21 Reviews

Sinful! Made a wonderful birthday cake. In this case it is actually a good thing that it takes a while to make, otherwise I'd be making it all the time. Don't let the time put you off - it really is worth it. This was my first crack at a layered cake, and I found the instructions clear and the end result was just what I was looking for for a birthday surprise. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marina K January 26, 2008

I made this beautiful cake for Valentines Day and it certainly did not disappoint, it tastes as good as it smells while baking. This is the most decadent, best tasting chocolate cake that I have ever tried. This was better than most cakes you buy in those really expensive Cake Shops. The cake was tall, moist, tender, rich, fudgy and creamy. The frosting was made with bittersweet belgium chocolate and it rocked. The best part of all this is that it was quick and easy to make...and that I baked it. Thank you so much for sharing this incredible recipe NcMS, we now have a new family favourite.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato February 15, 2007

Decadent, Moist, Rich, Chocolate BLISS! The ganache was DEEVINE! I used Ghiradelli chocolate which is a very good quality. Definitely use the BEST chocolate and cocoa you can afford. You will be rewarded with a SENSATIONAL dessert that will keep them RAVING! After reading the review that said the cake stuck slightly I decided to 'flour' the cake pan with a little cocoa after greasing them. Worked like a charm. So glad I found this in time for the holidays! My in-laws are gonna be BLOWN AWAY! :) Thanks NCM for a wonderful recipe that will earn me MAJOR points!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 07, 2006

A very good chocolate cake! The cake was very light and moist. I used Giaradelli chocolate for the ganache, which was delicious. I did have a slight problem in that the cake stuck some to the pans though I greased them. I made a two 9" layer cake. The icing amount was perfect for this size cake. I like a good amount of icing/ganache so I think if I had made 3 layers, I may have felt a little short.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aviva September 25, 2006

Hands down the richest moistest chocolate cake I’ve ever made or eaten. I made this for a friends birthday... afterwards the comment was that the cake should have been served first, before the meal... I’ve never made icing for a cake this way and the truth is that I ignored the suggestions of buying higher quality bittersweet chocolate and used just Bakers brand for my first try... well after sampling the icing on a fully finished cake and not liking the result I went out and purchased the Ghirardelli brand and it turned out fabulous… I’m a very picky person and I’ve been known to throw out fully finished deserts that don’t meet my high standards… trust me when I say that this recipe truly is everything the other reviews claim it to be… enjoy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vwgti20thbl August 14, 2006

Oooh. Tasty. And pretty. Espically the icing. Moist. Made as a 3rd birthday cake for my little boy. Not enough batter (and/or not heavy enough) to make 3 layers. Could only make two. Replaced corn syrup with agave syrup. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel January 26, 2013

This cake had an odd consistency for me...too wet. The ganache set up too firm for my liking... Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julieweis January 18, 2010

Absolutely fabulous. The buttermilk and coffee give it a moistness that ca't be beat. I was a little worried at first as the batter was very runny, but turned out perfectly. One thing inportant to remember about the granache is to wisk it well before spreading it. What a winner this recipe is!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Raynebow's Mom July 13, 2009

YUMMY! This cake is definitely fudgy! I was a little scared as I was frosting it because each of make cakes (3 eight inch cakes) were only a little over 1/2 inch thick. But they tasted wonderful! The perfect amount of chocolate! Rich and fudge like cake. I only needed to bake mine for 20 min before a toothpick came out clean. I wanted to make a mint chocolate cake so I didn't try the ganche. But I used homemade chocolate frostin in between the layers and mint 7 minute frosting on the top and outside. Delicious! It tasted a lot like junior mints, only way better! The cake was fabulous! Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hannah234 September 17, 2008

I'm not a baker. I don't like dark chocolate (too bitter), and I hate coffee....BUT, the reviews on this cake, and NcMysteryShopper's "hit"record in my book, and the need to bring a dessert to a potluck (where there are NORMAL people, who love dark chocolate & coffee) clammor for something decadent, I had to try it. WHAT a hit. Eyes were rolling back in their sockets from the rich, deep, lucious, moist treat. Waay to intense for me, personally, but BOY did you make me look like a hero (again). Thanks! Angela

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pellerin August 29, 2008
Shotts Fudgy Chocolate Layer Cake