8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Best carrot cake ever. No substitutions needed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OKC3094 April 02, 2010

Very easy and quite tasty! I added about 1/2 cup of dried cranberries (Craisins) and skipped the frosting. We just topped it with some fat-free Cool Whip. The cake was very moist. I baked mine in a 9 x 13 pan instead of two square pans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey March 21, 2010

This was very good and tasted just like a carrot cake made from scratch. I don't think anyone could tell the difference. I baked this in two 9-inch square pans, but I did not make this into a layer cake. I just frosted each cake in the pan and had one cake for home and one to take to work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue September 08, 2009

I was craving carrot cake, and while this did satisfy my craving, I think it would have been much better if I would have substituted applesauce for the oil or just not drained the pineapple because mine was not very moist inside. I did add some coconut and used walnuts instead of pecans, which maybe the addition of the coconut absorbed some of the moisture of the cake-I think I need to experiment some more with this. Thanks for posting an easy carrot cake though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Music-Chef August 04, 2008

This is delicious!!! I followed the directions except, I used a 18 oz mix of cake and baked it in a 9 X 13 pan. I also loved the frosting and next time might add a tsp. vanilla. Thanks Coffeebarista!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 January 31, 2008

If I could give this cake more than 5 stars, I would! This is a lighter version of a traditional carrot cake that melts in your mouth and makes you smile. I didn't have cake pans so made it in a 13x9 pan and halved the frosting and nut topping. Next time I won't halve the frosting -- I'll make it all and eat half of it right out of the bowl. The frosting is now on my top 5 list of fabulous frostings that I'll use over and over again. Next time I might put a few raisins in the cake too, but perhaps I shouldn't mess with perfection! (Reviewed for Beverage Tag Game)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mareesme January 28, 2008

Delicious, moist, super easy! The frosting is terrific too!! We made this as cupcakes instead of a regular cake so that the kids can grab and run and I can send some to work with DH. (WE don't need to eat them ALL!!) Great recipe for a quick dessert - perfect for that potluck, family get together - you name it!! Thanks Chef V!!! ZWT3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva June 25, 2007

As my first review I will tell you that this cake is wonderful!!!! The whole family enjoyed this great recipe. Though I did add a box of vanilla pudding to the batter. Moist and delicious. , nikkid

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikkid October 06, 2006
Shortcut Carrot Cake