Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs

    Average Rating:

    463 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 463

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2010

    • on June 07, 2010

      Tasty ribs! I doubled the ribs and found that I could have halved the spice rub, but oh well, it was great anyway. Loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      This one is a "keeper!" I made this recipe on Memorial Day. I mixed all the sauce ingredients in a separate bowl, dipping the ribs in the sauce before placing in the pan; then poured the remaining sauce over them - basting them after 30 min. and 45 min.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      Restaurant style ribs!!! I cooked at 325 tightly wrapped for about 30 mins,,,mixed and just left foil loose on top and cooked for an additional 50 mins,,,than broiled for few minutes at end. Perfect,,tender fall off bone ribs and the sauce is perfect. I used kraft original. Only change I made was lowering serving size,,,I used 1 rack of ribs cut up and lowered size down to 1.5 lbs. Directions were perfect. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Wow! These ribs were amazing. I followed the recipe for the sauce as written except for the celery salt (didn't have any). Since it seemed like it was going to be pretty sweet, I chose to use KC Masterpiece Spicy original BBQ as opposed to the Sweet Baby Ray's I usually use. I used country style ribs. I cooked them for 3hrs at 325 but I think I may lower the heat to 300 next time. I removed the foil after two hours. That seemed to help the sauce thicken up a bit (it starts out very thin). I turned on the broiler at the end and broiled each side for a few minutes like other reviewers suggested. And next time I will definitely buy a throw away aluminum pan. Can't wait to try this sauce with chicken. Thx for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      Absolutely the BEST bbq sauce ever. I used chicken instead of ribs and my boys ate it up!! I can't wait to try this on some ribs. I used 1/2 teaspoon of regular paprika and 1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika to give it a little bit of a grilled flavor. I might add some ground red pepper next time to give it a little kick. Also, I used about 1/2 of the brown sugar since I only had honey bbq sauce (sweet baby ray's) so as not to make it too sweet.. Also, I cooked it at 300 for about 2 1/2 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      For Memorial Day my husband wanted to cook brisket on the grill but after reading this recipe I wanted pork ribs. I talked him into buying some ribs for me to bake in the oven. These ribs were finger lickin good and the hubby couldn't keep his fingers off of them. These ribs were much better than the brisket but I won't tell "him" that...lol. He even stole the rest of my rub to put on his brisket. I baked mine at 325 degrees for 3 hours and they were so juicy and tender the were falling apart...yum. I'm ready to make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      these ribs were absolutely delicious. tool leftovers to work and was asked for recipe. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This was really great for the Memorial Day weekend BBQ! After reading the reviews, I cooked the meat down first (20 minutes or so) to allow the juices to escape then poured it off before adding the sauce which stuck to the meat during cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Wow! This is a very forgiving recipe. I forgot the white sugar and accidentally put in half the brown sugar. These were still excellent! I baked at 300 degrees for 3 hours, basting every 30 minutes. I'm in mourning because these ribs went so fast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Easy and very, very yummy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I started these in the oven and moved them too the grill for the last few minutes to pick up the charcoal taste too. I used Country Style Ribs this time. They were really delicious ribs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      The 4 star review is based simply on the choice of meat not the flavor. I have never used pork back ribs and unfortunately will most likely not be using them again. My family prefers country style ribs and I think this sauce would be perfect on them as well and I will try it. I followed suggestions and did the low and slow method for 3.5 hrs. on 325. For the first 2.5 hours I cooked it with everything but the barbecue sauce covered in foil. For the remaining hour I basted it with the barbecue sauce (calls for too much in my opinion) and continued cooking. For the final 15 minutes I removed the foil to let it get a little crispy on top. The flavor is perfect but these type of ribs are far too fatty for me. Also I would recommend cooking them on top of foil so when the honey/brown sugar burns it does not stick to the bottom of your pan and create a mess. Excellent flavor over all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      Fantastic! Used about 5 pounds of pork spareribs, kept all other ingredients the same. Used 8oz honey (by weight, not liquid measure), Hungarian paprika, and Paul Prudhomme's seafood seasoning (which is hopefully close enough to Old Bay). Grated the onion in the food processor and combined with all ingredients except BBQ sauce. Was afraid I messed it up since it was thin, and was hoping it wouldn't just run off into the pan. Poured the BBQ sauce on top. Used a nonstick roasting pan which worked perfectly. Baked at 325 degrees for four hours without taking a peek, and it came out of the oven absolutely perfect. Did broil the top for a few minutes to get more of a crust but would consider that optional. Excellent sauce, sweet but not too much so, great balance of flavors. Think I've only made ribs a few times, but this was definitely easy enough to do more often. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      These were pretty good. Only problem was the sauce didn't stick to the ribs. I agree with others that probably cooking at 325 for 3 hours would be better. I will try that next time. EDIT: I remade these last night and have a few times since my first review. I cook the ribs on 325 degrees for 3 hours and then broil them for 30 minutes. The sauce sticks and they are fall of the bone tender!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I decided to try this recipe from all the great reviews it has. I was short on time and decided to try this since the cooking time was only an hour. I read all the 5 star reviews and noticed that almost everyone has been using the low and slow cook method for this. That is how I normally always do mine also. But I figured, what the heck, lets go exactly by the recipe and see how they turn out. After cooking an hour, I noticed the sauce was runny and wasnt sticking to the ribs. So I uncovered and cooked another 30 min. to thicken and give the ribs a nice crust. The ribs werent as tender as we like them. I was afraid of this, but they was still edible. We also didnt care for the sauce. For us there was too much honey in it that it overpowered the rest of the ingredients. Overall I have to give the original recipe 3 stars. I deducted 1 for not caring for the sauce, and another 1 for the cooking method. Like many others, if you do the low and slow method, this would definitely have been a 4 star for us. I did enjoy the recipe tho, so thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2010

      As I am a diabetic I eliminated the honey and the white sugar and substituted the brown sugar for Splenda, left the remaining ingredients the same. The cooking time I did change to 3 hours at 325 F. as I did not think that 1 hour was enough for tender fall off the bone ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I'm not going to rate this recipe since I didn't follow the directions exactly. Unfortunately I would only be giving this 2 or 3 stars if I were to rate it. All I did differently was to omit the white sugar - as suggested by another reviewer - and I substituted some spices for the Old Bay Seasoning as I couldn't find any at the store. Our rib meat was kind of tough (which could have just been the meat I bought?) and while the sauce was very good, I'm not sure it was all that much better than regular BBQ sauce. Since we aren't big rib eaters anyway, I'm not sure I'll try this again. With the popularity of this recipe though I would recommend others try it. Maybe I just messed something up?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Simply great! I did not use the white sugar. I used tin foil in my pan, but next time would spray with PAM, as some of them still stuck to the pan. When I have more time, I will try the slo-cook method. Thanks for posting, Beverly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Very good recipe! I doubled it since I feed a big brood. It was a touch sweet for me and my son. Jim loved them and forbade me from changing a thing! When I doubled the recipe, I had to double the cooking time. They came out great. I will try the slow cooking method next time. Thank you for this great and easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 24

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1245.1
     
    Calories from Fat 504
    40%
    Total Fat 56.0 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 234.7 mg
    78%
    Sodium 1113.1 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 124.0 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 111.4 g
    445%
    Protein 65.6 g
    131%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes