Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shotts Fudgy Chocolate Layer Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shotts Fudgy Chocolate Layer Cake

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on January 26, 2013

      Oooh. Tasty. And pretty. Espically the icing. Moist. Made as a 3rd birthday cake for my little boy. Not enough batter (and/or not heavy enough) to make 3 layers. Could only make two. Replaced corn syrup with agave syrup. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      This cake had an odd consistency for me...too wet. The ganache set up too firm for my liking... Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Absolutely fabulous. The buttermilk and coffee give it a moistness that ca't be beat. I was a little worried at first as the batter was very runny, but turned out perfectly. One thing inportant to remember about the granache is to wisk it well before spreading it. What a winner this recipe is!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      YUMMY! This cake is definitely fudgy! I was a little scared as I was frosting it because each of make cakes (3 eight inch cakes) were only a little over 1/2 inch thick. But they tasted wonderful! The perfect amount of chocolate! Rich and fudge like cake. I only needed to bake mine for 20 min before a toothpick came out clean. I wanted to make a mint chocolate cake so I didn't try the ganche. But I used homemade chocolate frostin in between the layers and mint 7 minute frosting on the top and outside. Delicious! It tasted a lot like junior mints, only way better! The cake was fabulous! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      I'm not a baker. I don't like dark chocolate (too bitter), and I hate coffee....BUT, the reviews on this cake, and NcMysteryShopper's "hit"record in my book, and the need to bring a dessert to a potluck (where there are NORMAL people, who love dark chocolate & coffee) clammor for something decadent, I had to try it. WHAT a hit. Eyes were rolling back in their sockets from the rich, deep, lucious, moist treat. Waay to intense for me, personally, but BOY did you make me look like a hero (again). Thanks! Angela

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Sinful! Made a wonderful birthday cake. In this case it is actually a good thing that it takes a while to make, otherwise I'd be making it all the time. Don't let the time put you off - it really is worth it. This was my first crack at a layered cake, and I found the instructions clear and the end result was just what I was looking for for a birthday surprise. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      I was very disappointed in this cake. I was expecting a delicious chocolate cake, but it just wasn't. no one finished their slice at my birthday party. As blunt as they may be I had questions like 'Diane, this is nasty. are you trying to kill us?' defiantly not making this cake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      This was terrific! I made it for a co-workers birthday and it was well received. This is for the true chocolate lover, everyone at the office joked with me that I was trying to kill them by putting them into a diabetic coma! I was suprised by how hard the ganache set. It was almost like having the cake enveloped in a chocolate candy bar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      I made this beautiful cake for Valentines Day and it certainly did not disappoint, it tastes as good as it smells while baking. This is the most decadent, best tasting chocolate cake that I have ever tried. This was better than most cakes you buy in those really expensive Cake Shops. The cake was tall, moist, tender, rich, fudgy and creamy. The frosting was made with bittersweet belgium chocolate and it rocked. The best part of all this is that it was quick and easy to make...and that I baked it. Thank you so much for sharing this incredible recipe NcMS, we now have a new family favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      Decadent, Moist, Rich, Chocolate BLISS! The ganache was DEEVINE! I used Ghiradelli chocolate which is a very good quality. Definitely use the BEST chocolate and cocoa you can afford. You will be rewarded with a SENSATIONAL dessert that will keep them RAVING! After reading the review that said the cake stuck slightly I decided to 'flour' the cake pan with a little cocoa after greasing them. Worked like a charm. So glad I found this in time for the holidays! My in-laws are gonna be BLOWN AWAY! :) Thanks NCM for a wonderful recipe that will earn me MAJOR points!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2006

    • on September 25, 2006

      A very good chocolate cake! The cake was very light and moist. I used Giaradelli chocolate for the ganache, which was delicious. I did have a slight problem in that the cake stuck some to the pans though I greased them. I made a two 9" layer cake. The icing amount was perfect for this size cake. I like a good amount of icing/ganache so I think if I had made 3 layers, I may have felt a little short.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      This was fabulous! Mine didn't look very pretty because two of the layers started to fall apart when I removed them from the pan, but it tasted wonderful and for my first attempt at a from-scratch cake and frosting, I'm very pleased! This was rich, like everyone said, but not too sweet...again, like everyone said! I made this for my mother's birthday, and it was a hit! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Jumping on the band wagon here, this is one of the best chocolate cakes I have eaten. This one is a keeper for sure,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      Hands down the richest moistest chocolate cake I’ve ever made or eaten. I made this for a friends birthday... afterwards the comment was that the cake should have been served first, before the meal... I’ve never made icing for a cake this way and the truth is that I ignored the suggestions of buying higher quality bittersweet chocolate and used just Bakers brand for my first try... well after sampling the icing on a fully finished cake and not liking the result I went out and purchased the Ghirardelli brand and it turned out fabulous… I’m a very picky person and I’ve been known to throw out fully finished deserts that don’t meet my high standards… trust me when I say that this recipe truly is everything the other reviews claim it to be… enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      I made this cake for our leaving Las Vegas party... we got orders and heading on out! :( Anyway, if I get called "Martha Stewart" again, I won't make this cake for anyone else except myself!! LOL! This was THE BEST chocolate cake and everyone gave me the biggest compliments. I highly suggest serving small pieces with a scoop of light french vanilla ice cream. Is that oxymoron?? Thanks again for a big winner in our home!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      Mmmmmm--heaven on earth! I made this for my husband for his Father's Day present (a day early), and we all loved it. I made it with two layers instead of three, as I only have 2 pans. It took about 40-45 minutes to bake in two pans. The cake is incredibly moist and tender and rich. The ganache is also incredibly rich, and creamy and smooth, too. We loved that it is sooo rich (much richer than cheesecake or flourless chocolate cake, even), yet it is not too sweet. Make certain you use a good quality chocolate for the ganache, as there is nothing in it to "smooth" out harsh or unpleasant flavors. I used Ghiradelli bittersweet, and it was delicious. It was lovely too look at, too (sadly, no camera right now to take pics). In fact, when I first brought it out, my two year old repeatedly climbed into his high chair, stood up, and attempted to launch himself onto the table at it! Finally, it was really a very simple recipe--far less complicated than other desserts of comparable and even lesser quality. UPDATE: DH brought his camera home, so I've added photos. It's been 2 days since I made it, and it's just as good as when it was fresh: moist, tender, and rich. I have it in a cake dome, which helps keep it moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2006

      I asked for recipe for a good layered cake and mine son made it a four layer and it was for a school project. It got high high marks. Imade a second one and sold it for twenty dollars at my other sons student council bake sale

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2006

      If you are not a true chocolate connoisseur you need read no further. This cake beats anything chocolate or fudge-y I have ever experienced. This is sheer heaven! Every ingredient sings in this cake! Moist, dark, decadent and delicious, this recipe is worthy of every step taken to produce this excellent dessert. Be sure to serve a thin slice because of its richness. When buying the ingredients for this cake purchase high quality ingredients. The quality of the chocolate is essential. If you have decided to give this recipe a try, you are in for quite an experience :) ncmysteryshopper, what more can I say, or how could I possible thank you for this? All I can add is ~ WOW!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2006

      This is a piece of heaven! Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful (I could repeat it now again and again, but that wouldn’t be much help). As I read the introduction, I knew that I have to make this, because I love chocolate. The cake is so soft, but not too moist. Just as I like it. The amount of cocoa and coffee seem to be a lot, but this make the cake taste like pure heaven of cocoa and coffee without being too sweet. You really can taste what is in it and you are not overpowered by sweetness. And then the ganache: wonderful. I like bittersweet chocolate and for this ganache I have used a chocolate which contains 75% cocoa and has little caramelized cocoa bean splitters in it (for an extra crunch and texture). You may take a chocolate which is sweeter in taste, but I would recommend using a chocolate with an amount of at least 60% cocoa. And the quality of the chocolate is essential here. The outcome is outstanding: the soft cake with those delicious layers of ganache in between and as a frosting. A must for chocolate lovers and those, who would like to be one. Because I don’t have three pans, I baked the cake in a large rectangular dish and after it cooled completely, I cut it into three pieces for the three layers to make a rectangular shaped cake (and I think that it is easier to store in the fridge or to cut it into pieces). These is a sinful dessert on its own, but serve with a cup of coffee or after dinner with a glass of a dry, full bodied, red wine and you will know what I mean. This is a piece of heaven on earth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shotts Fudgy Chocolate Layer Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (184 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.4
     
    Calories from Fat 181
    50%
    Total Fat 20.1 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 108.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 309.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.6 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 28.3 g
    113%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites