Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shortcrust Pastry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shortcrust Pastry

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 30, 2009

      mmm excellent pasty recipe! very flakey and light, melt in your mouth! I used it to make a peach pie, every one loved it, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      Very nice pastry. I was making Cornish pasties for my British husband and he thought it was perfect. This will be my go-to pastry from now on. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      This is so wonderfully simple! I doubled this to make an enormous chicken and vegetable pie (40x40 cm or about 20inx20in). As the filling is rather wet, I was very impressed that this pastry held the filling perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      This is a great basic recipe. I divided the recipe and made Grandma's Butter Tarts Recipe129363 in muffin tins using half of the dough. I refrigerated the rest for a few days then rolled it out into the muffin tins again and made chili tarts using canned chili with beans, minced Colby jack cheese, minced onion, and minced Roma tomato. This is now my go to recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      Wonderful! I have only made my own crust one other time and that was a dismal failure, so to have this come out so well was a very pleasant surprise! I used half ap and half spelt flour which was a gamble, but it worked out just fine! It made a perfect crust for a vegetable/egg pie, and the other half will be used for something sweet--great that I can cover dinner and dessert with one recipe LOL. Thanks for posting! Made for Best of 2010 Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Pat, I made this recipe today with great success! For the longest time, I have been purchasing refrigerator crusts because I have not been able to bake a nice flaky crust. Well, that wasn't the case today. My pie had a nice flaky crust and the crust tasted so much better then the pre made ones. I will definitely be using this recipe again in the future. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      I substituted margerine for the butter and didn't have enough, so I had to use some liquid margerine. The dough got a bit too wet, so I added about half a cup of flour. Dough turned out wonderful and I only used half of it to fill my quiche form (we like thin crusts). Hubby probably wouldn't mind if we had quiche again tomorrow with this dough! Thanks so much for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      This is great recipe, it makes for a crust that you could eat on its own! It was really easy, and it took me least than 10 minutes to make even by hand. After finding this, I don't see any reason to buy premade pie/pastry again as that it tastes and looks much better. Made for Spicy Sweet Potato (Yam) Pasty .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Going straight into my Best of 2010 cookbook! This is the pastry I've been looking for all my life! Where ya been?! Used in Pasty. Thanks, I'mPat! Made for Zaar Stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Well, I have been - until now - one of those people who buys pastry in a cardboard box . . . but not anymore. I have made this about 6 or 7 times now, and it comes out perfect every time - with lots of ooohs and ahhhhs from everyone at the table - no one can ever believe that I made it myself! It is just TOO perfect. I usually make a half-portion, so just enough for one pie - and use a little more water than some other have said, more like 1.5 or 2Tbl . . . and sometimes it cracks pretty bad when I am rolling it out (not sure why? Someone said that maybe i need to let it warm up a little - that it is TOO cold straight out of the fridge maybe?) Anyway, I just smoosh the cracks together, and when it bakes they all disappear. Thanks so much for this - i would give it seven stars if I could!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      This pastry recipe is awesome. I have lived in the USA for 15 years and have had difficulty no matter what recipe I try until this one. It is easy to put together in the food processor and comes out very manageable. I chilled it for about 30-45 minutes and it rolled out like a charm. A KEEPER!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Fantastic and easy to make in the blender. I was a bit concerned when I'd finished blending it that it was too sticky, but when I took it out of the oven it was perfectly delicious! I will definitely use this recipe in the future - thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was the perfect crust for my Quiche Lorraine. So simple and so good, I left it in the fridge while I got everything else for the quiche together, and it came out perfect and flaky. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Made for the crust of Crunchy Fish Pie by Kitzy to serve at a dinner party last nite, I followed your recipe + the review cues of A&As mum to half the recipe & use 1 tbsp of water. I was on easy-fix auto-pilot & had an ideal outcome. Thx for sharing your recipe w/us. ~ *Edited to Add* on 12/30/08 ~ I used this recipe again to make German Zwiebelkuchen (Onion Pie) by Lainey6605 & enjoyed another success. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2008

      I have made this twice now - for a bacon and egg pie and a meat pie using leftover beef casserole. A very simple recipe, flaky and tasty - I add a little bit of mised herbs into the mix to give it a real savory flavor. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      I made this the other night for a chicken pot pie. It was easy, flaky and very tasty! My only thing was the refrigeration time, I wrapped it and cooled it, and then couldn't "work" it. Being the creative/lazy person that I am, I just used the thaw cycle on my convection oven for a few seconds and it rolled out perfectly, with no problems! I did make it in the food processor, first time doing that for me. Thanks for a quick and wonderfully flaky crust!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Absolutely BRILLIANT! The dough was so easy to work with and the crust was very light and crumbly. I cut the recipe in half since I wanted only 1 9" pie shell and I added in about 1 tbsp of water to form into a dough. I can now say that I have found the perfect shortcrust pastry recipe! I used it to make Moriah's Custard Apple Pie. Thank you, Chef Potts' for sharing this wonderful recipe, DEFINITELY a keeper! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      This is excellent pastry-nice and short, tender and not to sweet, It was perfect ifor the caremel and custard tarts chef potts made last night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This was great! It was the first pastry I made form scratch, and it turned out wonderfully. I have made it twice now. I used a mix of half whole wheat pastry flour, and half all purpose flour. Both times it turned out great. I used it for Orange, Lemon and Cardamom (cardamon) Tart and it turned out perfectly! Thanks for posting! I used 2 US cups + 2 TBSP.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      This was really quick and easy to make. I used this to make a very delicious jumbleberry pie (strawberries, raspberries, blueberries and blackberries). Thanks for a pie crust that was easy to work with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shortcrust Pastry

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 307.6
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    51%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 45.7 mg
    15%
    Sodium 511.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes