Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shortcut Sticky Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shortcut Sticky Rice

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2010

      This worked out great! I could definitely cut back on the oil next time, but it really wasn't too oily. I doubled the recipe, but I didn't need to. The rice was ready way early, so keep an eye on it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Loved this recipe, it came out great! I cut the oil and the salt in half going by what other reviews were saying and it did seem to be more than I probably would need and it came out perfect. I have a feeling this recipe is pretty forgiving and will come out good no matter your preference for the oil, salt, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      the rice did come out sticky, but it was too salty for my taste. next time i'll cut the salt by half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Ok, I tried this with jasmine rice using 1T oil. It was good but it wasn't sticky like I had hoped (I wanted rice sticky enough to be eaten with chopsticks). But it'll still be a great side dish, especially if you add some garlic and onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      i made this for 12 people and it came out OUTSTANDING!!! tyvm for sharing will definitely use this recipe again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2009

      I thought this rice was very oily and salty. I'll be playing with this recipe to get a flavor that's more suited to my taste. Either way, it was perfectly sticky and great with channa masala!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      The only rice I like is sticky rice. and this is the best I have ever had. I use butter instead of oil. Time is just right, comes out perfect every time. Thanks so much Mercy for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Make sure you watch the rice carefully, mine got done way before 20 minutes... more 5-10 once on low. (Our stove is strong). It still came out sticky and wonderful. (Rice I can actually eat with chopsticks!) I also added in a little coconut milk after the water was absorbed, and left the lid on with no heat on. Gives it a little sweetness, and doesn't take away the stickiness. (1/8 - 1/4 cup should be fine).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      This works very well! I made exactly as directed and served with Ana's Honey and Soy Glazed Salmon. Thanks, Mercy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      This is a lifesaver - I don't burn the rice any more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      Thanks Mercy, and MERCY this is simple and good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I have never been able to make good sticky rice - and this one did it for me! I couldn't believe how easy it was. In fact, my kids made it. Lots of fun... Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2008

      My family loved the recipe. I only used 1 Tbsp. oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! Never achieved sticky rice before but since I'm working on my cooking skills, I decided to try my hand at making my favorite (Asian Food). I reduced salt to 1/2 tsp and oil to 1 tbsp then followed the directions from there. I topped this off with pork chops that I cut into strips, marinated in soy, mirin and ginger, then stir fried together with the marinade and a little hoisin sauce, baby carrots, onions and snow peas...I'm glad I was alone as I devoured 2 bowls, I'm never ordering chinese take out again! Thanks for this simple method Mercy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Super easy to make, a definite keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Truly a great sticky rice recipe. The entire family loved it. I did cut back on the oil as others had mentioned. I will be making it again to go with some shoyu chicken tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Very good and VERY easy to prepare. Turns out just as good as at the restaurant!! Will definintely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      Perfect method! Cut down on the oil a tad, but will now be my main way to cook white rice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      It's do easy to prepare, and it turns out EXACTLY, or even better, than the one at the restaurant. This is a great complement to Asian Foundue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      This recipe is very easy and very goooood. My husband was born in japan and is always saying that he sure would like some sticky rice, will he loved it and now I make it as often as he asks. Thanks, Lisa in Yuma, Az.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shortcut Sticky Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.9
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    36%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 586.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites