38 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good!!! I cut the recipe back for 2 thighs. I used boneless, skinless thighs. I also topped it with fresh sliced scallions. I will be making this again. Thanks LavenderLynn for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky in Wisconsin July 26, 2011

Surprising! A recipe with so few ingredients and I thought it was delicious. I think the key was sugar and cooking on low for 30 minutes. The chicken/sauce almost caramelizes. I served this over rice and loved it. My husband didn't care for what he thought was too strong of a flavor, though. I would rate this a 5 and he would rate it a 3. Guess who won? ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood February 07, 2014

This was oh so quick and oh so good, although decidely sweet! I used 5 boneless skinless chicken thighs (for 2 people) and made the full amount of sauce, using dry sherry. My chicken was done ahead of schedule, TG for my instant read thermometer. After removing the cooked chicken thighs, I turned up the heat to reduce the sauce in a few minutes and was pleased with the amount of sauce to drizzle over the chicken, rice and steamed veggies. Thank you for sharing. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL April 28, 2013

I made a full recipe using 8 thighes and 3 of gobbled up nearly the lot (3/4 of a thigh left over - sandwich material), I served with rice which I poured the sauce over as well as the chicken (would have liked a slightly thicher sauce so would think of removing chicken and reducing or thickening with cornflour/cornstarch), also te gingerroot I finely diced so that it became part of the sauce with the garlic Thank you for a succulent and tasty recipe Lavender Lynn, made for I Recommend tag game, recommended by duonyte.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat November 27, 2012

Really enjoyed this easy to make recipe! I halved the recipe with no problems. Very moist and delicious. I can see myself making this again.....Wish I'd read through some of the reviews and subbed brown sugar....think that might have made this even better. 5 stars for easy to make and great taste. Thanks for sharing! Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 23, 2012

Absolutely delicious! I made this for a potluck and everyone was raving. I made it just as directed and it's honestly fantastic, moist and slightly sweet. It was the first thing to go out of all the food there, and that's saying something.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachruiz1 September 06, 2011

Sensational!!! This turns out looking and tasting remarkable without a lot of work. This is one of those recipes I wished I had found years earlier. This recipe was made using a dry white wine, splenda for baking sugar blend and 2 slices of gingerroot. This will be happy enjoyed again, thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl June 25, 2011

Made for ZWT 7. So easy! (Relief!) And so good! I did halve the recipe for me and DH, but was careful with the measurements. Used Kikkoman soy and brown sugar. I used dry sherry as I've seen before it's a sub for sake. (Sake is available at a local bottle store, but amazingly pricey, wonder why). I probably used a little more fresh ginger; love it. Had to use skinless boneless chicken breasts as I could not find the boneless thighs. I don't know if this is allowed, but I decided to slice the breasts thickly, and marinate it in the rest of the ingredients -- then it went into the wok. It was great, served with basmati and some sides. Thanks, LL!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie June 20, 2011

2011 favorites here you come! This was so, so good. Made for ZWT7. I'm gonna be honest here. DH is tired of all the new recipes from ZWT, so I fried chicken for him tonight. Yes...just plain ole fried chicken thighs. I, on the other hand, made Shoyu chicken for myself. Da... guess who was begging for "just one more bite"? Yep, DH. The flavor was outstanding. We sometimes have trouble grilling chicken on the gas grill, this takes its place. Hands Down. OMG, so glad I tried this dish. Okay... I've ranted on enough. This is already saved as my FIRST "keeper for 2011".... YUMMMM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby June 18, 2011

This was very good, very flavorful and easy to make. Even hubby liked it, which says a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alohanoa February 27, 2011
Shoyu Chicken