13 Reviews

I just use plain white vinegar and it works great. Not sure what the lemon juice is for. It also works on faucets and the vegetable sprayer in the kitchen sink.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KMLWPA May 02, 2010

Wow! Didn't have a shower cap but it worked just fine with a freezer bag and rubber bands.I love homemade cleaners.Thanks for another great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littlemafia December 13, 2009

This works so well. I used a plastic bag and rubber bands, since I didn't have a shower cap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada May 19, 2013

Worked great! While I didn't have a shower cap, my shower head is on a hose, so it reached down to the ledge, where I set a 4 cup measuring cup with the solution in it. I let the showerhead soak in the measuring cup, and it came out clean as a whistle! I can't believe how much was clogged and I didn't realize it until it's clean now! Will definatlely use this again! Thanks, breezermom! Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen April 18, 2010

Not leaving a star rating because I wasn't able to leave it on the whole time stated. It did make my shower smell clean and fresh and took off some the buildup! Thanks so much for posting! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom February 25, 2010

Wow I was so surprised how well this worked! I used it one both of our shower heads and they cleaned up so nicely. We have stainless steel shower heads and it just unclogged those couple of holes that always spray crooked and made them whole thing sparkle! Thanks for sharing a winner of a natural cleaner! Made for Gimme5 tag game!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HokiesMom February 22, 2010

This worked great - DH wanted to just get a new shower head but this saved it. I also used this on the sprayer in the kitchen. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hill Family November 23, 2009

Worked like a charm. Instead of using an ol shower cap I used a freezer bag which worked just fine. This is another one for my collection of homemade cleaners. Thanks for sharing. Made for 123 Hits Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 06, 2009

yes this worked great, what a wonderful alternative to chemicals, thanks for sharing this breezer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz September 22, 2009

Nice trick!!! I love finding ways to keep chemicals out of my home and this 'recipe' is priceless. My shower head's been a little sluggish for the past 6 months or so and after a 24 hour soak, the pressure is back to fantastic. Thank you for sharing this terrific idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FolkDiva July 19, 2009
Shower Head Cleaner