17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Amazing short ribs! I will never use another recipe. I made these ribs for the first time today and they were tender, flavorful and perfect. Not to mention who good the whole house smelled. The whole family loved them. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyGolightly January 01, 2013

The sauce was very flavorful and the ribs were extremely tender. What more could you ask for? I was out of honey so I subbed maple syrup. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bekah49036 April 07, 2009

SO good!!! Thanks Mizz Nezz (again)!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making October 25, 2012

Used this recipe for my 2nd attempt at making short ribs & we liked this method and flavor better than another crock pot version. I suggest making the sauce right after you put the ribs in the oven, just like the recipe says to do. I waited until the ribs were almost done to make the sauce and the vinegar needs more time to lighten up. I don't mind a strong vinegar taste (or smell!) but next time I will not wait til the last minute. I was a little confused as to what to do with the water and saw another reviewer mentioned that they just dumped it out, and that's what I did. I realize now that it was the only option!!! Great recipe that would get me to eat greasy short ribs again! Thanks for posting another great one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment December 27, 2008

This was a great great recipe. I had short ribs in the freezer and was looking for something easy to make. This fit the bill. The sauce was yummy and the ribs fell off hte bone. I will make this often, as well as use the sauce for other dishes too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veruca salt December 14, 2008

A friend makes this every year for our Christmas gathering. It is so good, we all look forward to that party. Haven't tried it myself but she told me its not difficult. Definitely worth the time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shyeyes6 February 09, 2008

loved the sauce, I cooked the ribs for a little less time than called for, but it was great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunrise531 June 13, 2007

Well my whole family said it made the house smell terrible. They thought it was just ok.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frozenmargarita January 04, 2007

I used a combination of boneless and bone in short ribs to total 4 lbs and the results are awesome. The only change I made was to brown the ribs after seasoning and dredging in flour before cooking for the 2 1/2 hours. No leftovers--great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lula November 08, 2006

Excellent recipe! I made slight alterations. I seasoned and floured the shortribs and then browned them in a little oil in the pan before placing them in a baking dish with chicken stock (instead of water). I also added onions, green peppers, and garlic and then covered and baked them for 2 1/2 hours. I followed the rest of the recipe as written. The ribs were tender and flavorful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dasme October 08, 2006
Short Ribs With Sauce