Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shoyu Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shoyu Chicken

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2011

      Very good!!! I cut the recipe back for 2 thighs. I used boneless, skinless thighs. I also topped it with fresh sliced scallions. I will be making this again. Thanks LavenderLynn for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      Surprising! A recipe with so few ingredients and I thought it was delicious. I think the key was sugar and cooking on low for 30 minutes. The chicken/sauce almost caramelizes. I served this over rice and loved it. My husband didn't care for what he thought was too strong of a flavor, though. I would rate this a 5 and he would rate it a 3. Guess who won? ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      This was oh so quick and oh so good, although decidely sweet! I used 5 boneless skinless chicken thighs (for 2 people) and made the full amount of sauce, using dry sherry. My chicken was done ahead of schedule, TG for my instant read thermometer. After removing the cooked chicken thighs, I turned up the heat to reduce the sauce in a few minutes and was pleased with the amount of sauce to drizzle over the chicken, rice and steamed veggies. Thank you for sharing. Made for Please Review My Recipe tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      I made a full recipe using 8 thighes and 3 of gobbled up nearly the lot (3/4 of a thigh left over - sandwich material), I served with rice which I poured the sauce over as well as the chicken (would have liked a slightly thicher sauce so would think of removing chicken and reducing or thickening with cornflour/cornstarch), also te gingerroot I finely diced so that it became part of the sauce with the garlic Thank you for a succulent and tasty recipe Lavender Lynn, made for I Recommend tag game, recommended by duonyte.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2012

      Really enjoyed this easy to make recipe! I halved the recipe with no problems. Very moist and delicious. I can see myself making this again.....Wish I'd read through some of the reviews and subbed brown sugar....think that might have made this even better. 5 stars for easy to make and great taste. Thanks for sharing! Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      Absolutely delicious! I made this for a potluck and everyone was raving. I made it just as directed and it's honestly fantastic, moist and slightly sweet. It was the first thing to go out of all the food there, and that's saying something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2011

      Sensational!!! This turns out looking and tasting remarkable without a lot of work. This is one of those recipes I wished I had found years earlier. This recipe was made using a dry white wine, splenda for baking sugar blend and 2 slices of gingerroot. This will be happy enjoyed again, thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Made for ZWT 7. So easy! (Relief!) And so good! I did halve the recipe for me and DH, but was careful with the measurements. Used Kikkoman soy and brown sugar. I used dry sherry as I've seen before it's a sub for sake. (Sake is available at a local bottle store, but amazingly pricey, wonder why). I probably used a little more fresh ginger; love it. Had to use skinless boneless chicken breasts as I could not find the boneless thighs. I don't know if this is allowed, but I decided to slice the breasts thickly, and marinate it in the rest of the ingredients -- then it went into the wok. It was great, served with basmati and some sides. Thanks, LL!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2011

      2011 favorites here you come! This was so, so good. Made for ZWT7. I'm gonna be honest here. DH is tired of all the new recipes from ZWT, so I fried chicken for him tonight. Yes...just plain ole fried chicken thighs. I, on the other hand, made Shoyu chicken for myself. Da... guess who was begging for "just one more bite"? Yep, DH. The flavor was outstanding. We sometimes have trouble grilling chicken on the gas grill, this takes its place. Hands Down. OMG, so glad I tried this dish. Okay... I've ranted on enough. This is already saved as my FIRST "keeper for 2011".... YUMMMM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      This was very good, very flavorful and easy to make. Even hubby liked it, which says a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2011

      I marinated the chicken with all the ingredients 2 hours. I drained the liquid in a bowl and I braised the chicken with the garlic and ginger pieces. After slightly roasted I added the reserved liquid and I cooked it covered until thought. Came out very tender and delicious!
      We enjoyed this dish a lot. Served with some bami goreng.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      So yummy that it I have given it a permanent home in my recipe collection. It was full of flavors and easy to make. I think next time I make it I will use low sodium soy sauce next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Loved this easy-to-make chicken dish! I made half of the recipe and used boneless skinless breasts. The ginger/garlic combination was perfect for this and the chicken was so tender. Quick, easy, tasty - thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      Awesome!! This is definitely a keeper. It was so easy I was worried it could not be very good-boy was I wrong! My very picky teenager raved about it, and he raves about nothing much :) We will have to keep it on our rotation. I tried another Japanese dish tonight that had 750 great reviews, but we all liked this one so much better. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      This was definitely easy to make! I diced my chicken before I cooked it, and I do think this might have had something to do with it but I wanted it really saucy so I made 1.5 times the amount of sauce and I still found it wanted more sauce. The sauce was a little thin so I added 2tsp cornflour to some soy sauce and mirin. I also forgot the tip of adding the vinegar and think this would have made a difference to cut through the sweetness a little. Served with rice and a salad with miso dressing. My husband LOVED it and demanded it be made again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      I diced finely the ginger and the garlic clove. With 1/4 cup sugar it was a bit too sweet. DH said it was too sweet. So next time I'll use 1/8 cup sugar. And maybe 1 tablespoon oil. I used white wine. I used reduced sodium soy sauce. The chicken was cooked to perfection and the taste is great besides the sweetness. Thanks Lavender Lynn :) Made for the Zwizzle Chicks of ZWT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      This was a terrific recipe, delicious and simple to make. I used a 2 teaspoons of rice vinegar as suggested by someone else, and it was just perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was a very tasty and easy to make dish, and great with plain rice. Made for ZWT6. Thanks Lynn for this tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      This was wonderful! So easy to make, perfect for a weeknight, yet very tasty! Since I was only serving two, I cut the sauce ingedients in half, and only cooked two bone in, skin on thighs, as we have small appetites. After reading some of the other reviews, I decided to add a tablespoon of rice vinegar and 1 star anise to the sauce. We had plenty of sauce, including enough left over to coat two more pieces of chicken, so I'd say that the amount called for is perfect. I loved the beautiful mahogany color of the chicken, it just looked wonderful on the plate. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Very tasty and fast recipe. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shoyu Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 607.2
     
    Calories from Fat 373
    61%
    Total Fat 41.5 g
    63%
    Saturated Fat 10.5 g
    52%
    Cholesterol 191.0 mg
    63%
    Sodium 1370.2 mg
    57%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 40.6 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites