband's (and one of my) favorite recipes. So simple and so delicious! Thanks for sharing~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jksart September 07, 2011

The smell of this cooking was amazing but the taste was somewhat subtle, I should read the previous reviews and used only half the water, I will try again with less water. I've never had shoyu chicken so don't really have anything to compare it too either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. March 02, 2010

Super easy, and super tasty. I've made this recipe about 3 times now, and it's perfect every time. I have also added the star anise, as Wendy suggested, and it's quite delicious that way, too. (I've never had this dish before, so I don't have a comparison point... just know I quite like this one).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ogwen August 06, 2009

This tastes a lot like Teriyaki Chicken. I had Shoyu Chicken in Hawai'i last month and was excited to try this recipe, but this doesn't taste like what we had. If you're looking for something similar to Teriyaki Chicken, this recipe is great and easy - and I will use this recipe again for Teriyaki.... but I will continue to look for a true Shoyu Chicken recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MakeMineCadburys July 29, 2007

Delicious. My baby of 19 months liked it. The house was smelling so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette May 28, 2007

This recipe was awesome! We had a hawaiian themed birthday party for my dad and everyone commented on how wonderful the chicken was. I was so easy to make too. Thanks for posting and this is difinitly going down as a favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elboe Bethel April 13, 2007
Shoyu Chicken