466 Reviews

This was really great for the Memorial Day weekend BBQ! After reading the reviews, I cooked the meat down first (20 minutes or so) to allow the juices to escape then poured it off before adding the sauce which stuck to the meat during cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsvanessa June 01, 2010

The 4 star review is based simply on the choice of meat not the flavor. I have never used pork back ribs and unfortunately will most likely not be using them again. My family prefers country style ribs and I think this sauce would be perfect on them as well and I will try it. I followed suggestions and did the low and slow method for 3.5 hrs. on 325. For the first 2.5 hours I cooked it with everything but the barbecue sauce covered in foil. For the remaining hour I basted it with the barbecue sauce (calls for too much in my opinion) and continued cooking. For the final 15 minutes I removed the foil to let it get a little crispy on top. The flavor is perfect but these type of ribs are far too fatty for me. Also I would recommend cooking them on top of foil so when the honey/brown sugar burns it does not stick to the bottom of your pan and create a mess. Excellent flavor over all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp May 19, 2010

OK, before making this I read up to about page 23 of the reviews making notes about the changes. I made this with several changes but loved the ideas given and it turned out amazingly. i removed the tissue on the back side (WHICH ISN'T EASY) and learned that was a mistake! I made a spicy dry rub of 1 tsp each garlic powder, salt, pepper, cayenne, 2 tsp onion powder, 4 tsp paprika. rubbed until it became pastey on the 5lb os spare ribs. wrapped in heavy foil and left in the fridge overnight. when time to cook . i started the sauce (or semi-dry paste) i omitted the white sugar (south carolina- we don't care much for sweet sauces)and omitted the celery salt. i didn't have dark brown sugar so used light brown and added 2 tsp molasses. I food processed the onion to a fine almost puree. Also used Kraft Hickory Smoke BBW sauce- I think some of those complaining about the sweetness of the sauce should also consider the type of bottled sauce used. I added the following ingredients after tasting over and over. 2T cider vinegar, 1/4tsp cayenne, 1tsp worcestershire. I let the sauce low bubble for about 20 minutes., while the ribs were in the oven for a hour at 300° in a deep roasting pan lined with foil and atop a rack and covered with foil. Then removed the ribs from oven and basted with 2/3 of sauce, covered back up and continued to bake at 325° for 2 hours,then uncovered and put remaining sauce on and broiled until gooey. THIS WAS SPICY just like we like our food, so if you don't like super spicey you can omit the cayenne I added to the sauce. We will definately make again this summer! Thanks so much to all the ideas!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawn C February 17, 2010

Thought these were great! I applied a tiny bit of all the dry ingredients for a little while before cooking to create a sort of "rub." Then, I added/mixed the honey and barbeque sauce to a bowl with the dry ingredients and covered the ribs in it, basting occasionally and cooked it at 300 for 3 hours. Thanks! **UPDATE** I just made these again and they're still yummy! This time I added all the ingredients to the ribs, wrapped in foil, and baked at 200 for about 5 hours. We took them out of the oven and foil, popped them on the grill for about 15 mins and basted with the leftover rub/sauce. Delicious!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meganhough February 05, 2010

THANK YOU!! This was my first try at ribs and they were fantastic: my husband said they were "quite possibly the best ribs he's ever had in his life" and can't stop talking about them! Following a number of reviewers' suggestions, I made the following variations to the recipe; it was super easy overall and great for company. I will definitely make this again. 1) I love garlic so I roasted 3 heads of garlic and added that to the sauce. 2) I substituted cayenne for the pepper, omitted the white sugar (resulting sauce was still sweet, maybe just a little sweeter than I prefer), used KC Masterpiece Spicy Original BBQ sauce, and added 1/4 cup cider vinegar, 6 dashes each tabasco and worchestershire sauce, and a squeeze or two of fresh lemon juice. I had plenty of sauce for 4 1/2 lbs of pork back spareribs. 3) I got it all ready the night before and marinated it in the fridge covered in foil -- then just popped it in the oven. I cooked it at 325 for 3 hours, then turned the oven off until eating time (maybe 45 minutes later), when I took off the foil and broiled the ribs a few minutes on each side. Next time I might bake it with the foil off a few minutes before broiling to thicken the sauce (it thickened after cooling a bit, but we had eaten all the ribs by then!). 4. I don't know if the pan was hard to clean because my husband loved these so much he volunteered to do the dishes! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quantumgirl November 05, 2005

ok, this was our 1st recipe we used off this site. We used chicken cuz we're on a budget. (leg's & breast's on sale) Went to dollar store and got a roaster pan so we didn't have to scrub the pan. Made as written, but as warned, it was soupy. Must have been the BBQ sauce & honey? Not a dry rub. Got Old Bay Season recipe off this site. Threw entire batch over skinned chicken and cooked what seemed like forever @ 3:75. Have 3 guy's to feed...Husb, 16 & 13 yr old...hard to please, but it did it. Plenty of left over for Hubby lunch. Nice different flavor, per 13 yr old -sweet and sticky,like I like it. 16 yr old sez, good, like it, tastes like chicken, thanks, ok, busy, go away. Get it? I made at hit. Thanks to you.! Can't wait to try on rib's as I am a rib fan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teri McNew November 03, 2003

Excellent! I boiled my baby back ribs first for about 15 minutes. Then I left them in the crock pot on low for about 9 hours. They came out delicious and the meat literally fell right off the bone. I LOVE the sauce, and will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
itsnevrenough July 29, 2003

OUTSTANDING!! My 14 year old son made these for supper tonight. Followed the recipe exactly. There was enough sauce to make a large amount of ribs that I purchased at a food warehouse. He made it with Garden Vegetable Rice and a Vegetable Medley. He was so proud of his meal. The sauce would be great with other meat dishes. The sauce is thin after the one hour cooking but if you remove the foil at the end the sauce will thicken up a little. A new family favorite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M July 23, 2003

i dont know what happened but the sauce came out so watery but i added a little cornstarch and made a killer sauce for basting. will use on other meat. thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YvetteH July 07, 2003

These ribs are delicious!! The sauce is out of this world! I did omit the celery salt and could not find Old Bay so I used a cajun seasoning in place of Old Bay. Very Good Flavor!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jada29 July 06, 2003
Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs