23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these for holiday gifts, and I'd better put them away soon before I eat them all. They are delicate and melt-in-your mouth buttery. I use homemade peach jam, and followed the advice of some other reviewers and chilled the cookies after forming them and before baking so that they wouldn't spread too much. They spread a little but held together and the jam didn't leak out. It also takes only a tiny bit of jam for each cookie, like 1/4 tsp. It didn't seem like enough to me, but I'm glad I didn't try to cram in more, because it melts and more probably would have run over. I look forward to making these again with different flavors of jam.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neohippie December 19, 2011

so easy and yet so delish.. made this for xmas eve party and froze them until that day :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssej1078_1251510 December 19, 2011

Divine. I had no idea butter, sugar, and flour could taste this good. This recipe is simple and superb. I divided the dough into two balls and refrigerated it overnight, then grated one ball on the bottom of a cake pan, spread a jar of good-quality orange curd, and then grated the second ball of dough on the top and baked the whole thing as a tart, rather than cookies. This was wildly successful and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cm2530 March 29, 2014

This recipe is simple

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah R. February 26, 2014

Perfect shortbread cookie. I made the dough and baked the cookies 2 days apart. I took the dough out of the refrigerator and it was rock hard. It sat there while I baked other cookies (about 30 min) and was stiff and dry when I formed them into balls. I was afraid the finished result would be too dry but they are perfect and light. I made the indentation with the back of a measuring teaspoon then re-formed the cookie to look neater and filled with almost 1/2 tsp of home made peach jam. The cookies spread very little. These are really good cookies. My favorite would have to be raspberry jam, but the peach had to be used.<br/><br/>UPDATE: When cooking the remainder of the dough I discovered that the dough will spread when cooked unless it's cold. So, keep the dough cold and the spread is minimal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cartoonbabe December 24, 2013

These cookies are amazing, they held up well. What I did was tried a couple cookies with the end of a wooden spoon but, you can't add too much jam that way and they look a little 'wholey', so instead I used a tsp measuring spoon. Just remember don't grease your cookie sheets or your cookie will be flat and will not hold up, just a tip ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bnpayton December 12, 2012

I'm not giving any stars because I don't know if it's my technique but I followed the recipe to a "T." I tried forming the cookies and allowing them to sit in the refrigerator; the dough chilled overnight, etc. They still spread out with jam spilling out over the sides. They taste very good but they're awfully sloppy...nothing I could put on my wedding cookie table. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie August 07, 2011

Entirely to addictive to make too often! My taste buds say "THANK-YOU!!", but my waistlines says "Darn you!"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
McKinley's Momma March 14, 2010

Made these for Christmas with boysenberry jam. They were a huge hit. Thanks for the recipe. Will be making them again with lots of different jams :) UPDATE: Made these again last night. Last time they spread out, so this time I shaped them first and refrigerated them overnight. Filled with apricot jam and baked them today. They kept their shape perfectly and looked so nice. Drizzled white chocolate on them when they cooled. So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell January 07, 2010

I am not a baker and these came out great. I did use my KA and let it blend on slow until it got balled up. We left in the refrigerator overnight and allowed to warm up a bit until we could form balls the next day...just too much going on the first day! Thanks for a delightful tasting,pretty, easy to put together cookie for the Christmas cookie tray!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tish December 26, 2009
Shortbread Cookies With Jam or Jelly Centers