Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs

    Average Rating:

    463 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 463

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2002

      These are great ribs!!! I don't know what Old Bay Seasoning is, so I replaced it with a homemade spice mix that I made that includes chili, paprika etc..Makes a great sweet & sour flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2002

      What can I add after 56 reviews already? I made the recipe exactly as written. It was my first time making ribs or barbecue anything. Boy, was my husband ever impressed! Like Emzy, I saved the sauce. I couldn't bear to just toss that yummy stuff down the sink. I baked the ribs at 375 degrees for 1 hour. I thought about the comments about slower cooking, but I didn't have time. They were fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2001

    • on January 15, 2011

      These ribs are amazing! Actually the sauce is amazing and makes lots that could be used on anything that you like a great BBQ sauce on...absolutely divine!
      I used St Louis style ribs and fresh garlic. Set the oven at 375 for an hour, turned down to 250 for 2 more, then let them simmer at 350 without the lid. Yummers!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2003

      WHOO-HOO! I am beyond thrilled with this recipe! Being southern, I'm picky about my ribs and had doubts about trying to out-do my favorite places. WOW! I never in my life would have prepared ribs like this; without preparing them first! I was just sure they would be tough and chewy going right into the oven without being boiled or marinated first. Was I wrong! Of course I bought the correct cut of meat as listed and all ingredients-they smelled great, they LOOKED like I'd brushed and basted them all day, and tasted SUPER. Spicy but not hot; sweet and tangy. I baked as directed and used LOW BROIL for about five minutes till the edges turned dark/crunchy. My only change will be cutting the celery salt. They had a strong surge of celery now and then so I went back out of curiosity and looked at the ingredients listed on the OLD BAY SEASONING can. Ah. Celery. I can't wait till this summer to make them in the oven and sneak them onto the grill the last five minutes. Will my family and friends be impressed! Ms. Carson, you've got to enter this with Southern Living!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2002

      Well, after reading all the rave reviews how could you not try this recipe? I did and WOW! I got sooo many compliments. Everyone just flipped over this sauce! I was one of the lucky ones that happened to be able to find Old Bay Seasoning - so that helped. Also, if anyone would like to know I used 'Sweet Baby Ray's Award Winning BBQ sauce'. Mmmmm....Mmmmmmm..... I will be making these again (because my hubby won't hush until I do). Also, I had to give the recipe out, so that in itself tells you how good these are. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! - The only things I want to mention is that the recipe implies that this is a semi-dry paste. That is incorrect so don't expect a paste, it is much more a liquid than a paste -and- I would also recommend cooking these at 325 for three hours instead of 375 for one hour (My ribs were still raw at one hour - they had to cook for two hours at 375).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2002

      Holy Moly! Add another 5 Star! The neighbors and I fixed this for dinner last night and it got "Excellent" all around the table. The only thing I didn't have was the Old Bay and it was still great. We even spooned out the remaining sauce and made some gravy with it for the mashed potato's and what a taste. WOW! Thanks for this one. It's in my 'fix again soon' binder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This is my new rib sauce for life! Absolutely wonderful. I did alter it a bit as follows. I used the full amount of barbeque sauce, but only 6 oz of honey. Half the brown sugar, no white sugar, but replaced that with 1/4 cup of vinegar as suggested by so many others. I also added a teaspoon of powdered mustard, one of red pepper flakes, and 8-10 shakes of both worcesteshire and tobasco sauces. Let the sauce blend for a few hours and then baked them as per previous suggestions at 325 for 2 1/2 hours, then turned meaty side up, turned off the oven and covered the foil pans tightly with foil. This amount pefectly fit 4 racks of baby back ribs. My neighbors, their 28 year old son (who is a self admitted rib aficiando)his friend and my husband and myself were blown away. Thanks so much for sharing your great recipe Beverly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      First thing first, We live in Memphis and know BBQ ribs, or we thought we knew BBQ ribs! This is by far THE BEST FREAKING BBQ RIB RECIPE I'VE EVER TASTED!!!!!!!!! At first my wife wasn't to excited about me making ribs because she really isn't a rib person. After she took first bite of candied Pork goodness, she too became a rib lover. Normally I'll find a recipe and try it and if we like it then we change it to fit our likes. This WILL NOT BE THE CASE WITH THIS RECIPE, everything about this recipe is perfect. We served the ribs with a giant Sweet Potato and Corn. This will now be a main stay in our house! Who ever originated this recipe BRAVO ZULU! I found it funny when my wife had to remove her wedding rings to keep from eating her Diamonds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      This recipe was very helpful to me and my children! Especially with their math homework.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      Excellent flavor! I've had my eye on this recipe for months and finally got around to trying it tonight. It is on the sweet side but we liked the unique taste and didn't even use the BBQ sauce because it tasted THAT good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      This sauce is simply delicious. I used the sauce on Beef Baby Back Ribs and they turned out simply scrumptous. This is a winner and I will be using the recipe from now on. Thanx for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2003

      I read through all the recipes before deciding to cook the ribs at 325 for 3 hours. I made the sauce as is (measuring honey, BBQ by weight oz) and it was wonderful. I also took the hint of cooking it on parchment paper and that made clean up a breeze. VERY GOOD RIBS!! My husband and kids don't care for eating off the bones so will try to make this next time with boneless ribs. Can't wait to eat that sauce again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      Excellent ribs! I left out the white sugar and they were still wonderful! Spicy and sweet- absolutely loved them!! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2003

      We usually boil our ribs first, but didn't this time and they turned out very tender. We were missing some spices - but still turned out tastey

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      We love the taste of these ribs. Super sticky, but very good. The flavor is wonderful and different that what we are used to. I couldnt find the Old Bay seasoning, so I made some myself and we still loved this stuff. I got really inventive and used them on chicken wings too and they tasted great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      Simply put, awesome!!! Great sauce with both a little bit of sweet and a little bit of spice. I slow cooked them for 3 1/2 hours at 300° and I had to take them out of the pan with a spatula. They were falling apart because they were so tender. Even my mom liked them and she is VERY picky. A definite keeper that is now happily sitting in my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      WOW! These are awesome! I would not change a thing. Thank you for sharing this great recipe! It is a new family favorite!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2002

      I'm not a big bbq rib person, but I decided to make these for my husband. These are a new favorite. We both love them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2002

      These ribs are absolutely AMAZING!!! I used country style ribs, and boiled them for about an hour before baking. I only used half the honey, and half the Old Bay, omitted the white sugar, and added 2 cloves of minced garlic. Served with baked potatoes and cooked broccoli. WONDERFUL MEAL!!! Definitely a keeper! Thanks a bunch!!! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1245.1
     
    Calories from Fat 504
    40%
    Total Fat 56.0 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 234.7 mg
    78%
    Sodium 1113.1 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 124.0 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 111.4 g
    445%
    Protein 65.6 g
    131%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    celery salt


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes