26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

mmm excellent pasty recipe! very flakey and light, melt in your mouth! I used it to make a peach pie, every one loved it, thanks for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf August 30, 2009

Very nice pastry. I was making Cornish pasties for my British husband and he thought it was perfect. This will be my go-to pastry from now on. Thank you for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustAMuggle April 26, 2012

This is so wonderfully simple! I doubled this to make an enormous chicken and vegetable pie (40x40 cm or about 20inx20in). As the filling is rather wet, I was very impressed that this pastry held the filling perfectly.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom June 30, 2011

This is a great basic recipe. I divided the recipe and made Grandma's Butter Tarts Recipe129363 in muffin tins using half of the dough. I refrigerated the rest for a few days then rolled it out into the muffin tins again and made chili tarts using canned chili with beans, minced Colby jack cheese, minced onion, and minced Roma tomato. This is now my go to recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanieTeachGal July 24, 2013

Wonderful! I have only made my own crust one other time and that was a dismal failure, so to have this come out so well was a very pleasant surprise! I used half ap and half spelt flour which was a gamble, but it worked out just fine! It made a perfect crust for a vegetable/egg pie, and the other half will be used for something sweet--great that I can cover dinner and dessert with one recipe LOL. Thanks for posting! Made for Best of 2010 Tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian March 22, 2011

Pat, I made this recipe today with great success! For the longest time, I have been purchasing refrigerator crusts because I have not been able to bake a nice flaky crust. Well, that wasn't the case today. My pie had a nice flaky crust and the crust tasted so much better then the pre made ones. I will definitely be using this recipe again in the future. Made and reviewed for the Best of 2010 Recipe Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate March 13, 2011

I substituted margerine for the butter and didn't have enough, so I had to use some liquid margerine. The dough got a bit too wet, so I added about half a cup of flour. Dough turned out wonderful and I only used half of it to fill my quiche form (we like thin crusts). Hubby probably wouldn't mind if we had quiche again tomorrow with this dough! Thanks so much for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marianne in Switzerland July 28, 2010

This is great recipe, it makes for a crust that you could eat on its own! It was really easy, and it took me least than 10 minutes to make even by hand. After finding this, I don't see any reason to buy premade pie/pastry again as that it tastes and looks much better. Made for Spicy Sweet Potato (Yam) Pasty .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl April 11, 2010

Going straight into my Best of 2010 cookbook! This is the pastry I've been looking for all my life! Where ya been?! Used in Pasty. Thanks, I'mPat! Made for Zaar Stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees January 17, 2010

Well, I have been - until now - one of those people who buys pastry in a cardboard box . . . but not anymore. I have made this about 6 or 7 times now, and it comes out perfect every time - with lots of ooohs and ahhhhs from everyone at the table - no one can ever believe that I made it myself! It is just TOO perfect. I usually make a half-portion, so just enough for one pie - and use a little more water than some other have said, more like 1.5 or 2Tbl . . . and sometimes it cracks pretty bad when I am rolling it out (not sure why? Someone said that maybe i need to let it warm up a little - that it is TOO cold straight out of the fridge maybe?) Anyway, I just smoosh the cracks together, and when it bakes they all disappear. Thanks so much for this - i would give it seven stars if I could!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michaelk69 April 08, 2009
Shortcrust Pastry