42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Several years ago shortly after being introduced to RecipeZaar I made a decision which I have followed without regret ever since. The decision: when faced with the dilema of choosing from similar, and highly recommended recipes, if given the option -- always go along with MizzNezz ! I have never regreted the decision, so -- thanks once again MizzNezz. I believe I could come up with lots of "touch-ups" to add to the shortbread, but I am a firm believer in Aaron Copeland's theory of artistic expression -less is more! So why try fixin' something that ain't broke?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Bill in Big D March 14, 2009

Yay!!! I just won a Cookie Exchange contest with this cookie!! I won "best overall cookie - best looking and best tasting"! The cookies turned out awesome!!! After I cut the cookies I then melted white melting chocolate (in the microwave, at 30 sec. intervals until you can stir easily with wooden spoon) and dipped one end of the cookie in the white chocolate and then dipped in Christmas non-pariels, or sprinkles, etc. I made half the batch using white chocolate and the other half using milk chocolate. They were superb! Thank you MizzNezz!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jakers January 08, 2010

I used room temp. butter and all organic ingredients. FABULOUS. I also added cinnamon on the top before cooking. MMMMMMMMMM

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristieayers April 12, 2008

Yummy stuff! I made half the recipe which was plenty for a single sized batch. It was easy to make and the hint about kneading the dough for 7-8 minutes was a godsend. Obviously this is where my shortbread has gone wrong in the past. The only reason that I have given this four not five stars is because I baked the bread for 25 minutes. They were golden brown so had to come out of the oven to prevent burning, but they were not completely cooked through - still yummy and perfect for one of our household but I would have preferred it completely cooked and crumbly. I used a 9 inch pan for half the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimensionally transcendental October 29, 2007

Simple, easy and tasty. I put everything in a food processor and pusled until it became doughy, then pat it in a pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PKG November 11, 2006

MizzNezz, I was going to post this very recipe. I found it in my Mom's recipes and tried it for the first time last night. What can I say but "Mmmmmm Mmmmmmmm Mmmmmm!" These are easy and so very very good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbaraK February 17, 2004

I tried one alteration. I substituted whole wheat flour for white flour. Although the texture was a little dry, it had a slightly nutty flavor which I really enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookie sheet September 03, 2014

This is just exactly what shortbread should be.<br/><br/>Amazingness in a pure and simple form.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
missalg February 06, 2014

I made this as a base to Samoa Girl Scout cookies. I added a dash of vanilla and a shake of salt since my butter was unsalted. These were easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurietheLibrarian February 13, 2011

My son made 1/4 of this recipe last night for something quick. He just rolled it into a big cookie. It turned out really good and satisfied his craving for shortbread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas January 11, 2011
Shortbread