Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs

    Average Rating:

    463 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 463

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2001

      I have made this recipe many times to get rave reviews and licked the platter clean! The only alteration I make is I slow-cook the ribs at 325 degrees for about 3 hrs. This seems to allow the flavors more time to permeate the meat plus makes for ribs which melt in your mouth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2001

      We don't eat pork but the sauce sounded heavenly. I made the sauce and cooked two chickens, cut into 8 portions each, for 1 hour covered and then 1/2 an hour uncovered, basting every 10 minutes. It came out great, and what little that was left over tasted wonderful the next day cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2001

      These are great.I make a similar version with the exception of a few small adjustments. Instead of the chili powder i use Asain chili and garlic sauce to taste. Then,just before they are done,say 5-10 mins.,i remove from the oven and put under a pre-heated broiler to give them just a bit of a "mouth feel",somewhat similar to an actual "bbq" ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2002

      Exellent ribs. We like our ribs sweet & sticky and falling off the bones. I couldn't find Old Bay Seasoning (I'm from Canada) so I made my own from a recipe I found on the internet. I only used 1 tbsp of it though, cut the chili powder in half and added more garlic powder. I cooked them in the oven very slow. Served them with baked potatoe and baked squash with a green salad to start.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2002

      Now I know why this is so popular. These are simply terrific. I followed the recipe with 2 exceptions: slow cooked @ 325 for 3 hours and I did not use white sugar, I used 1/4 cup vinegar instead to cut down on some of the sweetness of the brown sugar and honey. Thank you Beverly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      I'll join the bandwagon--these are great! I also cooked them very slow--a little over 3 hours at 300°. Don't usually use Old Bay Seasoning so I did a search and found a copycat recipe on foodtv.com and made a small amount of "Old Bay" just for this recipe. Lined the pans with trusty parchment paper to help with the clean up--wasn't too bad, but next time I think I will buy throw-away foil pans! Like some of the other reviewers, our family has our own favorite recipe for baby back ribs--this was a very strong contender!!! Most definitely a make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2002

      Ooey gooey good. How do you like that for cooking terms? Take that Julia Child! UPDATE: This is the second time I've fixed these. With limited oven space on Christmas, I decided to put them in the crock-pot this time. I used about 7 pounds of ribs to one of the sauce recipe mixture, and cooked on high for 6 hours. They came out just as good but less sticky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2002

      Great recipe, this was the first time I ever made ribs. I cooked them in the crockpot, on low for about 4 hours and on high for another 1 1/2 to 2 hours and they still came out very tender and juicy. This recipe is a keeper. UPDATE: 2nd time I am rating this recipe with 5 stars. Delicious! This time around, I cooked the ribs in the crockpot on high for 7 1/2 hours, I bought ribs straight from the butcher counter, much more meatier. And the ribs came out very tender and full of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2001

      I love the simplicity. I also ADDED a little bit of garlic powder to them. Very yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2002

      Delicious slow cooked. We reheated the left overs in the oven, and they were as good as the first time. We put the left over sauce in jars and froze it, to recycle, as it uses a lot of honey and bbq sauce - it seems a waste to just throw it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2001

      Very good and easy to put together. I baked this at 325 for 2 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2002

      These were awesome! We boiled some baby backs and some country style pork ribs for about 1.5 hrs first. Then baked in the oven w/sauce for about 35-40 mins. I used all the ingredients except for the onion, halved the honey and used a TBS of premixed Asian rub which I had. Awesome. The best ever. I'll make this sauce for other BBQ items as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2002

      The ribs were great, I would cut the Brown Sugar by half next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2002

      These were so good I made them twice in one week! Made them to take to a New Years Day party, doubled the sauce and tripled the meat. Slow cooked for 4-5 hours in my Nesco roaster, then coated with sauce and put under the broiler for a few minutes. Everybody loved them. I also could not find Bay Seasoning so I just used Mrs. Dash and I found that a BBQ sauce with a little bit of zip to it levels out the sweetness from the honey. This is a favorite!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2001

      These ribs were just GREAT not to much work, you can put it together early then put in the oven while you visit with your gests. THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2002

      Very delicious!!!!! Great with a couple of beers [only in canada eh!] We used country style ribs, and had to cook them a little longer,probably about 30-40 mins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2002

      With so many top ratings & a look at the ingredients I had to try this. WOW! Made them yesterday using country ribs & Hungarian Paprika which is very spicy. They were fantastic DH doesn't like "BBQ" but these were a hit with him too. Will become a regular in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2001

      The first thing my husband said when he came in thdoor from work "WOW..whatever's in the oven smells delicious!" The ribs were very, very good and easy to make! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2002

      I am not a BBQ fan, but this recipe really turn me around. I left the recipe intact, but use 2 cloves of finely chopped garlic instead of garlic powder, omitted the white sugar and cooked for half an hour longer (still cover). The leftover sauce smell wonderful, so I store them in small containers, freeze them for later use (this sweet and spicy sauce would blend so well with Tofu, stir fry dish or color up fried rice...). Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2002

      I'm new here. A friend of mine from another board told me about this place and this was the very first recipe I tried. It was so good, I fixed it for company 2x and once for the family from last weekend to this weekend! It was awesome. Thank you very much :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 24

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1245.1
     
    Calories from Fat 504
    40%
    Total Fat 56.0 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 19.7 g
    98%
    Cholesterol 234.7 mg
    78%
    Sodium 1113.1 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 124.0 g
    41%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 111.4 g
    445%
    Protein 65.6 g
    131%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    celery salt


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes