Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Short Ribs Braised in Coffee Ancho Chile Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Short Ribs Braised in Coffee Ancho Chile Sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2009

      I'm giving this 5 stars because DH went nuts over this dish. I thought it OK but it didn't "wow" me. I substituted a 14 ounce can of beef broth for the "ancho chili soaking water" (at the price of beef ribs I wasn't about to take a chance that the water would be bitter). The second time I made this dish I also added some country style boneless ribs which is simply chuck roast cut in 1" wide strips. I brown the ribs very well in order to try and cook out as much fat as possible then drain off all extra fat. I also like to refrigerate the whole pot and then skim off as much congealed fat as possible. The way DH likes this I'm sure it will be a regular in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2008

      Paula, We thought this recipe was missing something. We've had this dish at Cafe Annie's in Houston where the Chef makes it with Filet, Yum! I also have made Mark Bittman's similar recipe with short ribs. Your recipe is missing something and that could be either beer or wine and a cup or so of a rich stock. Interesting and fun recipe to play around with, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

    • on June 22, 2007

      This was excellent! I had to cut the recipe in half (6 lbs. is way too much for two people!) and messed up with my maple syrup quantity in the process, but it turned out fine. I used boneless beef ribs, and the sauce evaporated just enough to create a thick coating for the ribs. The flavor is rich and complex, and the meat is fork tender. This one's a keeper - thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      The meat was very tender and the sauce has a deep, smoky flavor to it that is not too spicy. I really enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This is a keeper! Wonderful, complex flavor with just the right amount of heat. Love the depth from the coffee. Short ribs were outrageously expensive at my grocer, so I used a chuck roast instead. Served with tortillas, cilantro-lime rice, and sliced avocados.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2004

      I have actually made this recipe twice from Epicurious. I made it once with short ribs and once with flanken ribs. I like the flanken better! It only took 1 1/2 hours at 325 degrees. The meat was so tender and flavorful, not too spicy! The next time I'll add extra chipotle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2003

      Very good short ribs. I wonder if it is possible to also make these in a crockpot. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Short Ribs Braised in Coffee Ancho Chile Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (598 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1840.8
     
    Calories from Fat 1508
    81%
    Total Fat 167.5 g
    257%
    Saturated Fat 71.8 g
    359%
    Cholesterol 344.7 mg
    114%
    Sodium 1393.4 mg
    58%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 67.0 g
    134%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    adobo sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes