Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shortbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shortbread

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2009

      Several years ago shortly after being introduced to RecipeZaar I made a decision which I have followed without regret ever since. The decision: when faced with the dilema of choosing from similar, and highly recommended recipes, if given the option -- always go along with MizzNezz ! I have never regreted the decision, so -- thanks once again MizzNezz. I believe I could come up with lots of "touch-ups" to add to the shortbread, but I am a firm believer in Aaron Copeland's theory of artistic expression -less is more! So why try fixin' something that ain't broke?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Yay!!! I just won a Cookie Exchange contest with this cookie!! I won "best overall cookie - best looking and best tasting"! The cookies turned out awesome!!! After I cut the cookies I then melted white melting chocolate (in the microwave, at 30 sec. intervals until you can stir easily with wooden spoon) and dipped one end of the cookie in the white chocolate and then dipped in Christmas non-pariels, or sprinkles, etc. I made half the batch using white chocolate and the other half using milk chocolate. They were superb! Thank you MizzNezz!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I used room temp. butter and all organic ingredients. FABULOUS. I also added cinnamon on the top before cooking. MMMMMMMMMM

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Yummy stuff! I made half the recipe which was plenty for a single sized batch. It was easy to make and the hint about kneading the dough for 7-8 minutes was a godsend. Obviously this is where my shortbread has gone wrong in the past. The only reason that I have given this four not five stars is because I baked the bread for 25 minutes. They were golden brown so had to come out of the oven to prevent burning, but they were not completely cooked through - still yummy and perfect for one of our household but I would have preferred it completely cooked and crumbly. I used a 9 inch pan for half the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      Simple, easy and tasty. I put everything in a food processor and pusled until it became doughy, then pat it in a pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      MizzNezz, I was going to post this very recipe. I found it in my Mom's recipes and tried it for the first time last night. What can I say but "Mmmmmm Mmmmmmmm Mmmmmm!" These are easy and so very very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2014

      I tried one alteration. I substituted whole wheat flour for white flour. Although the texture was a little dry, it had a slightly nutty flavor which I really enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2014

      This is just exactly what shortbread should be.<br/><br/>Amazingness in a pure and simple form.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      I made this as a base to Samoa Girl Scout cookies. I added a dash of vanilla and a shake of salt since my butter was unsalted. These were easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      My son made 1/4 of this recipe last night for something quick. He just rolled it into a big cookie. It turned out really good and satisfied his craving for shortbread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      These were so simple and tasted great, definitely the best cookies I made this Christmas, though really easy enough to make any time of year. Topped with Colored Sugar

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      Very simple and very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      Excellent shortbread recipe! Simple is best. It's also a great base for shortbread variations. Add lemon zest and juice for lemon shortbread or dip in whte chocolate. But absolutly great just as it is with a cup of tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      So, yesterday evening I felt like baking something sweet, yet too lazy to go out buying ingredients. Then, I saw this recipe and gave it a try. It's simple, easy, and the most important one is YUMMY... I added a lil pinch of salt and at the very end sprinkled with some sugar. More than half is gone in one sitting!!! **Yes, my boyfriend and I LOVE it that much**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      mmm mmm this is a true shortbread, very melt in your mouth delicious, and so simple. I sprinkled a few Christmas coloured sparkles over it and i did get 48 squares, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      LOVE IT!!!!!!!! Rock on!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      This is very similar to my usual shortbread recipe, except it doesn't have any salt, and a bit less sugar. Delicious anyways! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      OMG...... This is it, i have been looking for this for 4 years, i had the recipe then lost it. Thank-you sooooooo much, you made my day!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2008

      I can't believe I forgot to rate this. I have to tell you this is the best shortbread recipe I've eaten. So buttery and tasty - a real diet killer. It went over very well at the event I took it to and so easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2008

      I added 1 cup of mini semi-sweet chocolate chips and they were incredibly good! The texture is delicate and flaky, just perfect. I made these for my son's dog themed birthday party by rolling out the dough and cutting it with a dogbone shaped cookie cutter. They turned out so cute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Bar Cookie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shortbread

    Serving Size: 1 (1154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 121.8
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    57%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.8 g
    24%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 67.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites