39 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great texture, but really salty. I would probably halve the salt. Other than that it was quite nice, though.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nung March 27, 2010

Tonight, I had a craving for strawberry shortcake so I decided to try this recipe. This was an excellent and very easy recipe! I had everything on hand and was surprised that egg was not one of the ingredients listed. I will be making this shortcake again, however, I will use less salt. I thought it was a little too salty for me. I'm not a salt fan...Overall, great recipe. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lashea310 January 07, 2010

Tender, sweet, delicious! Thanks.<br/><br/>***Addendum: I've made this so many times now, each time a great success. Our whole family just loves it. Thanks again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making June 16, 2013

This is fantastic!! I took the reviewers advice and used slightly less salt. It came out beautifully. Everyone raved about it. The flavor is wonderful, and it's nice and moist. Yum!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BizMack May 27, 2013

I halved the salt per others' suggestion. I think this would be better suited as a fruit pizza crust as it's a little too sweet for strawberry shortcake. Just my personal opinion, so I'm not faulting the recipe for that. Tastes like sugar cookies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyojess October 19, 2012

I never thought a shortcake could be so good. I've made this at least a dozen times this summer. I've served it with strawberries and peaches. Give it a try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J. Hinds September 05, 2011

I love this cake! I eat it right out of the pan! Strawberries make it amazing. Thank you for the recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valariehoutchens June 12, 2011

I agree, i will probably cut the salt in half next time. a little too salty for a sweet cake. and be careful not to cook for too long. at about sea level, i cut out a good 5-10 minutes cooking time. other than that it was super easy to make, and seemed to go over well. i added the strawberries and whipped cream to make a cute flag :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oceanrose82 May 30, 2011

Very easy to make and very pretty! I made it in a 9 1/2" tart pan. Perfect size to help so that the crumb topping does not get to heavy for it. This was great for shortcake. It would also be great for more of a cake style base for a fruit pizza or any quick tart you want to throw together.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kjdick March 10, 2011

So quick and easy..and SO GOOD! Will definitely make this in the future. No need to find another recipe when this one is so easy and good! Thanks for sharing this gem!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nancyleeshirley June 11, 2010
Shortcake