Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Shoarma Spice Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Shoarma Spice Mix

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2002

      This was worth waiting for! I marinated 3 boneless chicken breasts (pounded thin) overnight in 2 tbls of oil, 2 tbls of lemon juice and 3 tsp of Shoarma Mix. I pan fried the chicken in butter and served it with garlic green beans. There is no need to add any thing else, the lemon juice works magic with the spice mix. Shoarma Mix would make a wonderful gift as well as a special "secret" ingredient that will make your guests beg you for any recipe you make with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      We were really happy with the flavor of this chicken and would like to make again many times. I used all the spices mentioned except I added only 1/4 the amount of garlic powder and the other 3/4 onion powder from preference. I also added a small amount of cardamom and allspice and a table spoon of chicken curry spice mix. I sprayed an oven try with olive oil and sprinkled around half a finely cut onion sprinkled with some more of the spice, the the chicken on top and grilled in the oven. Once cooked I sprinkled with a little bit citric acid for some extra zing. Also I only marinated for one hour and it still turned out very nice. I served it with flat bread, mayonnaise, pickles, tomato, lettuce and french fries (put in the sandwich).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      This is a great mix. I was also in Holland for a time and missed shoarma when we returned state-side. I was buying the seasoning from a Dutch website and then found this recipe. I don't buy from Holland anymore. I like this one better. I have adjusted it a tiny bit. I cut the cinnamon down to 1/4 tsp and have added 1/2 tsp curry. Our shoarma sauce consists of equal parts mayonaise and plain yogurt with garlic powder and parsley added to taste. We use thin sliced pork loin cut in strips and add some lamb and usually put enough mix on the meat to really smell it. We broil the meat in a cast iron skillet and have in pitas with shredded lettuce and sauce. It is so good that our friends are always asking when we are making shoarma again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I have been working on a Dutch vessel in the North Sea for 6 months and the Shoarma is the best thing they cook. The chef on board told me that you can't get the spice mix they buy outside of Holland. Well I have to say that this is pretty close. I toasted the cumin and coriander seeds and I used smoked paprika, because that's all I have on hand. I tried a little bit with some thin sliced pork loin. I tossed it in lemon juice and oil as suggested by Lorac and I made up a batch of the garlic sauce that Carola in Perth posted. It turned out pretty good. I have cut up a couple of pounds of pork and tossed it with about 3 tbls of spice mix, 1/4 cup of lemon juice and 3 tbls of oil. It's sitting in the fridge to be cooked up in a few days when I have some guys from the boat come over for dinner. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      FABULOUS!!!! Definitely more garlic and cayenne for our tastes next time though! I used boneless chicken thigh meat that I cut in strips I followed Pets marinating instructions adding more garlic to the mix, I then tucked it into the freezer for a later quick meal. I thawed the meat in the marinade, and then diced and onion and chunked a sweet red pepper. I sauteed with more garlic and salt in olive oil till the meat was done. We served this on pitas topped with tzatziki. Oh my.....I think I will have a packet of this in the freezer for a knock out quick dinner on those nights where you need comfort but not alot of fuss.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Great mix, I keep on experimenting with some of the seasoning and found a smidgeon more cayenne, paprika and garlic powder did it for me! Now if I could only find the recipe for the raw onion sauce that is often served with shoarma, I'd be a happy gal!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2004

      Fabulous. I am veggie and now I can make my own shoarma with the fabulous combination of spices you have given and some quorn pieces.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      I made a bunch of jars of this a month ago to give away as Christmas gifts and finally tried some myself. In addition to meat try it with eggs. I mixed about a 1/8th tsp into 2 eggs and a pinch of chives and pepper, dash of milk and scrabled for on toast. Some of the best eggs ever. I will update likely in a month or two after some people have tried it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      I am amazed at how this tastes extremely similar to our local shawarma restaurant! I had it on chicken strips from mainly breast and some thy marinating in lemon juice as well like Lorac overnight. I used all preground spices but did dry roast them until fragrant. As I didn't have any garlic powder I used garlic salt and just added a little additional salt during frying in butter in my cast iron frying pan over medium high heat to brown a bit. I also separately fried until translucent white cooking onion which I added after cooked. I serve this with Lebanese Rice With Sharia (Vermicelli) (Gluten Free) and a variation of Garlic Mayonnaise (Aioli) & Lebanese Spiced Potatoes (Batata Harra) & Middle Eastern Lebanese Fattoush Bread Salad for the full Lebanese meal from the restaurant, only better! A definite make over again when craving shawarma.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      disgusting. I live in nyc where we have halal stands on every corner. i should have known it was amiss when it didnt smell right -- and was too clove-y. it was so tasteless and the smell awful -- stunk up my house. had to throw our entire dinner out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Best shoarma I ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Loved it! Super easy and really enjoyed the flavours. I'm not happy with the Pita pockets that they sell here in Australia so found more success with basic wraps and added the following garlic sauce to give it the finishing touch! GARLIC SAUCE: 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1/2 cup sour cream, 2 cloves of crushed garlic, 1 tablespoon of chopped fresh parsley - combine all ingredents and allow to stand for at least an hour for the flavours to really develop. YUM! Eet smakelijk!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      I lived in Holland for a while and this is sure close to what I used to get at the local shoarma house. Excellent. I make home made pita and garlic mayonaise to serve with this. It always gets raves and it reminds me of my time in Holland

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      amazing- I used it on baked chicken cutlets with homemade hummus! Amazing- all my guests loved it- even the 1 1/2 year old!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      This is a great combination of spices for Shoarma! I used it on beef stir fry and left it on the beef overnight. I can buy prepared shoarma pork & Chicken from my Dutch butcher but this is much better making it at home (more cost effective too) next time I mix it I will increase the cayenne to 1 tsp and perhaps add 1/2 tsp allspice.Thanks Annalies for a keeper -- posted Dec 19, 2002, Added comments I have made this several times, did increase the cayenne - just right for me, I did not like th addition of allspice. This time I used pork and added some mushrooms Served over rice with squash & broccoli - very tasty thanks again Annelies � Dec 30, 2004, 2 membe More comments - I had some left over rice and I mixed in right in with the shoarma pork as I was frying it - delicious 17 Nov 07 Am I the only one that loves this recipe? I make it again & again and continue to take photos of it too - Try this recipe it is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

    • on February 28, 2007

      I love this in scrambled eggs, it's sooo good. Nice rubbed on pork chops before frying. just a lovely spice mix, thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      turned out great, i added a littlle more lemon juice, n wrapped it in pita with garlic sauce, pickled cucumbers, n french fries, the way i used to have it during my childhood when i was in saudia arabia. thanks a bunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Having lived in Holland for 7 years, this is just like sitting in a Shoarma Grillroom.Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2005

      So glad to have found this recipe! My husband and I lived in Holland for 3 years and we miss going to the Egyptian Shoarma place in Uden. Bedankt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Shoarma Spice Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (33 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 109.4
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    29%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 24.9 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.9 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 7.5 g
    30%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 4.6 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites