464 Reviews

I have made this recipe many times to get rave reviews and licked the platter clean! The only alteration I make is I slow-cook the ribs at 325 degrees for about 3 hrs. This seems to allow the flavors more time to permeate the meat plus makes for ribs which melt in your mouth.

133 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleMsMartha August 15, 2001

We don't eat pork but the sauce sounded heavenly. I made the sauce and cooked two chickens, cut into 8 portions each, for 1 hour covered and then 1/2 an hour uncovered, basting every 10 minutes. It came out great, and what little that was left over tasted wonderful the next day cold!

99 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mirj October 31, 2001

These are great.I make a similar version with the exception of a few small adjustments. Instead of the chili powder i use Asain chili and garlic sauce to taste. Then,just before they are done,say 5-10 mins.,i remove from the oven and put under a pre-heated broiler to give them just a bit of a "mouth feel",somewhat similar to an actual "bbq" ribs.

82 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Walt August 01, 2001

Exellent ribs. We like our ribs sweet & sticky and falling off the bones. I couldn't find Old Bay Seasoning (I'm from Canada) so I made my own from a recipe I found on the internet. I only used 1 tbsp of it though, cut the chili powder in half and added more garlic powder. I cooked them in the oven very slow. Served them with baked potatoe and baked squash with a green salad to start.

65 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb McArdle January 07, 2002

Now I know why this is so popular. These are simply terrific. I followed the recipe with 2 exceptions: slow cooked @ 325 for 3 hours and I did not use white sugar, I used 1/4 cup vinegar instead to cut down on some of the sweetness of the brown sugar and honey. Thank you Beverly.

61 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tebo February 17, 2002

Ooey gooey good. How do you like that for cooking terms? Take that Julia Child! UPDATE: This is the second time I've fixed these. With limited oven space on Christmas, I decided to put them in the crock-pot this time. I used about 7 pounds of ribs to one of the sauce recipe mixture, and cooked on high for 6 hours. They came out just as good but less sticky.

50 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlotte J January 04, 2002

I'll join the bandwagon--these are great! I also cooked them very slow--a little over 3 hours at 300°. Don't usually use Old Bay Seasoning so I did a search and found a copycat recipe on foodtv.com and made a small amount of "Old Bay" just for this recipe. Lined the pans with trusty parchment paper to help with the clean up--wasn't too bad, but next time I think I will buy throw-away foil pans! Like some of the other reviewers, our family has our own favorite recipe for baby back ribs--this was a very strong contender!!! Most definitely a make again.

49 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W April 22, 2002

Great recipe, this was the first time I ever made ribs. I cooked them in the crockpot, on low for about 4 hours and on high for another 1 1/2 to 2 hours and they still came out very tender and juicy. This recipe is a keeper. UPDATE: 2nd time I am rating this recipe with 5 stars. Delicious! This time around, I cooked the ribs in the crockpot on high for 7 1/2 hours, I bought ribs straight from the butcher counter, much more meatier. And the ribs came out very tender and full of flavor.

44 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook February 16, 2002

I love the simplicity. I also ADDED a little bit of garlic powder to them. Very yummy

41 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ben Ross December 06, 2001

Delicious slow cooked. We reheated the left overs in the oven, and they were as good as the first time. We put the left over sauce in jars and froze it, to recycle, as it uses a lot of honey and bbq sauce - it seems a waste to just throw it out.

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emzy February 12, 2002
Should Be Illegal Oven BBQ Ribs