81 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I reserve my '5 star' ratings for the best of the best. We really like this!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom to 3 in WI January 04, 2008

This roast is WONDERFUL! I used a 3 lb. bone-in pork roast and used the max amounts of garlic, fresh rosemary, cheese, and wine. I too made lots of slits and used my hands to rub mixture all over, and placed in fridge overnight. Instead of using a rack, I placed the roast on top of carrots, celery, onions, and parsley to add more flavor to the drippings. I also added 2 cups of vegetable stock midway so I would have plenty of liquid to make gravy. Cooked roast to internal temp of 160F. The meat was soooo flavorful and the gravy was even better! Wish I could give this more than 5 stars!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack December 26, 2007

This recipe was fantastic. I used chopped up bacon slices instead of the prosciutto. I also used fresh Rosemary and 2 cups of wine. The wine makes a fabulous gravy which is wonderful served over the roast with wild rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alisonhurysz December 17, 2007

Add me to your list of 5 star reviews - great recipe. I prepared it exactly as directed, except for using my food processor's small bowl to make the rub. Unfortunately, or luckily as the case may be, my 13-year old oven decided tonight was the night to die, and so I had to cook the roast in my Weber gas grill instead. Worked great! So I not only had a fantastic dinner, but tomorrow I'm finally getting a new oven as well! Thanks, Lizzie-Babette.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri Dodsworth December 05, 2007

The best pork roast I have ever had. It's not easy to push the butter mixture into those slits, but it is worth it! It made a lot of drippings, so I paired it with some Yorkshire pudding and gravy...fabulous! My whole family loved it. Thanks Lizzie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weefaith December 02, 2007

This recipe couldn't be easier to put together and the results are so delicious! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raspberry Cordial November 20, 2007

This was spectacular. I prepared this in the crock pot and roasted for about 4-5 hours and it was falling apart tender. I also used pork sirloin, did not have prosciutto, all of my spices were dried, and I only had a sweeter white wine on hand. This is very versatile and the taste is excellent. I paired this with garlic mashed potatoes and my roasted green beans with lime juice for a tuscan style evening.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joshuainboden November 11, 2007

I've been looking for something to serve for a formal 50th wedding anniversary dinner for 18 people. I tested it out the other day. It was awesome and very easy to make! I plan on making 3 of these roasts, with potato casserole, salad and grilled asparagus with shallots. I'm sure it will be a big hit....Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hilsen3 August 26, 2007

I registered with this site just to leave a comment about this recipe. It was that good!! Very fancy, but easy to prepare!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nicket August 18, 2007

This is the best Roast Pork I have ever made. Had my brothers and their families over for dinner last night and couldn't get over how tender and tasty this was. My house smelled wonderful. Try this. You will not be disappointed. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. Forgot to mention that I prepared it the night before. I poured the wine over it right before I put it in the over. Also, the pork was so moist.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Airamia, prev. #412988 June 12, 2007
Show-off Roast Pork